We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anam Cara Accommodations
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Philadelphia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Chestnut Hill Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
City Line Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
31
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschestnut hillgermantown avenuecleaning servicesafe neighborhoodfelt like homegreat apartmentwonderful neighborhoodhome away from homean extended staysepta stationcenter cityliving roomwithin walking distanceteresadetergentappliancescooperative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Ms. Vessey is a delightful hostess, assuring her guests that their comfort is important to her and tending to whatever concerns they may have. We actually stayed for 8 months in our cozy apartment, loving the proximity to the train station and charming Germantown Avenue, which is replete with lovely restaurants and shops.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dr_maxinekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Super wonderful excellent. Very thankful to Hostess, Teresa for accomodations. Simply unusual, very clean, wealthy intelligent neighbourhood. A lot of shops, big shops in the area. Pretty splendid! ..

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ler4iklev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

the location is fine with easy access to city center...bathroom
hasn't been updated since Herbert Hoover was President...clean room,
but dated furnishings. The $100 per night rate is not a bargain
because it excludes breakfast. O.K. if you need or want a kitchen. (Better hotel value can be obtained in center city) The steam heat didn't prove adequate during colder period
and air conditioning (a window rattler- could be problematic during hot spells

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

We stay at Anam Cara twice a year as we visit Philadelphia for medical reasons. Teresa is a great host and makes sure that we are comfortable and know how everything works.
We'd left the Australian summer for the snow of Philadelphia and the place was a cozy little haven that we thought was a perfect home away from home.
For anyone visiting the Institutes for the Achievement of Human Potential, this place is ideal as it has both ground floor and upper floor apartments with a large bath for your children.
It is incredibly well placed for a day trip into the City via the train which is a few hundred yards away. We found it really easy to do and the train ride took hardly any time at all which was a nice surprise. It is a short drive to the IAHP campus and a short walk to everything else you may need.
Thanks Teresa for looking after us so well for the 2nd time!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

I just ended my stay of 4 weeks at Anam Cara. Excellent place to stay! Teresa is a very honest, friendly and service oriented hostess. She went out of her way to make us fell comfortable. The apartment was great for our needs and exactly as pictured. A cozy place to stay with a homy atmosphere. Location is super: a safe place, one block from the railway station and 2 blocks from the main Chestnut Hill street. The train takes around 40 m to Philadelphia city center. This small beautiful town, is quite trendy, scenic and offers plenty of shops and great restaurants and bars, as well as local markets and take away foods. The Morris Arboretum is a must visit in the Philly area. We stayed a whole month, traveled for professional reasons to Philadelphia city center every day of the week and never, ever regretted staying at Anam Cara. Highly recommendable!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
Thank fercp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews