We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #51 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel rooms are great and there are also many restaurants in the building that make the experience even better!! It is also very historic with lots of artifacts in the hallways!! I definitely recommend this place!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank olivia_5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Have never stayed in this hotel but since I had family visiting and wanted to stay near, had my guests stay here and I joined them for a weekend in the city instead of the suburbs. The rooms are admittedly small, but what a fantastic place to visit the sights and the many restaurants that Philly has to offer. An incredible value that includes an incredible breakfast spread. Only slight negative is that the Airconditioning in the rooms was slow to get the room temperature comfortable, but after all it is the middle of July and very muggy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank PhiladelphiaPhillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We always enjoy staying at the union league. We were there recently and it was much quieter vs in the fall/winter as people are at the bay. We enjoyed the slowed pace and personal attention. It's close to everything downtown making it an ideal place to stay if you want to explore the city. We upgraded to a suite and had more space than we knew what to do with. Strongly recommend a suite though if staying for more than a weekend. Will be back soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tatyana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

My wife and I travelled from the West Coast to Philadelphia for a friends black tie wedding to be held at the Union League. We went a couple days early to do the tourist thing. It made sense to us to stay near the UL. That meant either the Ritz next door or the UL. Wow, are we glad we picked the UL. Great rooms, excellent food and so friendly. Everyone treated us like members. 3 great restaurants and bars. The UL is the number 1 City Club in the country and is definitely deserving of the ranking. We totally enjoyed our 4 days and would definitely stay at the UL if in downtown Philadelphia. With all the history dating back to 1862, its like staying in a museum. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevmar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

This is by far one of the best places we have ever stayed - ever. The service is 100% top tier. If you do without while you stay here, it's your own fault. Thirsty? Ask for water. Hungry? Go to the 4th floor and pick up a snack. Want some coffee at 2 in the morning but don't like the kcups in your room? Go back to the 4th floor and use the coffee machine. Extra towels and blankets are a phone call away.

I haven't figured out why so many people complain about where you enter the hotel at. It's literally right across from the parking deck that you need to use. You just drop off your car, they unload your luggage and you check in. So what that's it's not through the main door. If you read about the place you're staying, you go in knowing that this is a high roller pay to be in it club, and unless you're a paying member, you don't go in the front door. WHO CARES? There's absolutely no shame in JUST staying at the hotel. And the staff is so amazing - no one could ever possibly walk in the hotel and feel unwelcome.

The rooms are exquisite. We had one suite and one single king room. The bathrooms are marble and have all you need waiting for you. The furniture is comfortable in the sitting area as are the beds. Walking into the room is almost like stepping back in time.

Again, I can't figure out why anyone would complain about the noise. We had ZERO noise from anyone else in a room next to us or even on our floor. The noise is from the city. Hello? How can you check into any hotel in Center City and expect it to be exempt from the endless traffic and horn blowing?

When we left on our adventures every day, we were told to be careful, and if the same person was running the desk when we got back, they were honestly curious about how our day went. The doorman and my dad became quick friends, speaking in length with each other all 3 days we were there.

I would suggest this hotel to ANYONE. And as for my family, we can't wait to come back. As this great building is the place where President Lincoln started planning our demise (we're from Georgia), we were still welcomed with open arms. The staff made this Southern family, who were obviously out of their element, feel like we were long lost pals.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank ElfieinFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,621 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At The Union League 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When making plans to visit Philadelphia, consider using the Union League of Philadelphia as your home away from home. Our newly renovated Four-Diamond level hotel, The Inn at the League, located at 1450 Sansom, between Broad and 15th Streets, is centrally located on Philadelphia's Avenue of the Arts. The Inn at the League has 84 guest rooms and suites, each with its own charm. Truly in a class by itself, The Inn offers an incomparable mix of distinctive history and old world hospitality. Many of our first time guests have referred to us as the "best-kept secret in Center City Philadelphia." The League adheres to a strict dress code policy. The League requires a jacket be worn by men when dining in any of the restaurants. The exceptions to this policy are breakfast Monday through Sunday; lunch on Saturday and all day on Sunday, which allow business casual. Business casual is defined as a collared shirt and slacks for men and appropriate attire for women. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing