We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid week mini-vaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #10 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“mid week mini-vaca”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My friends and I wanted to take a quick trip to Gettysburg, so I booked this B&B. It was such a warm inviting place ! The owners were beyond grascious to us, directing us through town when we got lost, and providing a map of where we wanted to go. Can't wait to go back, and the cottage in the back allows children, so I can take my daughter next time.

Room Tip: we had the attic room because it slept 4, loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eryan109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
67
169
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We had the suite in the attic, which consists of two rooms. It was wonderful, so quite like we had the house to ourselves. The house is beautiful. The owners were so helpful with information on seeing the battlefield. We booked a battlefield guide for 3 hours on our second day before leaving home on their recommendation and can't imagine seeing the battlefield any other way!!! A BIG THANK YOU for helping to make our trip more than we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnf00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I were looking for a nice place in a quiet location near the Gettysburg battlefield. We found it in spades at the Lightner Farmhouse. What a gem! Just a mile or two from the main visitors center, the farmhouse itself served as a hospital for Union soldiers during and after the battle. The location is peaceful and beautiful, as is the farmhouse itself. Our room was comfortable and immaculately clean. The breakfasts were delicious, and it is your fault if you leave the breakfast room hungry. The innkeepers were marvelous: helpful and knowledgable. If you are interested in paranormal activity, the farmhouse itself is reputedly haunted by a number of spirits, including a Union soldier by the name of Thomas, though we did not encounter any. You can take a paranormal tour with the inn's on-site paranormal expert Betty, who also works as the head of housekeeping. This is a wonderful place to stay if you are interested in history, and desire a quiet location, away from the amazingly congested center of Gettysburg. The battlefied main visitor center is a short five minute drive away. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Lightner Farmhouse is a charming historic property with wonderful hospitality. It is quiet as it is outside the town and set back from the Baltimore Pike. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hosts have provided many thoughtful touches including hair dryer, robes, and bottled water in the room. Breakfasts were excellent! We were served in a sunny, well appointed dining room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I am a frequent visitor to Gettysburg and have stayed at most of the local B and B's in town. The Lightener Farm House is really on of the nicer places to stay. I had a really nice two night stay while I was there on business recently. This property has an amazing history. During the battle it saw action as a field hospital. The building itself is in amazing condition and the owners/Innkeepers Dennis and Eileen have done an amazing job of making this Inn both beautiful and historically accurate. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated just perfect. Some of the older B and B's are a bit tacky, and not so well maintained. The Lightener made me feel like I was back in the 1860's and I could imagine seeing the Union calvary riding by on their way to the battle nearby. If I could fault it at all it would be location. I sort of prefer to be closer to town but if you prefer quiet nights this should be one of your choices. Loved the Innkeepers and what they have done to preserve a part of Gettysburg for all of to enjoy. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.6 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
5.6 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
5.7 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
355 reviews
5.6 km away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): $221 - $288
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing