We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vegetarian restaurant”

Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We're a worker-owned cooperative whose mission is to serve delicious, organic food; foster joyful work; and build up our community. Every ingredient used in our foods, breads, pastry, chocolate, and coffee is sourced specifically for quality, wholesomeness, and sustainability. We foster kinship among workers, our regulars, and with our community by donating our excess to the tables of those in need; supporting our local schools, farmers, and nonprofit organizations; and offering cultural and educational events to bring people together throughout the year. Workers earn an average of $13.50 per hour, paid leave that is accrued after three months of employment, scheduling that is worker-focused and flexible, dental benefits, one staff meal and drink per five hour shift with a 30 minute paid lunch break, a 25 percent discount, a fresh loaf of bread per week, and access to wholesale ordering. The kin work involved in consensus-based decision making and management requires a commitment to communication and trust-building within the work community. What does this look like? Proactively seeking feedback before and after shifts, working – not only efficiently, but – mindfully, being a reliable person, reciprocating good will, giving direct feedback early and often, listening to seek understanding – especially in conflict, and avoiding victim mentality by being both vulnerable and accountable.
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I didn't know this was a vegetarian restaurant but I ordered a tempeh rueben anyway. It's just not for me. Nothing bad about the restaurant but I didn't care for the food, I'm not vegetarian.
The service person was friendly and fast.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We walk inside.. outside weather was cold.. A smooth coffee smell and attractive pastries
welcomed us.. Salsa as music. We loved it!
The final surprise was find a small playground for our 2 years old child on the back..
Coffee is very, really good, ambience is the best and you get a playground for your child to play while you take your coffee.
Highly recommended!!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We had breakfast at Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe early on a Saturday morning. The place smelled delicious when we entered. We ordered from the 'kids' breakfast menu to get the smaller portions. The scrambled eggs and toast were delicious. We enjoyed looking around at all the interesting displays. We also got a fruit bar to take with us. The plates, napkins and cutlery are all dishwasher or machine washer materials.There was nothing to throw away - 100% Reusable. You bus your own table.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueinSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

It astounds me that anyone could give this place a 1 or 2 star rating. It is an excellent place to eat and hang out, as we did on our trip into Astoria. Our meal was awesome and creatively prepared and the waitstaff were all mellow, helpful and friendly. I wish we lived in Astoria, because I'd be in here all the time. Drop in and you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sldufhglviuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We had a few minutes to kill so we decided to stop for coffee. We tried the special of the day - a frittata with asparagus, peppers and goat cheese. It was delicious! The coffee was great too! The funky modern atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank mokemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing