We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Baltimore!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Baltimore!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Always a great stay at the Monaco here in Baltimore. The staff is always friendly and professional. We took advantage of there one suit deal, where we got a bottle of wine and chocolate truffles included in the deal. $199 is a great deal for a suit and jacuzzi tube. We had a great time and always great stay. We highly recommend the Monaco to anyone we know staying in the Baltimore area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Boone S:

I could not agree more but I guess I am kind of biased.
We really appreciate your loyalty and great feedback.
I hope you look me up next time you are at the hotel so I can say hi.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    418
    144
    55
    27
See reviews for
293
631
93
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in town for a Show and decided on Monaco for an overnight stay. We booked the Suite Deal and the Room couldn't have been nicer. We had a lovely corner room with great views, a separate sitting area with doors, and a bathroom that would rival most hotels. I slept through the night in a very comfortable bed. I heard no traffic noise from the 7th floor, no overhead or hallway disturbances. We had a light meal of burgers in the bar and I thought they were quite delicious. All staff we encountered were smiling, friendly, and courteous. The Hotel is beautiful and in a nice Downtown location. I'd like to stay again when in town for an event.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear CMF_11:

Thank you for staying with us and for trying our Suite Sweet Deal!
it is really a great deal for anyone but espcially a quick vacation.
Please know we appreciate the feddback and will share it with our entire team.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've been wanting to stay at the Hotel Monaco ever since I first discovered it upon first moving here. My boyfriend surprised me with a night at the hotel as a holiday present, and the hotel was better than pictured.

We got in later than we intended, but were able to take advantage of the wine hour. They have several board games available for guests, and since all the couches were full, we sat on the floor and played Jenga! It's a great way to make guests feel welcome and relaxed. The fire place is a nice touch - you could really be anywhere and just enjoy yourself.

The hotel itself is beautiful - the beaux arts architecture, the marble staircases, the tiffany windows, the level of thought put into every detail - you can tell the owners really took pride in creating the hotel. We loved finding the backlit train window in our room, and though the room was a corner room with an odd shape, we actually really loved the room as well. The bathroom walls were covered in what felt like a leather texture, but harkened back to the history of the building and the railroads. As a history buff, it was pretty neat to stay someplace that had been a part of the Baltimore landscape for over a hundred years.

Another really nice touch that we appreciated were the high ceilings. The room feels spacious and wide.

We did have some hiccups with service - nothing major, but the front desk was more than receptive to our concerns and offered us a complimentary breakfast for the hiccups. I'm a member of the InTouch loyalty program, which meant we scored some gummy bears and soda from the mini-bars. Tip: if you haven't had the gummy bears, try them. We discovered them in New York and relish them with delight!

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again. Hopefully, we'll be able to make it a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear jg1876:

Everyone has there quirks, glad you enjoyed ours.
We truly appreciate the feedback and will use to perfect our operation.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for a business trip and it was a very nice place to stay. The room was very clean and the service was great! The people at the hotel was very friendly and helpful! The internet was rather expensive: I had to print tickets for a venue. I was charge two different fee's for accessing email and printing tickets. I loved the historic building the hotel is in. Beautiful city!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear amyhass:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TA community.
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Please know in the future anyone from our guest service team will be happy to print anything you need right form the front desk.
We hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I recently stayed overnight at Hotel Monaco as I was looking for the perfect location where I can have my family and friends to stay this spring for a Ladies Day Out in Baltimore. After much research, I decided to check out this Kimpton property, as it seemed to provide the elegance and style that I was looking for. Hotel Monaco provided this.. and much more! I will say I was a bit worried upon arrival, as the valet check-in was not very organized, and to my dismay I was informed the valet lot was full. Somehow the car that arrived after me got the last spot. The valet guy was very friendly and apologized for the inconvenience. He also provided me with a great alternative parking location that was secured and actually very reasonable for overnight parking, and allowed me to stay parked out front until I got checked in and was able to take my bags to my room so I wouldn't have to lug them from the new parking location. His attitude and level of service salvaged the disappointment I felt with not being able to get the valet parking. Check-in was fast and easy. The pictures on this hotel's website ARE ACCURATE, and really, you are more in awe when you actually see this place in person. Loved the historic architecture, the swanky decor, and sheer elegance of the place with high ceilings and marble. The room was clean, nice sized bathroom, yoga mat, bathrobes (nice touch but unfortunately the ones I had were not very comfortable, as they were not soft like other Kimpton bathrobes I've used, this pair definitely had seen one too many wash cycles and was scratchy/starchy, probably time do a refresh of the robes) free wifi for In Touch members, again, everything as advertised. My goal was to partake in every amenity they had to offer. The wine hour was very popular, and actually offered light snacks which I was not expecting. Keep in mind this is a pet-friendly hotel, so there were dogs at the happy hour in the lobby. Now I love pets, so this didn't bother me, but for those not to keen on dogs, just wanted to make this known. Most of the dogs were well-behaved, well, except one that stole a piece of our appetizer off the chair before we could stop him, but I found the whole situation very amusing. I advise getting to the wine hour early though if you want to partake fully in the snacks and beverage without a possible short wait period. It does provide a good opportunity to mix-n-mingle with other guests. The lobby is very cozy, really unlike any hotel lobby I've seen, as it has a nice fireplace, many couch or cushioned seating areas, a game table of chess, and light music playing in the background. The ambiance is very nice! Great spot for lounging late-night to enjoy convo with friends. Every staff member I came in contact with was very helpful and friendly. I was even escorted to view one of the double bunk rooms that I wanted to see, and this room was just as nice and again looked like the pictures. The bunk may accommodate 1 smaller frame/short adult, and of course would fit 2 kids (again, depending on how big/tall they are). The wifi worked effortlessly, and the rooms were QUIET. Now I am not sure how full the hotel was that weekend, but I didn't hear any noises from the hallway, making me feel as if I was in an isolated area, which was very relaxing. The shower was nice and powerful with great water pressure and nice HOT water. The next morning I enjoyed the hot coffee and tea bar (again in the lobby), which on this occasion also had hot chocolate with marshmallows and chocolate chips. A nice array of herbal teas were present. The fitness center smelled like everything was brand new, and even had a hula hoop in there for a different type of workout! The property also has bicycles you can use for free upon request, in addition to goldfish which you can get for your room if you don't want to be lonely! I even utilized the provided yoga mat and did one of the free On-Demand Yoga for Abs videos just for the heck of it! Overall, I don't see how you can go wrong with staying at this property. Location was great, I was able to drive to all the attractions I visited within 15min or less. I really enjoyed my stay, and it lived up to all the expectations that I hoped it would meet. Clean and spacious rooms, great staff, cool amenities, and overall charm and elegance! I am looking forward to my return stay for Ladies Day Out and I hope my second experience will be just as great as my first when I return with family/friends this Spring. I think I made the right decision by selecting this property for my future stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hisinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear hisinc:

Thank you for the five star review!
It was great to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Please know I will share your kind words with my entire team.
We hope you join us again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price range (per night): $216 - $553
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing