We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Enjoyed It”
Review of Riptide by the Bay

Riptide by the Bay
Ranked #114 of 2,227 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Fells Point
Cross street: Between S. Ann St. and S. Broadway
Transit: Cabs, Water Taxi
Description: In Fell's Point
Reviewed 19 April 2018

First, the review is a little late. We had a meal here at the end of July 2017.

We enjoyed it. We found the server friendly and on task. We enjoyed the food and drinks and did not have any complaints.

I wouldn't describe this place as fancy. It is more casual and fun. Some people were really dressed up and some people looked like they just finished work.

We went to several restaurants in Baltimore during our say and this was one of our favorites.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JH3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiptidebytheBay, Manager at Riptide by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback. We truly hope you can come back again this summer to visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Drinks and appetizers - average.... Pineapple sangria weak on wine but acceptable liquor and Rum levels. Crab cake OK but considering Baltimore is renowned for CC, these were average. Fair sized but too much Old Bay in recipe. Shrimp pot stuffers deemed delicious by all.

1  Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiptidebytheBay, Manager at Riptide by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would be grateful for an opportunity to address these concerns directly. Please call us at (410) 732-3474, at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My husband and I were planning on eating next door at Thames Oyster Bar - we knew they didn't take reservations but we thought since we would be eating on the earlier side (5:30 on a Sat. nite), it wouldn't be an issue - except it was St. Patrick's day and there was an hour and a half wait - instead, we made a reservation on Open table here and walked right in. We sat upstairs which was pleasant - pretty views out the window. My husband ordered the crab bisque soup which was delicious - I had the Maryland shrimp salad sandwich - it was very tasty - the fries were delicious (hardly ever eat them but saw them next door and they looked so good). Overall, we were quite pleased to walk right in and enjoy a delicious meal here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiptidebytheBay, Manager at Riptide by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so very much for sharing your kind review and feedback with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back in to say hello again soon. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Beautiful location in Fells Point. Ordered specialty cocktails, which were more mixer than liquor and not that enjoyable, truthfully. The crab cake dinner was just okay. Ahi Tuna appetizer was okay, but nothing amazing. I'd go here for a beer and maybe some appetizers, but would try somewhere else for dinner. Think this place gets a lot of tourist business - did not look like many locals there. Overall, just okay. Service was slow - waited forever for drinks and starters and we then got dinner served before finished appetizers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terryyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiptidebytheBay, Manager at Riptide by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

We appreciate your kind review and we apologize for the slow service. We hope that you will come back again to enjoy your time with us. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We met up here with my nephew and his wife who live in Baltimore based on their experience dining here. It was a very nice experience. We each had different dinners and starters. Fish Tacos, Burgers, Tomatillos, etc all were good. Fresh Shucked Oysters for a buck a piece were also very nice. Great service as well. My only negatives were the room temperature was a bit chilly and I usually am most comfortable in colder temps. The other negative was a typical sour bar smell was quite noticeable when we arrived. Otherwise the place was clean and well kept. I would return for a casual dining/pub experience.

Thank 1977DougT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiptidebytheBay, Manager at Riptide by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review! We hope you will come back again very soon to see us. Have a wonderful weekend and stay warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riptide by the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Riptide by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing