We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning small old library”
Review of Peabody Library

Peabody Library
Ranked #8 of 208 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We visited this library by accident. Not sure if it's because we didn't have any expectation, we just love it! It's very old-fashioned and a little unreal - we almost thought that we ran into the world of Harry Potter. Visit this place if you can't stand the heat in Baltimore, and would like a piece of peace in a cool quiet place. You won't be disappointed unless you prefer shopping to books....

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Kang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"beauty and the beast"
in 8 reviews
"book collection"
in 4 reviews
"amazing architecture"
in 3 reviews
"jaw dropping"
in 3 reviews
"take your breath away"
in 2 reviews
"harry potter movie"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful building"
in 2 reviews
"vernon square"
in 2 reviews
"off limits"
in 2 reviews
"limited hours"
in 2 reviews
"walters museum"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"take your time"
in 2 reviews
"libraries"
in 25 reviews
"catalog"
in 6 reviews
"bookshelves"
in 2 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Very limited hours and also limited access to the bookshelves (for good reason). But still a must for anyone who is obsessed with books and/or libraries. Also, if you are really into the history of crests or other nonsense british royalty crap, this is totally for you.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank MSPXelaforNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

You can drive past the library, turn the corner, park in a garage, and wend you way to the library. It may have the most beautiful interior of any building I've ever seen. Classic old time architecture that they don't do anymore. Instead they use glass, and shiny metal to try. Yawn.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank HDS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This is an iconic place in downtown Baltimore that is perfect for a function. We had drinks and hors d'oeuvres in the Exhibition Gallery. Our dinner was on the main floor of the five story Peabody Library. It would be a great place to visit during a trip to downtown Baltimore. Beautiful building and site.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank sej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

When you walk inside this other worldly space will take your breath away! Once inside take your time and look over the thousands of books in this gorgeous setting. It is locate near the Walters Museum and Washington Monument and some great restaurants.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank catherinejane_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peabody Library also viewed

 

Been to Peabody Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing