We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Savannah Grand Dame...”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Savannah Grand Dame...”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Ballastone March 1, 2012 and what a delightful experience it was. The owner, Jennifer, shared Savannah history stories and had some wonderful suggestions on what to do. The staff was both charming and helpful and the Inn has an elegant European-style appeal. In the afternoon I did the trolly tour and found that the Ballastone was even part of the historical tour!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    69
    30
    22
    20
See reviews for
63
498
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent one night in the Ballastone, and I wish I could spend at least a week there.

Every single staff member is courteous and accommodating to the point where it's almost (but not quite) overdone. You feel so comfortable it's almost dangerous.

The breakfast, high tea, happy hour, and sherry at 10pm are all high quality and make you feel rather spoiled. The chef who prepares the breakfast is a lovely woman who makes delicious fare. The rooms are decorated wonderfully, and each is different. If a room is empty, guests are invited to explore so that they can get a feel for what different rooms are like. The Inn is in a very convenient location, and when you step outside you are right in the historic district with everything close at hand. The staff will, of course, help you with any suggestions or reservations you may want.

If you want to spoil yourself or your significant other, I highly recommend the Ballastone. It is the best B&B I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is supposedly haunted! Also, rooms higher up in the courtyard will get more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltballfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had to carry our own luggage a block away to a city parking deck that was a seperate cost from the already over priced room in 95+ degree weather. The lady who runs the inn is very pleasant and welcoming but let her know if you would like privacy because she can be invasive. Also the staff will inform you that they have filmed so called spiritual orbs dancing in the lobby after dark.

Room Tip: Shop around for better accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolmattguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Ballastone is the perfect place to stay when visiting Savannah. The staff will assist you in every way and make your stay as comfortable as possible. They will also help with reservations, tours or any thing else you might be interested in during your stay. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent and accommodate large and small breakfast appetites. Located in the heart of the historic district, you are within walking distance of most attractions. There is limited parking behind the Inn and an elevator for those who prefer it. I will stay here again and again whenever I return to Savannah.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgeorgius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had two stay at the Ballastone in January this year. Friendly staff, great service and comfortable place to stay. Centrally located in the Historic District. Parking in back of Inn

Room Tip: Second or Third floor in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtg2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price range (per night): $331 - $588
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing