We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad news at Ballastone Inn”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

With all due respect for the young staff members at the Ballastone who made great efforts to counteract the negatives, we post this review for two reasons: First, we were not informed before our arrival that BRAVO TV was filming a "reality show" on the premises; cameras, cables, TV personnel, actors had occupied the entire downstairs area and guests were unable to enjoy the ambiance of the Inn. Secondly, on our last morning my guest and I had breakfast there, including sausage patties which I did not like and so left uneaten. Within 45 minutes of departing the Inn my companion became violently ill in the car and ended up in the Emergency Room at an Atlanta Hospital where she spent two nights recovering from food poisoning. The Inn denied any responsibility, and offered no apology for either egregious inconvenience. Savannah, on the other hand, is a delightful city and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MazurkaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeeSavannah, Manager at Ballastone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for choosing the Ballastone. We wish to dignify both of your points. Our goal at the Ballastone is to provide flawless and incomparable service to all guests. Because of our reputation, we are inundated with requests from television broadcasters. For the few requests accepted, we set strict guidelines to which television crews must adhere. We demand that filming does not impede upon the comfort of our guests. The television crew was asked to respect our guests’ privacy and comfort. Unfortunately this television crew began to consume the Inn . We immediately restricted them to the front parlor of the house. Although many of our guests were enamored by the crew, we profusely apologize for any distractions or imposition to the tranquil ambience of the Inn . Your complimentary invitation to return to the Ballastone remains open.

Regarding the second point, our chef takes deliberate caution during preparation of all meals served at the Ballastone. For this reason, we expressed great concern for this anomaly. On the morning our chef prepared sausages, 27 of our 32 guests consumed the chef’s special. This included the sausage. Upon notification that one of our guests was ill, we immediately contacted all guests who had eaten breakfast. Absolutely no other guests experienced sickness or discomfort. Due to the isolation of sickness , we informed the guest who had become ill that the source of her illness was not the Ballastone. After she informed us that she had consumed dinner at a local restaurant on the previous evening, we encouraged her to notify the restaurant of her condition. It is most likely that the illness resulted from a source unrelated to the Ballastone. Again, our chef takes excessive measures to fastidiously ensure the safety and cleanliness of all food products.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is an irregular situation, so hopefully you will change your mind about returning. We would love for you to see the rest of what Ballastone Inn has to offer.

Kindest Regards,

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the Ballastone March 1, 2012 and what a delightful experience it was. The owner, Jennifer, shared Savannah history stories and had some wonderful suggestions on what to do. The staff was both charming and helpful and the Inn has an elegant European-style appeal. In the afternoon I did the trolly tour and found that the Ballastone was even part of the historical tour!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank travelingsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent one night in the Ballastone, and I wish I could spend at least a week there.

Every single staff member is courteous and accommodating to the point where it's almost (but not quite) overdone. You feel so comfortable it's almost dangerous.

The breakfast, high tea, happy hour, and sherry at 10pm are all high quality and make you feel rather spoiled. The chef who prepares the breakfast is a lovely woman who makes delicious fare. The rooms are decorated wonderfully, and each is different. If a room is empty, guests are invited to explore so that they can get a feel for what different rooms are like. The Inn is in a very convenient location, and when you step outside you are right in the historic district with everything close at hand. The staff will, of course, help you with any suggestions or reservations you may want.

If you want to spoil yourself or your significant other, I highly recommend the Ballastone. It is the best B&B I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is supposedly haunted! Also, rooms higher up in the courtyard will get more light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltballfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had to carry our own luggage a block away to a city parking deck that was a seperate cost from the already over priced room in 95+ degree weather. The lady who runs the inn is very pleasant and welcoming but let her know if you would like privacy because she can be invasive. Also the staff will inform you that they have filmed so called spiritual orbs dancing in the lobby after dark.

Room Tip: Shop around for better accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coolmattguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Ballastone is the perfect place to stay when visiting Savannah. The staff will assist you in every way and make your stay as comfortable as possible. They will also help with reservations, tours or any thing else you might be interested in during your stay. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent and accommodate large and small breakfast appetites. Located in the heart of the historic district, you are within walking distance of most attractions. There is limited parking behind the Inn and an elevator for those who prefer it. I will stay here again and again whenever I return to Savannah.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgeorgius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,922 reviews
Downtown
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $309 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elevator to all floors! No stairs to climb. Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! Elevator to all floors, off street parking under 24 hour surveillane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing