We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
JW MarriottUS$279
Agoda.comUS$279
PricelineUS$279
Hotels.comUS$279
eDreamsUS$279
Expedia.comUS$279
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
155
8
9
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
8
9
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews power plant john michael three muses valet service the river dinosaur bones lively hotel rooftop lounge restaurant options main building amazing hotel the hotel manager bars and restaurants valet parking rooms are spacious the entire staff great stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2021

Walking inside felt like entering a museum vs a hotel and was visually stunning. A Riverfront facing room was perfect for watching the huge cargo ships come in and out of the port. Upon entering our room, there was scotch tape still left on the wall above the bed from prior guest(s) having put up decorations of some sort. Nothing appeared to have been sealed or indicated it had been cleaned/sanitized.

Bed was comfortable with high quality sheets and pillows and would have been perfect had not been the live music that played until 10pm and then more live music played INSIDE the hotel at 8am.

Upon departure, if you have to catch a flight allow at least 45 minutes for valet to retrieve the car. It's not the fault of the valet team, it's the space in which they are allotted to work.

Overall, not what I expected for the "luxury" end of the Marriott brand.

Room tip: Rooms facing riverfront will have loud live music until 10pm
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Serio, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Laurel J, Thank you for your honest and candid feedback regarding your stay with us. We are disappointed that we failed to meet the expectations that both you and we set for ourselves. We appreciate the comments so that we can follow-up with our internal leadership to ensure we are always improving our processes and the level of service we provide to our guests. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with an exceptional experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

First of all let me say, this property is one of the best I have stayed in. The decor is absolutely stunning. Everything about this place is first class. The rooms are beautiful and the bed was super cozy.

Now the downside. This place is super busy and very noisy. The music, while great, is so loud you can’t rest. This is truly a little Las Vegas in Georgia.

So beware. If you are looking for rest and relaxation this might not be your place. If you are here for the party, you will love it.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank dereks650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Serio, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

dereks650, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District! We truly appreciate your feedback regarding our unique hotel, guest rooms and live entertainment. We value your input and will be sure your comments are discussed with our team internally. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us overall, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We came from the tri state for southern charm but was pleasantly surprised to find this impressive old power plant, revamped into an industrial-style mini "Vegas" hotel. Rooms have exposed beams and are cleverly designed around them. One of a 3-building hotel, the Plant has themes of dinosaurs, fossils and crystals. Colors of dark grays, chromes, expressos, and purples mixed with stone look tiles, barn doors some mid-century accent furniture pieces. Proud to see innovation in the south that is modern outside of Vegas. Great location; very close to restaurants by the water and within 10-minute walk to historic areas, shopping and more restaurants.
The front desk is grumpy. The valet folks and gals are more client centric and friendly than the the front desk. Another thing is the cleanliness - the toilet seat was unsanitized with defecation skid marks. Due to Covid, we had prepared to sanitize all surfaces, handles, light switches, remotes, door handles and knobs, everything we would touch including the toilet seat!!! Sad to say how we find the cloths were gray from wiping these surface in this new hotel. Lastly, the barn door would not slide all the way due to poor installation - lack of quality control with the new build? Hope management will address and improve these areas because we would like to return.

Room tip: corner king suite
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lotherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Serio, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

lotherapist, Thank you for sharing your experience at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District. Rest assured we have shared your comments appropriately throughout the hotel in order to improve our operations. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance or if you have additional feedback you would be willing to share, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

This place is beautiful and right on the water on River Street. The mall area has displays, dinosaurs, shops, restaurants, etc. and it is a must see when in town. It is very upscale and done in typical Marriott fashion.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Serio, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Paul J, Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District! We are thrilled that you were able to not only enjoy the hotel's many amenities, but also the nearby vicinity and the advantages of our great location! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

We just checked out from our 3 night stay at the JW Marriott Plant Riverside and we couldn’t have been more pleased with our stay! We loved this hotel! We decided on Savannah as a last minute get away due to the cold weather in florida interrupting our originally planned beach weekend. We knew we wanted to stay somewhere walking distance to everything and the Plant Riverside did not disappoint! We walked everywhere we wanted to go and didn’t even need to uber one time! The hotel itself had plenty of food and drink options. We especially liked the roof top bars (jazz brunch at the Myrtle and Rose roof top and the fun light up drinks at Electric Moon). The BaoBob lounge was really fun for our last dinner. We got the table side smoked drink and it was soo cool! Food was fantastic too! Graffiti Pizza was perfect for a quick meal to eat in the room when we didn’t feel like eating out.
I want to make a special shout out to the front desk staff who made us feel special upon arrival. We originally booked an interior room. We arrived a little early before check in and planned to just grab lunch while we waited for our room. When we approached the front desk, the woman who helped us was sooo sweet. I can’t remember her name but it started with a “L” and was a four letter name. I believe she said it was a French name. She had blonde hair. She saw my birthday balloon and immediately upgraded our room to a king riverfront room! She did some sort of stealth ninja thing because within the five minutes it took us to check in, she surprised us with an upgraded room, and early check in and I had a hand written and signed birthday card with a tin of cookies waiting for me in the new room when we walked in! I had not mentioned it was my birthday when making the reservation so this was all done while we the spent five minutes at the front desk checking in. The thoughtfulness and the special touch of a hand written birthday card made me feel special and welcomed. We loved our room and watching the large container ships stroll by. I felt safe at this hotel given the current pandemic situation. All staff and guests wore masks. Our room was clean and I sprayed everything down with Lysol when we arrived just to be extra safe. They do not have housekeeping come into the rooms daily which helps to further reduce risk. I appreciated that. Overall, I would rate our stay at this hotel as Fantastic! Highly recommend if you want a fun place to stay while visiting savannah walking distance to everything with lots of things to see and do on site.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cherrybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay Serio, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Savannah Plant Riverside District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2021

Thank you for the incredible review and highlighting the areas of the hotel you enjoyed the most! We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to recognize our team -- service is what we live for, and I'll be sure to pass along your comments to Ligé. We are delighted to have made your birthday weekend so special! We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews