We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Paella and Shrimp & Grits”

River House Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
River House Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 953 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Experience genuine Savannah flavor while dining in an 1820's King Cotton Warehouse watching the merchant ships float by. Enjoy local favorites such as crispy scored flounder, shrimp & grits, filet mignon and fresh lobster. Save room for our signature desserts including praline cheesecake, pecan pie and bananas foster.
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

We grabbed a table on the sidewalk on a beautiful Saturday. Both the signature paella entree and the shrimp & grits were excellent. Service was friendly, prompt and professional. The only disappointment was the Blood Mary's, which were only average.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank TCC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Good seafood. I had the shrimp and grits. They were good not great. Right on river street and restaurant was nice. Drinks were average at best.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank abdelm_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Pools of butter substitute for flavor. "Fresh" linguini was fresh from box. No serious chef breaks their pasta into short strands Pricey and substandard. Who is writing these rave reviews TripAdvisor????

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raven L, Web Manager at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Good morning Melanie. I am sorry to hear your meal was not up to our normal high standards and rave reviews. We have been a local Savannah fixture since 1982 and work very hard to make every visit memorable which is why we consistently receive wonderful reviews for both service and quality. Our Director of Operations would welcome an opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your visit and address your concerns personally. Please reach out to Jim White at JimWhite@EatOnTheRiver.com if you would like to connect with him.
Thank you,
Raven L.
Web Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We had a party of four and we all LOVED this place! Lovely, quaint atmosphere and the food, so good! Everything we tried was excellent!! My Mom loved the fried green tomatoes and we all had a different entree and we were all raving. My sister order a peach margarita and said it was the best drink ever! As you can tell, I highly recommend! We also visited Savannah fav's Olde Pink House and Mrs. Wilkes. River House wins!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

I tried to eat here on Monday, May 1 with a AAA bus group of about 50 people for dinner. As they had booked 2 bus groups on the same evening and we arrived second, there was, without exaggeration, a 1 1/2 hour wait before entrees were served. While entrees were being served we heard a loud crash in the kitchen. It was our entire table of entrees. We were told the kitchen would need to start from scratch to make our entrees. We had now been seated for 1 hour and 45 minutes. My friend and I had the bartender call a cab for us and we went to 5 Guys and had an excellent cheeseburger. If you have the misfortune to choose this restaurant keep 5 Guys as a backup.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Sam312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River House Seafood also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to River House Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing