We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveller rating
556
445
333
174
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
556
445
333
174
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean front desk staff stay there again breakfast bar myrtle beach free breakfast stayed one night indoor pool hot breakfast waffles easy access target exit gas virginia highway
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

So our family arrived in town for the same soccer tournament others who posted reviews were in town for as well. Our experience was similar and just as frustrating. Upon check-in we proceed to unload the car and bring our belongings to the room only to find the beds and furniture crawling in ants. We return back to the front desk to request another room at which time we learn about the unsafe conditions of the water as another parent inquired about the the ice machines not being operable. Management informed this parent that there had been a main water line break and until the system had time to flush the water needed to be boiled before drinking. I find this hard to believe as all the ice machines were unplugged and dry inside which would lead you to believe they had been off for some time. Moving on to the room issue, we were given a choice of the last two remaining rooms as the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Obviously we chose the wrong room (or maybe not-no telling what the other room would be like) because we found spiders crawling on the ceiling when we walked in but had no choice at that point given all hotels in the area were booked. As we retrieve a case of water from the car to at least brush our teeth and have safe water to drink I inquired with management as to why they didn’t see it necessary to inform us about the water at check-in and the response was non-challant at best with a shrug of the shoulders and a “sorry about that”, obviously not a concern to them. The last but most concerning issue to me was the blatant lack of guest security with free access to anyone from the outside through the stair well door. This door not only was able to be opened from the outside but did not even latch the entire weekend-no need for a card reader if the door doesn’t lock. This hotel obviously is mid managed and has been for some time but what amazes me is the fact they are still in business and carry the Wyndham name. If you are planning overnight travel to the Fredericksburg area you’d be better off bringing your own tent and bottled water before paying the price to stay here. By the way-I chose one circle only because it won’t post the review if you choose NO circle.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Camper543971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingatefrederick2017, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Camper:

We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us and found it frustrating. We shall address the concerns you bring to our attention.

Our area experienced a water main break. The county issued an alert and notification to those in our area letting them know the water was not contaminated. If you have any concerns please reach out to Utilities Department 540.658.8616.

We thank you for your understanding and sorry this negatively affected your stay while visiting our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

1. We traveled here to stay for a girls travel soccer tournament, along with all the other guests. The first morning when we go to the ice machine to fill up personal water containers with ice...guess what...sign says "Ice Machine is down--visit the convenience store across the street", but this was only for the dates that we are there (the out of order dates were posted). We go to the other 3 floors...same thing. Is this property so hard-up to save money that they need to save $ on ice making by inconveniencing EVERYONE in the building?!?! Also, on checkout day, we have a mid-morning game and need showers before heading to the airport. Do you think they allowed a late checkout?....NO!!! The front desk staff actually said that "all the guests checking in today want to be in their rooms by 3pm", LOL. Maybe I was born under a rock, but it wasn't yesterday.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kevincX426HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingatefrederick2017, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Kevin:

We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us. We posted signage detailing why the ice machines were shut down. The county was fixing a water main break and out of abundance of caution recommended we shut down the ice machines.

We adhere to our check-in policy of 3PM; wherefore, we provide our guests the same guarantee of which we provided you. We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

this hotel gets no stars on its rating from me. I have stayed at Wingates off and on for the last decade and been very pleased. Not so last night in Fredericksburg VA. I had booked well in advance and requested adjoining rooms. I did this by phone directly with the hotel and although there were no guarantees, I was virtually assured we would be accommodated. We we were told there were only non-adjoining rooms available when we arrived. When a member of our party asked for bottled water since the vending machine was empty, she was told there was none available although stacks of welcome packages were in plain sight behind the front desk attendant. When my friend went back out to our car to search for any bottled water left out there, she could see that at 8:00 pm there were no lights on in any room on the top 3 floors. Obviously, there had to be several adjoining rooms available in that hotel on this Tuesday night. The same front desk attendant offered to get my friend a “bucket” of water.
I certainly wouldn’t recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mary Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingatefrederick2017, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Mary Jane:

Our front desk agents informed you correctly for we cannot guarantee adjoining rooms for future reservations. Clearly you can see why for they are not always available which was the situation in your case.

The gift bags with water you saw were for guest who prearranged with hotel. The welcome bags belonged to them and were not the hotels to give out.

We wish you the best in your future travels and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Disgusting hotel. Upon arrival, I was not notified of the water-line problem. I drank the water to find out later that the water was contaminated, as I saw brown-colored water coming out of my faucet. This action is unacceptable, irresponsible, and dangerous. The following things did not work at the hotel: hot tub, safe boxes, ice machines, lights in the extended parking lot, TV in exercise facility. Carpets have a terrible smell. I took plenty of pictures.

Room Tip: Please do not stay at this hotel
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingatefrederick2017, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Jorge:

We certainly understand your concerns; however, we must correct your information regarding the water being contaminated. It was not. Please if you would like to confirm such contact the county utilities department at 540.658.8616 to verify such was not contaminated. No guest was placed in any danger.

The hotel communicated the issue of the county wide water main break both verbally and with signage in various common areas of the hotel. We apologize if you did not see them.

We wish you the best in all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We stayed at this hotel for a soccer tournament and did not have a choice as to where we stayed. The hotel is basic and clean, but carpets were stained and overall the hotel needed to be updated. On our second day there, we were told by other guests that the water and ice had bacteria in it. We had been filling water bottles with the water and ice for 2 days at that point. Never were we informed by staff. Also, the hot tub was drained apparently due to the water issue. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a typical, no-frills hotel buffet. No noise issues. The room did have a safe, but was out of order.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingatefrederick2017, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Kerri:

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize your stay correspond with the emergency county water main break that effected our immediate area. We were advised out of precaution to remove ice from machines and drain the hot tub. The water was not contaminated the hotel just adhered to the county’s recommendation.

We hope you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews