We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I grew up fishing in the boundary waters with my dad and was able to take my daughters up this summer for the first time. They absolutely fell in love with the area and cant wait to go back again. The crew at Voyageur were awesome, the equipment great and the property looks bettter than it did 40 years ago when i first visited the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

What a great Dad to take your daughters into the Boundary Waters Canoe Area camping. How lucky they are to be able to experience the woods and water with you. We are so happy Voyageur was a part of your memorable canoe trip and hope you'll return again soon.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review and keep up the great parenting!

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

From the second we were on Gunflint Trail I knew I would love this place. And they didn't let me down. There wasn't a single person on the staff that wasn't friendly and helpful the entire time we were there. We stayed in Riverside cabin, and I honestly do not have any complaints. There are 2 canoes that you can take out when it's convenient for you, there's a personal dock, a campfire space and picnic table close to the river. The cabin itself was extremely clean and neat. I loved writing my experience (and reading others) in the journal left on the coffee table. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask. I can't stress enough how great this place is. I hope I can return every year for this experience! And I would like to do a canoe trip also, since I've heard nothing but good things about those trips!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in our Riverside Cabin at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. It is a great cabin and other guests seem to enjoy the private deck, dock and campfire area too. We hope you will make it an annual vacation and try a canoe trip into the wilderness too. We'd love to see you back at Voyageur.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it very much.

Sue Prom
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters- Where the Trail Ends and Your Voyage Begins...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I just went on a trip with my husband and son (age 6). Both of them had never been to the BWCA and we went with voyageur's canoe outfitters. The meals were packed nicely. The gear was just right. We used all of their gear that was packed for us(we used two of our own sleeping bags because they were extremely lightweight and we don't get to use them as much as we'd like.) We brought our hammock which was awesome to sit in and look at the water and wildlife with besides just a nap. My only suggestion would to make sure you have a map carrying case. My husband bought one at the outfitters and it worked great. You can rent exactly what you need.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaynamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We're so happy to have been a part of your canoe trip. Thanks so much for using Voyageur Canoe Outfitters and for writing such a wonderful review for us. We're glad you had a good trip and hope you'll all be back again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Voyager has been our Outfitter for partial outfitting since the early 1990s. I took an 9 year break in the middle (no not to another outfitterl just a break) and when we came back they were the same helpfull, friendly and top notch outfitter as always. You won't go wrong using Voyuager Canoe Outfitters. Mike, Sue and the gang are the best!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1NM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We are happy you have returned to Voyageur and the canoe country wilderness. We're thrilled you are still pleased with our services. Some people can get burned out of outfitting but I believe our love of the wilderness and passion about paddling keeps us energized. Our seasonal crew does an awesome job with our guests too. Thanks for the review and can't wait for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

They were great in letting us know pre-trip the deadlines for menus, etc. Everything worked well with the vouchers we purchased, and the check-in was easy. They were very accommodating for us using some of our own gear even on a fully outfitted trip. All the gear was great, the food was plenty, and nothing broke. Weather hindered our original canoeing route, but that is nothing they can control. It was an easy check back to the outfitters as well. I wish they would have mentioned we could not paddle back to the outfitters from EP54 and that we HAD to call, but that was partially the maps being misleading as well. Overall an amazing experience. I will definitely use them again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bench06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We love to hear such positive words about our guest's outfitting experience. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We're happy you had a nice Boundary Waters trip and look forward to your return. Some people paddle back to our place via portaging at the Trail's End Campground while others give us a call to avoid that last portage. We'll definitely keep that in the front of our minds when sending folks that way through the BWCA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
62.7 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
61.5 km away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
62.8 km away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
160 reviews
62.8 km away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
116 reviews
14.2 km away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#3 of 32 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Address: 189 Sag Lake Trl, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $66 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing