We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arunima Heritage Home
Ranked #104 of 210 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed in Arunima for few days on vacation with my husband. Easily accessible and near to the railway station and also a shopping area called mullakkal. Beach was just 10 minutes walk from here. The place was too good like an ancestral beautiful house of mine. Spacious room at affordable price. Tasty food on request. We got to taste some typical Kerala delicacies including appam, puttu and ada pradhamam which I am crazy of. The owners made us feel very comfortable there throughout the stay and helped us out to travel in and around by getting us some good bargains for boats and cabs. Laila aunty was one cute lady who was very hospitable to us and took care of us like her own relatives. Our stay there was really an unforgettable experience and we would definitely want to stay there again. If anyone wants a real heritage home stay at peace, this would be the one. This ain't any hi-fi stay but a peaceful relaxing one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrivvyPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

Firstly,
Arunima Heritage home is a very good place for budget stay.. because of its location, and its non-greedy old couple who run the place.

Secondly,
Arunima is correctly put into the BB's and Inns category, instead of Hotels on Tripadvisor. At Arunima, you can't expect Hotel like services, cleanliness, guest attendance, food. Arunima is more a House than a Hotel... it is a 'Home-Stay'.

Though I rate Arunima only average on Cleanliness, that would only be because you often compare it to Hotels.. otherwise Arunima is a nice, Healthy, very clean for a budget stay.

Arunima is more a House, of which rooms are shared with guests.. thats how it is. Don't expect or compare it with Hotel services... but Arunima is much better a place than a budget hotel as much as Arunima's cost.

We stayed in a standard, non-A/c room, one which had a TV, Attached Toilet, and basic lighting and Fan. .. this we chose after we saw all types of rooms they have.. But if you want to take a Deluxe room in Arunima, you could better of take a low cost hotel because you will have hotel services and infrastructure in it.

For those, who like staying with a family more than a hotel.. because honestly Alappuzha is a place where you should liberate yourself from luxuries and then you have a good tour.

You could take a walk everyday to the beach from Arunima. It is a perfect distance of about 1Km for a healthy or liesurely walk... but not night walks.. since streets around Arunima are not well lit probably because it is more a residential area.. but about street lighting and night-life, I would say its not interesting in entire Alappuzha.

Food is requested with the hosts.. preferably in advance, and they cook it like a home meal with their household cook.. and serve it at a simple household dining table. They can cook basic food, kerala style... and this is a place where rice is staple food, and so you may be limited to choices like rice, wheat rotis (breads) for the main course. If you are not from Asia, and can't adjust to few days of generous kerala style cooked rice and wheat rotis, then you should not request food with the hosts.

If you decided to choose to stay at Arunima, the below will help you find the place:

The address quoted by the hosts or correspondence, may be unclear to taxis or auto-rickshaws to take you there. We had a problem.. then had to call up the hosts and give the phone to the auto-rickshaw driver. We later learnt that the address should have had either of these:
Opposite Alappuzha SP Office, or,
Near Jain temple, or,
Near 'muppalam' (triple bridge - three parallel bridges in the area)

I personally remembered my ancesteral home when I stayed at Arunima..and was touched. So I take the time to write this big a review. Hope it helps.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harish_palaniappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Excellent ..thats how I would describe it in one word. Arunima is GOLD star home stay which is run by Salli and Lila aunty. The home is a 75-80 year old home, which they bought from someone and have renovated it beautifully. It is very simple don't expect some 5 * hotel or something.

We had booked an AC room ( got a nice price of Rs 1000 since off-season), which was ready for us when we reached there. It was nice and clean and gave a colonial feeling. The room ceiling were high and room size was also good.

We reached there around 3-4 pm in the afternoon and Lila aunty was kind enough to make lunch for us at that time. The lunch was authentic food...and among the best fried fish I have ever tasted. For the vegetarian there was rice, kadi (a light curry made of chickpea flour), mixed vegetable. It was just perfect.


This place should be a MUST for foreigners who are visiting India for the first time. It will give you a good understanding Indian hospitality and pleasure of authentic home cooked meal and the home-stay experience is unique.

The best part are the hosts. Both Salli uncle and Lila Aunty treat you as if you have known them for years and they are some distant relatives whom you have come to meet after ages. They take excellent care of you and help you out in many things.

They can ever get you a houseboat for a good rate.... and also have a TAXI service with them.



a MUST STAY .... try a home stay in Kerla for at least one day .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitinmalik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

My stay with my partner Sanchita at Arunima recently in March, 2011 can be explained as "home away from home" blended with Mr & Mrs Sali's kind, sweet, cordial, cosy & welcomy treatment. We felt at home. Even we cancelled a day's pre-planned stay at Beach resort as my wife preferred to be with uncle and aunty. Breakfast and lunch was awesome and even Aunty prepared dishes according to our choice, nothing to say about quality as it met home standards. So nice was their assistant Shajji with his everlasting smile on his face that felt our heart to brim. Uncle Sali guided us with proper do's and dont do's tips with authentic contacts for siteseeing, boat cruises. The house was large and beautiful heritage type unique of its kind with spacious luxurious rooms both at 1st and 2nd floor. Thanking to Uncle Sali and Aunty for gifting us a splendid, amazing homestay at so moderate rate where actually tariff is priceless when comes to their warmth and company.The rooms are equipped with all modern amenities and AC room upstairs have special balconies. The location is awesome overlooking a canal and just 5 mins from beach.Such a cosy and homely hosts make the stay far away from any hotels as you get to feel a special stay. Left Alleppy with memories buried there and the stay was such that myself and my partner bursted with tears as we left Alleppy memorising Uncle and Aunty, specially, Aunty who treated us like her own children. Would like to request everyone intending to visit Alleppy to have a small experience at Arunima and you will rejoice the rest of your life. Arunima is far away from any hotels that we usually adopt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujoysanchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very impressed with the building, understand it belonged to a spice merchant, had an almost colonial feel to it. Excellent a/c and water heater in the bathroom. Good balcony with views of canal and close to temple.Not many nearby restaurants that we spotted. Beautiful beach about 10 minutes walk away - popular with locals even camel rides on weekend evenings. No facilities for tourists eg sunbeds or umbrellas and I felt that it would have been inappropriate to wear swimwear on this part of the beach but I feel sure they were others beaches around. Locals all very friendly,children wanting to shake hands and have their photo's taken with us. We went on the backwaters in a canoe which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.3 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
399 reviews
15.0 km away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
3.1 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
833 reviews
3.3 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
4.3 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arunima Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arunima Heritage Home

Address: Arunima Bungalow Commercial Canal | Near Kochu Kada Bridge, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $13 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arunima is one of the very few heritage residencies in Alappuzha town. It is situated in a calm and quiet residential area at a walking distance from the Alappuzha beach and close to the beautiful canal. Internet, homely food, tour assistance, house boats, motorboats and can arrange Ayurvedic massage and village tours. Government Approved Gold House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arunima Heritage Home Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing