We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with excellent beach views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanyakumari
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good stay with excellent beach views”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Visited Kanyakumari last week (10th Sep) and stayed in Hotel Tamilnadu (TTDC) for a night. I selected this hotel based purely on tripadvisor reviews and am very happy that it was a good decision. Reviews here totally justified the selection. I booked 2 double AC rooms for my family. Since the season was yet to start I got sea facing balcony rooms and it was just awesome!! You can just gaze the mighty ocean all day long from the balcony.. To start with the rooms are quite large and basic. Bathroom was big with an adjoining dressing room. No issues with AC or any electric points. You get hot water throughout the day, believe they have installed solar panels for heating which is good. Hotel itself is situated in a large compound, best part being you can walk straight to the beach promenade in 5 minutes.. All attractions are within walking distance barring the ferry to Vivekananda rock which is situated slightly far. There is an LCD TV with majority channels aired being Tamil, but who cares as you are not there to spend time watching TV! .. Well in order to highlight any drawbacks I can say that the rooms are bit worn out, the bathing towels are kind of old and worn out and finally the hotel restaurant is very basic with steep pricing. You get very basic south indian food in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch (which is good). But there are numerous eateries of every kind and region just outside the hotel compound. So that is not a big worry.. Overall I can say that its a good place to stay at an excellent location with basic amenities.. Costed me around 2K per night for a room which is absolute VFM!! ...

Room Tip: Select rooms with sea facing balconies.. You will be in for awesome views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prasanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    185
    75
    20
    15
See reviews for
282
55
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights on our recent trip to Kanya Kumari. We enjoyed our stay very much at the TTDC hotel. The hotel is about two blocks away from the action zone and a five minute walk from the ocean. We could watch the ocean all day from the room balcony.

Room was basic, with air conditioning, clean and spacious. There was no hot water, but it was so hot and humid, it was not needed during our visit. We walked to the marina to get the boat to go to Vivekananda rock and the to see the sunrise. We took an auto rickshaw to see the sunset at Kovalam beach, about a mile from the hotel. The hotel also has a lighthouse and several peacocks within its walls!

The food served at the restaurant at the hotel was tasty and cheap although there were not a lot of western options. The restaurant staff and reception staff spoke basic English.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the TTDC hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This Hotel is just behind the Beach and really worth the cost for stay. Rooms are really big the cleanliness was Ok. As its located very next to beach you can expect flies and insects if your staying in Non AC room as most of the windows are open.

Restaurant Food is bad and mostly items are not available. Quality of food is not so great. You have many good restaurants very near by.

Advice: If your going to see Sun Rise please dont go to the spot available in TTDC as its Sunset Spot and please go near beach for good Sunrise View

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailanantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location for the hotel is awe-inspiring with all the major attractions at a walkable distance. Rooms were too spacious & clean. We didn't try the food there as the reviews for the same were not so good. Its not too far from the railway station & autos are available at the hotel gate. Peacocks can be seen in abundance in the hotel premises, a rare site at any property. The room tariff makes it a VFM & the location is what attracts tourists to have a stay here. Overall, a decent property with nice view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatehgarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It is a govt. hotel and only asset is the location, location &location. I doubt that there is any another room balcony showing all the attractions of Kanyakumari. As soon you reach the balcony you will forget the worn out ambience of the rooms. Deluxe ac rooms are the only sea facing rooms. Suites are beautiful but not sea facing. Check ac working before taking the room. Many hotels there but booking this one will justify your decision on your arrival there. Booking by internet, hassle free. Their restaurant is ordinary so are the others in kaniyakumari. Auto from rly. station charges Rs 50. For senior citizens ideal place as all the attractions are less than 750 m. leisure walking for all hotel residents to all the attractions.
Just infront of exit gate to sea is a sea shell engraver PYASH . Very small shack. Poor but gentleman. Beautiful work he does on shells at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fgrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.5 km away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.5 km away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
272 reviews
0.9 km away
New Cape Hotel
New Cape Hotel
#6 of 30 in Kanyakumari
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#8 of 30 in Kanyakumari
90 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Ganesh
Hotel Ganesh
#21 of 30 in Kanyakumari
13 reviews
0.2 km away
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
#22 of 30 in Kanyakumari
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu

Property: TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu
Address: Light House Main Road, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari District > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price range (per night): $17 - $47
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu Kanyakumari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing