We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place we stayed in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We decided to stay at this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews - it was ranked 1/618 hotels when we booked and was owned by Le Meridien. By the time we arrived, Pan Pacific had taken it over and as far as I could tell is was still deserving of its high ranking. Our room was a standard room overlooking the golf course, and I loved being tucked away somewhere quiet with a picturesque walk to the restaurants and swimming pools. Because we had a top floor room, we had a vaulted ceiling which gave an extra sense of space. The room was lovely with plenty of room for comfortable chairs and coffee table. The bed was firm and the bathroom perfect - separate marble shower, very clean and up to date.

The hotel has lovely gardens and spectacular views of the ocean. The view of the Hindu temple from the reception area is unforgetable - it can be reached at low tide only.The restaurants were good and the breakfast was fairly standard for a large tourist hotel. I particularly enjoyed the fruit juice which was prepared specially for each individual guest. The swimming pool is comprised of many interconnecting pools and the chairs are spread out around the various pools, allowing a sense of privacy - rather than a long string of chairs packed closely together. The water slide is fantastic fun - seems to go for miles!

I would definitely stay here again - great value, fabulous location (particularly if you enjoy golf) and well trained staff with typically generous Balinese hospitality. We stayed at two other places - the Grand Hyatt and Ungasan Bay Villas, Jimbaran. Both were very good, but somehow I preferred the Nirwana.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,535 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2010

Location (2 out of 5) – The property is located adjacent to Tanah Lot temple approximately 45 minutes from the airport and is isolated from other attractions and dining options. On the day we departed to another hotel, the trip to Kuta took more than one hour due to traffic.

Rooms (3.5 out of 5) – The rooms have not been renovated in many years and the warn furniture, tile floor, and small TV create a lower-end feel. While the bathroom was in better shape, our biggest complaint was about the bed. The mattress was old and very thin to the point you could feel the springs. We would also suggest avoiding a room with a connecting door. On our first night, the adjacent room was occupied and we could hear everything.

Food & Beverage (3 out of 5) – The breakfast buffet in the Cendana Restaurant was your typical resort buffet and the food quality was average. We also ate at the Nirwana Restaurant, which is the upscale Indonesian restaurant. It is not listed on the website but the food was also average. Our biggest complaint was about the “show kitchen” which we could clearly see from our table. The quality of the fit-out does not match the rest of the restaurant and the wok is quite noisy.

Grounds/Amenities (5 out of 5) – The hotel is surrounded by the golf course and the Tanah Lot temple. Although there is no swimmable beach, the hotel has two very nice large pools inter-connected with water slides. The landscaping around the hotel was very good and the golf was the best we played in Bali as there are multiple holes along the ocean.

Service (3 out of 5) – We arrived after 9PM and were checked-in by a lazy man who appeared to be performing the bellman, concierge, and front desk functions; it did not create a good first impression. The service during the rest of our stay was average, however, the caddies at the golf course we excellent.

Value (5 out of 5) – We stayed on a 3 night golf package for US$210/night that included two rounds of golf each, breakfast, and airport transfers. Considering the golf alone is US$150/round, we felt this was an exceptional value.

Other – If you would like to dine outside the hotel, try The Beach House in Echo Beach about 15 minutes away. We went on a Sunday night and they had a very good BBQ by the beach with live music.

Conclusion (3.5 out of 5) – If you are looking for a short golf getaway, don’t plan to leave the property, and have the right expectations going into your stay, the hotel offers good value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsgreen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We've stayed at Nirwana several times, most recently in February whilst it was still under the Le Meridien badge. My husband is a Starwood Preferred Guest, so we were upgraded to an SPG sea view room. The downside was that breakfast was included in the standard room rate booked on the Net, but not with the upgraded room. Ah well, on balance it was probably fair enough...

Though huge, the hotel is quite delightful and maintains a high standard of decor, staff attention and restaurants. The buffet meals are extremely good value. The various swimming pools are excellent, and the ocean front bales are lovely places to sit and relax. The sunset bar can get very busy in the early evening as the sun goes down, so it's worth getting there perhaps half an hour early to ensure a good seat.

The Greg Norman golf course, with its signature par 3 7th hole alongside the sea temple at Tanah Lot, has been rated Best in Asia several times and deserves its status. It's certainly a 'must play' course for any serious golfer, but be warned - like all Greg Norman courses it is challenging and quite unforgiving for the novice player.

Nirwana is well away from the action in Seminyak, but well worth a few days chilling out any time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui0058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed here in March, it was still operated under Le Meridien flagship. Our driver told us that this resort is the largest resort in Bali due to its golf course. We arrived there in the afternoon, warm welcome by a special guest relation officer since I was an SPG member. From the reception room, Tanah Lot can be seen at distance. It was a clear day so we could enjoy the ocean breeze with breathtaking view.

The young woman took us to our room with garden ocean view. It was quite of a walk. On the way there she explained the service hotel offered. Our room was close to the middle pool so it was convenient. The room is large enough for us. We have fruits everyday and four complimentary bottled water.

The resort had some pools, they are large pools. One pool is dedicated for kids and sports (basketball, water polo), Balinese pool is for relaxation, and the upper pool is for "older" folks. There are two fun slides as well as beach volleyball field. I got to do most of the available plays there. And my skin turned darker one day after my stay. If you spend time at the pool, beware of the presence of large lizards (2-3 ft long). They sometimes show up to go around the pool or even swim. They normally do not attack human but can be frightening if you get too close to it.

It only took us 15 mins to reach Tanah Lot temple on foot. We passed by beautiful golf course and some restaurants on top of black cliffs on our way there. It was a pretty walk, I highly recommend it if you stay here. If you're a golf addict, playing golf here is a must. It is probably one of the best golf course in the world.

The resort has some restaurants in the property. We did not try any since we preferred eating out. The resort provides complimentary shuttle to Kuta/Seminyak at certain days of the week. Concierge should have this information. Also, taxi is available if you are not lucky to catch one. The only drawback of this hotel is its location, a bit far from happening places in Bali, but perfect if you want a getaway on a beach setting environment. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back. I hope Pan Pacific can maintain Le Meridien service or even better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We recently stayed in a studio apartment in the 'timeshare' accommodation booked through RCI. The studio was above our expectations, furnished to the same standard as the standard resort rooms and serviced daily which is a real treat for timeshare properties. The timeshare wings are about a 5-8 minutes walk (either through the beautiful gold course) or along the manicured paths of the resorts to the main resort buildings (pools, spa, restaurants). With the high humidity, this short walk can seem longer but the resort staff were always available to drop us back either in a lovely air-conditioned car or golf buggy (I think we liked the later the best!). To our surprise, we seemed to have the whole timeshare wing to ourselves which meant it was very quite and private. If you are an RCI member, what are you waiting for?

Reviews on this site already give a great description of this fabulous resort. We concur! The pools and surrounds are some of the best we have experienced at comparable 5 star resorts. Good food options and with the shuttle to Seminyak etc you can expand your food choices every other day. But if you want to be somewhere beautiful, no crowds and absolute luxury then Nirwana Bali is a good choice. We didn't get onto the golf course this trip (lazing in our own shaded 'bale' overlooking ocean cliffs was just too demanding), but will next trip. Lovely spa treatments and well priced for resort spa treatments.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
6.5 km away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
707 reviews
8.9 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,531 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
25.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,859 reviews
4.9 km away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Tanah Lot | PO Box 158, Tabanan 82171, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tabanan
#3 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: $795 - $1,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a flawless getaway in paradise against the dramatic backdrop of Bali’s iconic Tanah Lot Temple and the Indian Ocean.Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort unveiled a brand new experience for guests with a US$10 million refurbishment of its 278 guest rooms including luxury suites and villas, restaurants, bars and event spaces completed in 2011. The renewed resort, complemented by the uncomplicated service and premium offerings synonymous with the Pan Pacific brand, will enable guests to enjoy enriching and unrivalled experiences.Experience the best location to enjoy a remarkable sunset in Bali with dramatic views of Bali’s iconic Tanah Lot temple, Indian Ocean, rice paddies, Greg Norman golf course and lush tropical gardens. In the resort, you can enjoy cycling around the resort grounds and the Bali countryside, a sunset walking experience with 103 hectares manicured gardens, spa indulgence at the Bale with endless view of the Indian Ocean, exquisite culinary offerings, relax by the three-tiered swimming pools with a 54-metre water slide, and many more activities awaits you. Complimentary shuttle service to Kuta and Seminyak is also provided.Children staying in the resort will be able to enjoy a wide-range of kid-friendly activities and experiences such as; painting, Balinese dancing, jungle gym, tennis, golf, Wii video games at Kids Club and Family Rooms or even join the fun environment activity of baby sea turtle release at the resort beach.Recently, Nirwana Bali Golf Club at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort received prestigious recognition as Asia’s 10 Most Elite Golf Courses by FORBES Travel Guide, voted 100 Best Golf Course outside the US (no 66) and No 1 Golf Course in Indonesia by Golf Digest-US and Indonesia’s Leading Golf Resort (2010, 2011, and 2012) and Indonesia’s Leading Spa Resort (2012) by World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Hotel Tabanan
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing