We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Speckled Hen Inn Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Madison
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
555
18
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
555
18
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmadison lakes roomtoken creekhardy suitegracious hostsfarm to tablewindow seatbreakfast was deliciousgathering roomfarm animalssmall farmcommon roomthought of everythingfresh eggsbeautiful propertygas fireplacejetted tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We chose to use our gift certificate from on a one night stay in the luxurious, comfortable spa suite on the second floor. This room overlooks the llama and sheep pasture and gardens, which Tom and Heather invited us to see close-up on a sunset walk. Along the way, we took pictures, picked and ate red raspberries and visited the chickens. Our son and family joined us for a fun visit.

In the morning Heather cooked and Tom served a delicious, artistically presented breakfast made with fresh farm ingredients and homemade mango sorbet. Before we left we took one more walk, enjoying the fresh air and tranquility of this countryside, just minutes from the city life of Madison.

The Speckled Hen Inn is a quality, unique bed and breakfast to put on any 2018 To Do List for yourself or someone else.

Room Tip: The rooms are well represented in the brochure and website, offer variety in price and accommodations
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kpfrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We loved our stay at the Speckled Hen Inn! We stayed in a beautiful room, with our own large jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The entire inn was decorated incredibly for the Christmas season. In the morning we were treated to a delicious (and huge) homemade breakfast. I loved getting to hear about where most of the items we ate came from on the property (eggs, apples, cranberries, etc). Additionally, you felt like you had lots of privacy but also the opportunity to interact with the other guests during breakfast. The Innkeepers were very friendly and welcoming; I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ashmay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The reason we go to Bed and Breakfasts is because of the personal touch. We certainly got that. The bed was luxurious, comfortable, clean with soft linen. We had wonderful nights sleep there. The room was quiet. The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The breakfast was spectacular. Each course prepared by Heather and served by Tom was like a beautiful gift. We have been to many B&B's throughout the world and this was just amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Haywood Hardy Room. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapanMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

My husband and I were welcomed here like we were old friends. Heather and Tom are gracious, generous and attentive hosts. The inn is beautiful and the food is incredible. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to get away and feel pampered in luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

... if you're lucky enough to own a $1M+ home on nearly 20 acres of land surrounded by woods.

My wife & I spent three wonderful December nights at Speckled Hen Inn. We've stayed at over 30 B&B/inn properties across North America, and we agreed this was the most relaxing experience of them all. The combination of hospitality & country charm & scenic surroundings made for a very memorable stay, and a dash of early winter snow added to the magic & the beauty.

The innkeepers, Heather & Tom, have owned the Speckled Hen property for a couple of years after the original owners transformed their beautiful family home to an inn back in 2000. The innkeepers live in an adjacent house, leaving the Inn space free for guest enjoyment & relaxation while still being immediately available for check-ins and Q&A during your stay. Heather & Tom assumed a tremendous amount of responsibility in running the Inn and maintaining the 18+ acres of surrounding land & its buildings, but they've done so with a passion & a commitment that shows immediately when you meet them. Heather is the primary greeter & hostess & house chef, while Tom helps out with guest services when he's not otherwise occupied with property maintenance or caring for the chickens and the sheep and the self-appointed livestock policewoman Lilly the Llama. They are a friendly & genuine couple, and they have established a casual atmosphere along with some special touches of elegance throughout the property that will enhance the memories from your visit.

Driving access to the Inn is via a long & mostly flat driveway through a wooded entryway from Portage Road, along the eastern edge of the property running parallel to I-90 just north of U.S. Highway 151. You can access Portage Road either from the south (via an exit off westbound Hwy. 151 to the north service road & winding through retail and residential areas) or from the north (off Hanson Road which runs east-west just north of the Inn). There are five surface parking spaces on the east side of the Inn, with three together at the end of the driveway (easiest access, good for winter conditions) and two separate single car pads nearby that require a bit more maneuvering for in & out. From the parking area, the Inn main entry door is reached via the north-facing extended porch that spans the entire ground level of the house. There's a good view of the barn & pasture from this porch space, so you may want to linger there to begin your decompression before you enter the Inn.

The Inn has a total of five guest rooms, three on the ground floor and two more on the 2nd floor. All but one of the rooms have ensuite bathrooms, with the Badger Den's bathroom immediately across the hall from the sleeping room. We stayed in the Token Creek Room on the 1st floor, and appreciated the comfortable king bed with soft warm bedding & the two wing chairs & the generous storage space & the large bathroom with jetted tub plus the large double-head Roman shower stall. The December temperatures required frequent use of the gas fireplace at the foot of our bed, and there were space heaters available in the room for extra warmth as needed.

The first floor public spaces of the Inn offer a collection of cozy spots to hang out and relax, centered on the "Gathering Room" (the space you enter from the front door). There you can enjoy a comfortable sitting area, or sit at the bar to sample Heather's fresh-baked cookies and/or the innkeepers' selection of wines, or surf the internet for local itinerary ideas, or while away your hours piecing together a puzzle (my wife's relaxation-of-choice during our stay). An adjacent theater room offers its own comfortable seating and a pull-down screen to view a large in-house collection of movies. The Gathering Room has its own wood burning stove to help take off the winter chill, and a scenic view of the barn & pasture housing the resident sheep under the watchful eyes of Officer Lilly.

The very attractive second floor bedrooms are just a short hallway west of a more formal living space, which was decked out for the holidays during our stay including a huge Christmas village display with moving parts & more tiny details than you can take in with just one quiet staring session. This 2nd floor common space also holds the informal breakfast table, and a formal dining room in an adjacent space with both breakfast areas connected directly to the large kitchen. Heather's breakfasts were varied & inventive, always centered on produce from the Inn property's gardens & orchards and eggs from the resident hens. Each meal was served in small courses, to allow savoring while not feeling stuffed at the end. Tom & Heather shared the table service duties, which allowed for more interaction with the innkeepers to help plan the guests' daily activities on or beyond the property.

On one of our snowy mornings at Speckled Hen, my wife & I took an extended hike around the Speckled Hen grounds. We passed the dormant garden & orchard spaces, spent time watching the sheep & Lilly up close as they had their morning fill of hay, then walked through the beautiful "Christmas Tree Lane" (a double row of blue spruces forming a covered passage near the pasture) and continued to the creek bed at the north end of the Inn property. We looped back around to the east side of the pasture and returned to the warmth of the Inn after 40 minutes of invigorating wandering. There are some trail markers you can follow on the path described, but they will guide you in the opposite direction from the one we chose (clockwise vs. our anti-clockwise tour – oops!).

For a relaxing getaway that still offers easy access to business & attractions in and around the Madison area, the Speckled Hen Inn is a perfect choice of lodging spots. My wife & I hope to return in the future, to see what Heather & Tom have cooked up and dreamed up to treat their guests at this amazing property.

Room Tip: 4 of 5 rooms have ensuite baths (Badger Den bath across the hall)
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JMCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews