We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big rooms and convenient location”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Comfortable but casual property. Located two blocks from the edge of the French Quarter on Carondelet Street (which becomes Bourbon Street) and two blocks from Poydras Avenue and about 4 blocks from the Superdome area. Unfortunately, the one block walk to Canal Street forces you to pass in front of a couple seedy food shops and a tattoo parlor full of undesireables hanging out both inside and out front, including homeless persons.

Friendly front desk personnel. We had a corner King whirlpool room, very large room with tall windows and ceilings. Very comfortable. Large breakfast area on the 4th floor. Food is okay, except the inedible concoction they try and pass off as scrambled eggs. They are cold, tasteless, and broken up in inedible bits that you can't even use a fork to scoop and eat. Really bad. And they serve this poisen every other day (we stayed for 7 days and it was served 3 times during our stay. Yuck!) This hotel needs to serve more sausage, bacon and ham like other Hampton Inns. Complementary newspaper delivery to your room every weekday morning. Only one computer for guest use located on 4th floor. Aside from the bellman/doorman breaking the feet on our suitcase(unintentionally of course) this was a hassle free stay.

Room Tip: Go for the "05" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revpar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    628
    152
    39
    24
See reviews for
432
632
76
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel is only 2 blocks from the French quarter and a very easy walk. We were out walking day and night and had no worries. It is far enough away from the action that you don't hear all the noise, but close enough you can go to your room and rest when you get tired. Will stay here again next time we visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridger500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice property. The people are very helpful. Have stayed here several times. Internet works well. Easy to get to all the many restaurants and fun spots of the French Quarter. Quiet. I would have preferred a room with a view of something other than a brick wall - but not a real big deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I normally drive home to Texas during the holidays and this time instead of driving straight in, I decided to stop over in the N.O. since that's a halfway point from Atlanta. I found the Hampton Inn via my AAA membership. This was in December during a college football event which I was totally unaware of and somehow I got a room for a great price that was sold out! (Yaaay Me!) It is just a quick stroll from the French Quarters, great location! The valet parking is right in front of the doors, you pull up give the valet your keys, the bell man whisks right out and puts your luggage on the cart and walks with you to check-in and then walks you to your room (well worth the tip). The parking is included in the hotel bill, which as those that travel to the N.O. know that normally you have to pay separately cash, so the parking was great. However, i did notice that the parking garage that hampton uses is also self-parking for $10 versus hampton's $30 valet charge. But hey, for the service and convenience I got, I'll pay the extra $20.

The room was a very nice size, the beds were amazingingly comfortable and I'm a shower/water pressure fan and that was GLORIUS! The bathroom was roomy, the view was awesome! I had a great time!! AND they had my bigelow tea, oh yes the breakfast available for the guests was nice! The tip (i found out the hard way after i balanced items for 2) is to the your tray that your ice bucket and cups are on so that you can put your food items on there and not look like you're auditioning for the circus. LOL!

Overall i had a WONderful time and got a chance to introduce a "friend" to the N.O. for the first time and there WILL be a 2nd time! I'm planning as I type. :-))

Stay here! You'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

It started out almost a year before this year's mardi gras that we decided to go. I went on a couple searches before setteling on the actual Hampton Inn website because it was a lesser cost. I booked 2 rooms and asked for adjoining suites or at least rooms on the same floor or close together. We got adjoining rooms with 2 queen beds. The rooms were HUGE! The bathrooms were large as well. The BED's were spectacular! Every morning there was breakfast that was delish and they changed it up everyday! The location is superb for Mardi Gras. Bourbon Street crosses Canal St and becomes Carondelet which is where this hotel is located. Close enough to the action but 2 good blocks away so you are not disturbed. There were police upon entry to the hotel to check our wristbands (which we received at registration) to make sure no one not staying there gained access to our hotel. There is free wi-fi and a mall attached to the hotel with a giant food court....this wasn't open during mardi gras but it looked nice! We all agreed that when we go back for Jazz Fest we will be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
676 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $174 - $434
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing