We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenue Plaza Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$333
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$269
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$448
US$409
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$259
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$475
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
311
330
108
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
330
108
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharegarden districtashley housewyndham ownerstrolley stop cafestudio roomtimeshare presentationwyndham resorttimeshare salesmini kitchenrooftop deckwashers and dryersstove topday passfrench quartersmall kitchenettepool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great studio room. Kitchen area was more than adequate for a studio. Small (above sholuder height) fridge, microwave & 2 burner stove. Shower had rain head showerhead. Little alcove off bathroom was a bit of a waste but got the luggage hidden without being in the closet. Resort had a reception on Mon 4-5 which was a taste of a local restaurant. Also had a tour of their haunted Ashley House twice a day. Interesting & free. Wifi in room was a bit slow but not unbearable. We didn't use pool, hot tub or sauna so can't comment. The trolley line was being repaired but they had buses running the same route. Very convenient. Daily bus/trolley pass only $3 or $1.25 a trip. Takes you right down to Canal St.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We spent last week at this resort and enjoyed several walks through the neighborhood, the Garden District, past all the wonderful historic homes. Easy walk to Magazine Street with its many shops and restaurants. And of course, the Quarter! Trolly line was out for renovation while they gear up for Super Bowl, but buses are cheap and frequent. It appeared the entire resort property had undergone a recent renovation...carpets, paint, etc. all were fresh. Mini kitchen was perfect. The staff was friendly and very eager to please.

On Sunday morning, The Cheesecake, one block away, does an incredible buffet. There's a great little diner, The Trolly Stop about 1 1/2 blocks away for great home-cooked breakfasts. Along the sidewalk, between the hotel and The Trolly Stop, sits a man named Mike selling tours. He's friendly and informative and we bought a couple tours from him. Best dinner ever was at Broussards, on Conti Street in the Quarter. Mardi Gras World, and Cajun Swamp Tour are worthwhile as is the WWII Museum. This property is centrally located to everything we wanted to see and do. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CharleyGirl303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Location not too near downtown but also not far away. Plenty of things within walking distance pending what you feel like doing (clubs/bars, restaurants, shops, churches, etc). Cab ride to downtown was around $11, not too bad especially if you aren't from here and do not feel like driving and parking, just take the cab as its soooo much easier. We actually live 30 min from New Orleans and had a mini vacation and still took cabs, just easier.

Hotel has some seriously impressive amenities on site. Pool and hot tub, workout area, game room-ish place (was in the "lounge", and only had a wii and no idea where you got games from? Front desk maybe?), and the aforementioned "lounge" was really impressive with fresh coffee each morning.

Valet service was kind of odd. The guys were super nice and polite, but each room is only allowed to valet one car. So if you are in more than one car, good luck. They recommended us parking across the street but said it would be wise to have the car moved by 8am as that's when the city comes out and starts ticketing. No good. We ended up driving to the casino (Harrah's), parking in garage, playing for 30 min and getting free parking and took cab ($11) back to room.

Right next door is Igor's, a 24 hour bar room, but I couldn't hear one bit of noise from there so no need to worry. Just a heads up in case you want a late night! 1/2 block away is Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, seriously good food!!! Right past that is a Walgreens in case you forgot anything.

The trolley tracks outside hotel were under construction this past week, but odds are by the time you read this, book room, and go, it will all be done.


Rooms were nice and very clean. All sheets were clean and pillows were just fine. Overall pretty nice place in a cool part of town. Def worth checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I like this location on St Charles, it is just far enough out of downtown and the trolley is just out the front door. The rooms a very comfortable and include a kitchen. The staff if very friendly and helpful. They have some great suggestions for close by restaurants and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Full disclosure: I didn't pay for this room, i attended a convention in N.O. with a time share owner. Arrived by car, had to go around the block to wait for a valet spot to open. Valet was quick, though. I'm paranoid about my luggage so i loaded 4 people's luggage on a cart while the owner checked in. Very nice lobby, fast check in. We got a room on 4. Hallways, elevators were nice and clean, lift was fast. Two room suite with *kitchen*, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee pot, dishwasher (and dishes!), and a stove. Opened the blinds, the view could have been better, but not bad. Married couple that owned the timeshare got the bedroom w/big screen TV, 3rd guy got the sofa bed and i brought my bedroll to sleep on the floor (why do i get the short straw on these things?) Plenty of plugins for cel phones, laptop, PS3, and another big screen to hook it to. Bathroom was tiny, but nice. No tub, but big shower, which is where my only complaint comes in, those swing out door for the shower? They never work right, and its not like we were having a group shower (lol), but we got water everywhere. I was usually the last to take a shower, so i mopped it up. Climate control ran like a top, though we had to adjust it when we got there. Very quiet, lots of channels on the TV, pool and hot tub were clean, though i never got a chance to use them. Sundeck on the roof, 12 floors up. No wheelchair access to that, so bear that in mind. Gym was well equipped, didn't use that, either, though. WiFi was bordering on terrible, but still ok. I had my laptop and had trouble, someone else in the party had a Nook and reported no problems, so maybe it was me. At the time of the trip, Dec 1 2012, the street cars were being renovated and not running down ST Charles, so that was sort of lame. Valet was prompt with the car when we left, though the desk crew was a bit slow collecting the parking fee. Good times were had by all, would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room about halfway up facing Downtown or St Charles Street.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hurricane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews