We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cornstalk Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Royal(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Place d'Armes Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
12
18
9
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
9
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchroyal streetyour doorstepsmall hotelbourbon stfresh towelsjackson squarefrench quarterdefinitely stay here againlocation was perfectmardi graskitchenetteclosetblockriverwalkgarage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Rear room smelt damp and unused. Bedding felt damp. No sense of any care or interest in the property by the owners. Needs updating and bringing up to an acceptable standard. The concierge was helpful when needed. The location is good but in all other respects I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rear room dark and dreary. Imagine a front facing room would be brighter and would have the benefit of the road facing porch.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 277gillianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905RoyalHotel, General Manager at Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Sorry u didnt enjoy your stay , you didnt say anything while you were staying with us . We have been in this business 3 generations , that alone specks for it self. All of our guests love the room .have not had any complaints . sorry maybe it was u having a bad day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Leave your expectations behind when you visit the 905. There is no doorman. There is no concierge to speak of. Hell--there is no "pampering" at all! If that is what you expect (or want), take a cab down the street to the corporate digs at the other end of Royal. But if you want some historic funk, and to plan your own NOLA adventure in the Quarter, consider a night or two at the 905. What you sacrifice in "niceties" you make up for in authenticity and locale--Ten minutes on foot to Frenchman Street's sounds. Spill out onto Royal Street itself. Round the corner and up a short block to the boisterousness of Bourbon Street....Leave your preconceived notions behind and give this place a try. AND REMEMBER TO PACK YOUR OWN TOILETRIES--alas, the "funkiness" of the 905 is no more apparent than in the bathroom. Think Motel 6 bar of generic soap. No shampoo....nada. Once you get past that: a bit of old time magic is in the musty air.

Room Tip: Best wifi reception is on the front porch. Set a spell, do some people watching, and take care of that 21st century vice--> the Internet.
Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carole Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905RoyalHotel, General Manager at Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

We are a business many years , pictures of all our rooms and suites are shown . , if is a busy time cabs are hard to get u will need to reserve a cab . day before. and in our bathrooms all of hairdryer soap, tat all hotels use wrap close . we dot have dove soap in our rooms. manger is there at all time , just because u didnt see one doesnt mean there is not anyone around. security is watching at all times .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

The location is perfect! However we stayed for five nights in one of the suites. It was not worth the money .The bed linens were threadbare, mattress badly stained wall paper was peeling off and it had a strange damp smell.

Room Tip: avoid the suites. not worth the extra expense
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank spoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905RoyalHotel, Manager at Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Our suite has no torn wall paper . and our bed linen is not torn unless guest torn bed linen . If so why didnt U ask to have it changed . maid service is in everyday . Our suites are our most wanted room . Also you didnt mention you broke thr bed in the suite , hotel didnt charge you for repair. fixed by our furniture people. We have period furniture, perhaps u dont know what that means .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

This small hotel is in the ideal location. Royal street is relatively quiet , but close enough to Bourbon St. , Jackson Square, and all the standard tourist attractions . The rooms are tastefully decorated and the staff is generally friendly. Housekeeping comes too early and is relatively persistent about cleaning the rooms in the morning. Sitting on the front porch is a delight.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building to ensure a better sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLEWERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905RoyalHotel, General Manager at Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Than you , Please come again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

This small hotel is very nice . It list on its web site the following attributes:Private Entrance, Private Bath, Maid Service with fresh towels daily, Kitchenette with Dishes, Sink & Refrigerator, Coffeemaker, Color TV with Basic Cable Channels,Central Air and Heat.

The private bath was a private shower for our room, they insist on changing the towels every day, The supplied coffee is among the best sold in the stores and is delicious. There is no lobby, lounge or bar but the whole French Quarters is just outside the door. The WiFi was best on the front balcony. The person who greets you is very nice and efficient and helpful.

Our room was nicely appointed, we had a double bed that took getting used to if you have at home a king or queen size bed.

All in all I would go there again. Its located near a corner cafe, and there is a really great cafe on Ursuline street close by. But just relax on the front balcony and do some people watching while you ponder your next activity.

Room Tip: Very decent no frill privately owned boutique hotel. Its all you really need and we loved it.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yves497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews