We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
12
18
9
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
9
7
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This room was in a great location , but that's about all I can say that is good. Smelled of mildew, tiny bathroom too small to put toiletries in, horrible bed and not at all as website depicted. No front desk, no room service and certainly no casino. Our credit card was charged $25 more per night than quoted on hotels.com and at this point is not being refunded by the hotel. If you like a rundown room and hidden fees, stay here!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank DonA1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

the rooms (suites?) are old and shabby. Sheets looked clean but can't be sure when bedspread was last washed. Only place on a tough weekend so we thought it might work. We were able to deal with the less than desirable rooms, but the manager/owner was totally non-responsive. Couldn't get an itemized bill. Checkout time was 11 and our flight was not till 4 so asked if we could leave our luggage. Hostile reply no room and walked away. Never again

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We visited during the first weekend of Mardi Gras (wet and wild). While we have stayed at large chain hotels in the past, we wanted the flavor (and value) of a small independent.
The Royal Street location was perfect, convenient to great restaurants and bars in the Quarter without the drunken crowd scene. To go to Riverwalk, Canal Street, Hurrah's, just jump on the Riverside Trolley, a short walk away.
The hotel is vintage and charming. That means that the bathroom is small, but spotless. The little kitchenette is small but gave us added convenience. The bed is standard size, but comfortable. There were two umbrellas in the closet which was very nice. I spent part of an afternoon sitting on the hotel's front porch listening to a great blues band playing across the street.
There's no parking. We parked in a garage on Rampart Street that was reachable by trolley.
If you want to feel a part of New Orleans, this is an excellent place. If you need space, modern, more amenities, then stick with the name chains.

Room tip: Room 6 was quiet.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 6 which was on the side of the house. The room was big enough for a queen bed, two chairs and two dressers. There was a mini kitchen and bathroom en suite. Shower only. Toilet is super close to sink due to lack of space. Most hotels in New Orleans are small, so I can't complain. The room was clean. Housekeeping was weird. You never knew when they'd be coming and you couldn't decline services. They moved my stuff around the room and I'm not sure why. I locked the suitcase ahead of time due to other reviews. I'm glad I did. Nothing went missing though. Great porch and back garden. We sat on the porch a lot, drank and enjoyed a lot of music and people watching. Hotel is in a safer area. It's removed from bourbon street so it's pretty quiet.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ibflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I stayed in a small room here. It is not as convenient to use as some of the larger hotels as there is no front desk and the room was really small, with old, creaking floorboards but it has character that many people would probably prefer. The location couldn't be better for exploring the french quarter -- there is a coffee shop down the road to relax in during the day and the street seemed very safe. The porch would be great for watching parades. The decor was attractive.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews