We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Handy Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We booked Staybridge Suites in New Orleans for a post cruise stay in New Orleans during the week of March 10-13.
At the time of the booking we were thinking of the very positive experience we had staying at Staybridge Suites in
Albuquerque, New Mexico. We assume the Staybridge in New Orleans is a "makeover" of a previous hotel.
It was nice, the room was large and did have kitchenette. Though we were on the top floor we had no real view except
of other buildings in the area. There is a pool but the weather was too cool to have had a chance to use and there was
no jacuzzi. Breakfast was passable similar in quality and choice to a Holiday Inn Express. We had experienced there evening social at the one in Albuquerque but unfortunately this particular Staybridge only offered it Tu-Th.
The good news was we were within walking distance of the French Quarter and most of the popular attractions(especially the restaurants)of New Orleans. We also took advantage of the trolley which goes along the river and up Canal street.
You can buy a day or 3 day pass. The day pass we purchased for $3 ea. was helpful in getting around but wouldn't be especially useful if you were pressed for time or if it had been very humid/hot. I don't believe the trolleys are equipped with air conditioning, just a fan where the conductor sits.

Room Tip: We had what they referred to as a "studio" and because we were as high up as this building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    287
    83
    31
    35
See reviews for
200
196
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilman, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I can't remember desk staff at a hotel that were more genuinely pleasant and helpful. They truly made us feel like welcomed guests.

It was a short cab ride from the Amtrak station to the hotel. While we were in New Orleans we walked to the French Quarter, Riverwalk and the Harrah's Casino. At the end of our stay there we walked six blocks to the Julia Street Cruise Terminal. It was an easy walk on a Sunday morning. (the street name is pronounced - chop i two' lis, it's American Indian)

The room was clean and spacious. We had a view of Harrah's and the cruise ships when they were in port. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good with a nice variety. We made use of the bring-one/take-one book exchange. The ATM near the front door was secure and convenient. I would have liked one of those folding luggage racks for our suit cases.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escape5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

New Orleans is known for its party spirit and the Staybridge is close to the heart of it all. However, the location on Poydras is just off the beaten path allowing for an escape to a quiet place. Still in walking distance of the French Quarter, the Staybridge is clean, comfortable, and affordable. The outdoor pool is small but has a lot of character. The full hot breakfast is wonderful and the staff are courteous. Parking is extra, but that is the case at every hotel in the Quarter. Housekeeping is by request during short stays, which I like since I'd rather not have people in my room unless I ask them, so the option is nice.
Anything you need is nearby with a couple blocks of easy walking. Trolley stop, Riverwalk Mall, French Quarter, Cruise Terminal...its all there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaLaR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were pleased with our stay at this hotel. It's a few blocks from the French Quarter, so you have fun within walking distance but not at the expense of noise and foot traffic. Parking was $30 a day but it is in a closed garage, which we appreciated, and there weren't a lot of other options. The staff was very friendly, even if they did recommend a restaurant to us that doesn't actually exist anymore. (We spent almost 30 minutes walking around trying to find it.)
Downside: we got a 5:00 am wakeup call we didn't ask for.
Upside: the staff apologized profusely and comp'd our parking.
This is a good pick for hotels in New Orleans. It's definitely one of the better deals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharr, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

A+++ for location, place and staff.
Failing grade as far as billing . My stay was pre-paid and almost 3 weeks later they charged my credit card for $189.00. Filed a dispute, hopefully they will reverse the charge. My advice, please keep an eye on your credit card statement for few months when you stay in this hotel. Seems like they wait for some time to charge your credit card so customer will not notice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preetsingh8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Property: Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): $136 - $403
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing