We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sunday Morning Experience”
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #51 of 1,868 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Commander’s Palace for the jazz brunch and and enjoyed impeccable service and the artistically presented food. We were greeted outside by a jazz trio that I hoped would wander inside during our brunch but did not.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank TravelingMamaGlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (9,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 9,701 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the oldest old school Garden District restaurants- definitely one that should not be missed! The Fried Oysters with horseradish remoulade are a revelation!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank 954hollyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

I ordered the curry shrimp and was very disappointed with all of it. The shrimp was way overcooked and the vegetables were hard to cut, even with a knife. The waiter was continually trying to sell more alcohol and never let up even after 2 more “no’s.” The round table in the corner booth was not flat and the bowls, plates, and glasses all leaned and were ready to fall over. The table was a square table with fold up wings to make it round and it was defective. At the price of this food they should have a proper FLAT round table, not a broken convertible. There are way too many good restaurants in New Orleans to ever have to visit here again. G. W. Finns has superior food, better service, and flat tables; go there instead.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank oscartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021

My wife and I were seated next to a large party that was very loud. The had almost finished eating so we didn't ask to be moved, which was our mistake. The wine kept coming and they just got louder. Now we know why they were put in a corner out of the main dining area. It ruined what has always been one of our favorite restaurant experiences. Also, the service was disjointed. We ordered a bottle of wine and when it was brought to the table the server said that it needed to chill for a few minutes. At that point we were forgotten and had to flag the waiter down to serve it. The menu was more limited than I remember from other visits to Commanders. The staff is courteous and friendly and we will always go back when in New Orleans but will never fail to asked to be moved when seated next to very loud people.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RMJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

Outstanding food and service was impeccable. Expensive but entirely worth it. Dress code made it a bit more special and they made us feel special. Very happy that they did some nice touches for my wife’s birthday.
Overall - simply the best

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank neilemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.