We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid poboy - a New Orleans must”
Review of Johnny's Po-Boys

Johnny's Po-Boys
Ranked #24 of 171 Quick Bites in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Johnny's po-boys is definitely a New Orleans gem. I went twice during my recent trip - first for a crawfish poboy and second for the muffuletta. What's great about Johnny's is that they're not trying to be anything special, they know exactly what they are. They have solid po-boys and a huge menu at that. It's a crowded place that can sometimes take a while to get your sandwich, but it's worth the wait. The muffuletta is beyond phenomenal. Their olive tapenade spread for the sandwich is out of this world flavorful - having more than just olives (carrots, etc.). They really do the muffuletta justice - the best I've ever had for sure.

Don't sit next to the table that's one door down from the restroom in the back though - that's where they put the big garbage bags throughout the day. We sat down and noticed a puddle of garbage water and had to move before our purchases from a day of shopping around the quarter got ruined.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,189 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2015

We went here based on the reviews, and were sorely disappointed. After waiting in a long line, we received 2 dry po'boys and 2 drinks.....and it cost $40!!

This place is a typical tourist trap......tourists come here and wait in a long queue, pay high prices, for low quality food, at a dirty cafe. Sandwiches at chains like Subway or Pret are much better quality than this place.

There are so many good restaurants in New Orleans, don't waste your precious time here!!

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank imi138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We were recommended to eat here and didn't know what to expect. Small place with few tables and long lines that moved fast. Had the Shrimp Po-boy and gumbo. They were excellent! The only reason I knocked off 1 star was that the place seemed a little dirty, which I guess could be expected because they have a constant wave of customers. Glad I had the chance to eat here.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Ariel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the French Market Inn and didn't want to go far for breakfast. One morning we had a plate style breakfast with eggs to order, potatoes, bacon and grits with biscuits and the next morning we had a breakfast sandwich with egg cheese and sausage. They were both amazing. (They use quite a bit of butter on the grill so keep that in mind) They are very reasonably priced and very hearty portions.

Thank Tracie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2015

If the lines at Cafe du Monde are blocks long, check out this place for breakfast. Great coffee. Grilled biscuits (yum). Really low prices with nice-sized portions. Good, basic food. We found it based on the recommendation of a local. It's a hole-in-the-wall, and seating is limited, but you won't regret it. Use the middle door to enter. Order at the counter.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StLBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Johnny's Po-Boys also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Po-Boys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.