We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in beautiful gardens after a long day at Tikal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente
Ranked #4 of 12 El Remate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed in Villa #4 which is the highest on the hill which has a lovely view of Lake Peten Itza. Our wonderful hostess, Jessica, wisely suggested that we should walk down to the dock across the highway to view the last 20 minutes of the sunset. and it was spectacular. The setting of the hotel is truly great. The grounds are immaculate. The flowers and shrubs are so abundant and varied it betters some the named botanical gardens we saw in Belize.

We are from Colorado, and unused to high humidity, so we found it best to have an A/C equipped room even in the supposed "dry" season. Please check the availability of hot water when you check into your room rather than waiting until your retire as we did. The water heaters are on timers, and due to some power outage problems, our suite and also that of our traveling companions did not have hot water at appropriate times. Also the pools had not been cleaned and as far as we could tell do not recirculate, so we decided not to use them even though they looked so inviting. We got there too late and left too early to get to see the peafowl walking around the grounds, but we saw them in their pen.

Four of us spent one night there and there was only one other couple there at that time. We all had dinner and breakfast together in the open-air dining room/reception area. The food was delicious. Jessica and her staff were super accommodating and were really sorry for the hot water inconvenience. Overall it was a great experience in a boutique nature hotel. BTW, I was told by our guide that the name of the hotel has to do with the Resplendent Quetzal, the national bird of Guatemala and important in Mayan mythology.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I've been coming here with my family since I was a kid and it remains the nicest hotel in this tegion with it's comfortable air-conditioned rooms, beautiful garden, magnificent view of the lake and big swimming pool.
Jorge and Nancy are wonderful hosts and have accumulated a life's worth of jungle experiences and anecdotes.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Nancy and everyone at Hotel La Mansion Del Pajaro Serpiente went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating ... from helping us plan our trip to Tikal, to advising us on local buses, to making sure they served us food that was tasty and to our liking. No problem at all cooking vegetarian for me. Price is very reasonable too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Like the other reviewers, we also appreciated the beautiful lake views and the restful location.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CdnTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We stayed in Villa #4 and enjoyed the sunset over Lake Peten. It's high on the hill so the view of the lake was great!
The owner and his staff were ready for us and very accommodating. They offered us a different room at the same price to accommodate our kids which was really nice. We played in the pool after a long drive from Rio Dulce. It's really deep and the rocks were fun for my kids to jump off of!
The rooms are not fancy. Bring some ear plugs because there are nearby dogs and roosters that were antagonizing each other for a good part of the night. But they were very clean.
The breakfast is minimal so don't count on a breakfast. But it was good.
We enjoyed the attention of the owner, especially their pug Dolly who made the hotel feel like home. Our boys missed our pugs!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived during a downpour of rain and received a warm welcome. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was the same price as other aircon rooms. It was a tough hike up to the room with steps and grass but you are rewarded with a beautiful view of the lake with total privacy and its own pool. The gardens are very well kept and you can the see the owners take great pride in the grounds.

The room had a 4 poster bed, a single bed, 2 couches, table, chairs and a fridge so it was very comfortable. However there was no hot water or WiFi. For this reason I don't think it was good value for the room. You could get a better deal. I would highly recommend staying in El Remate when visiting Tikal as you get to swim in the beautiful lake and there are a few good restaurants. It is peaceful and very easy get a taxi or shuttle to the ruins, less than a half hour drive.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EireCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Remate
1.4 km away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#2 of 4 in El Remate
259 reviews
27.7 km away
Jungle Lodge Hotel
Jungle Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
713 reviews
28 km away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#1 of 4 in El Remate
47 reviews
22.3 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
365 reviews
4 km away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente

Address: Main Road, El Remate 17022, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > El Remate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in El Remate
Price Range: $102 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Mansion del Pajaro Serpiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Del Pajaro Serpiente Hotel El Remate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing