We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
147
40
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
40
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunting lodge hot tub front porch charcoal grill black hills open room met john custer state park brewed coffee cool night cozy cabins mickelson trail queen bed two blocks the main drag large porch ceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My sister and I stayed with Ann & John for two weeks, using Custer, SD as our home base for several activities in the area. We climbed Crazy Horse Monument, Black Elk Peak, attended the annual Buffalo Roundup and walked many trails in Custer State Park, all convenient drives from the Shady Rest Motel. With the extended stay, having a kitchen available allowed us to be most comfortable without having to eat every meal out. Newly refurbished, quaint pre WWII image, just a couple blocks off main street yet tucked into the side of a hill, we found this the perfect place for our stay. Ann & John are great resources for activities, places to eat and shop and are well thought of by the volunteers at the Custer Visitor's Center. Reasonable price, personal attention and no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Talk to Ann about number of steps you are willing to enter your cabin - they are all different.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Belva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Traveled to South Dakota mid September 2016. Spent 2 nights at the Shady Rest. Very nice owners. Older property. Nice and comfortable cabin. Enjoyed our stay. Would stay again. Not a cookie cutter property.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jenanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is a great place to stay if you are wanting to see the black hills. Its close to lots, the cabins were clean and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The rates were great too. And there are several good eating spots a stones throw away

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 49kfrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay with John and Ann at the Shady Rest. We stayed in The Lodge again. The space is great, clean and comfortable. Ann & John are great hosts. They are extremely accommodating and have the best suggestions for hikes and spots that get you away from the crowds and are not typical tourist spots!
When we stay here we feel like we are staying with beloved family members!!
Thanks once again for the great hospitality, conversation, and the new variation of cribbage you taught us!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tawarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Interesting place, convenient to downtown restaurants. Cabins are very small and baths are smaller. If it was just my wife and I it would have been fine, but we also had my mother in law who has mobility issues. The stairs to the cabins are significant and not always level or of even height. The proprietors were great and very helpful with dining and finding attractions. My only real complaint personally is our shower hit me low in the chest and there wasn't enough room to back up and bow. I am 6'3".

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins up the hill. Easier access and newer.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mannesspga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews