We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
6
17
11
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
11
9
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Looked at the reviews below and was a little concerned about going to Garni Pramstraller - but pleasantly impressed.
Rooms were very spacious & clean
Breakfast was good, dinner at Hotel Rose great
wifi could be better - 20 euros per item is expensive - we did without - but new Penken lift has free wifi available
No problem with security - hotel has a door code, rooms have individual keys, several security cameras around the hotel
Hotel reception was often unmanned - but didn't bother us at all.
It did quite a long way to walk to the Penken lift with skis but the bus stops outside and the train station is only around the corner.
Would recommend

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 746pauline1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The wifi was super slow and had weak signal. It was €20 for one device! (which they don't tell you at reception) I realized this after using the wifi code in my phone and really needed it for my laptop. They really need to sort this out.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WNCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

The "garni" is only breakfast, which was adequate though the juice machine and coffee machines not good.

We slept the whole week on the fold out couch as the mattresses were so old and lumpy, we had no choice.

The bathroom was large and clean and lots of hot water. The threadbare towels were changed daily, despite the notice saying twice a week. The bed sheet was also threadbare. The reception is manned only a couple of hours a day. No facilities apart from a coffee machine and soft drinks machine which dispensed unappetising drinks.

The main gripe is that we were expected to eat at the nearby Berghof hotel. It had a special menu for Pramstraller half board guests that can only be described as abysmal.

Tinned carrots, tinned sweetcorn, tinned green beans and beetroot made up the salad buffet. The main course was equally uninspired. No bread unless you paid for it, likewise the tap water. All this served (on the first night) by a sullen waiter who suffered personal hygiene issues. The other two days we ate there were improved upon by a different waiter, though the food remained poor.

The Neilsen rep did an excellent job of dealing with this issue, which apparently is a recurring problem.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolSad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed in Guesthouse Pramstraller for a week during the Altitude Comedy festival.
The good points were the central location and rooms were clean but that's about it.
Biggest negative points were very limited breakfast choice (mainly just different type of breads, cheese and cold meats) and they didn't consider special diets at all.
I can't eat dairy and there was scrambled egg made with milk every single day. I asked if they could do just a fried egg so I could have some choice but answer was no!

Also, being a guesthouse in a ski resort, they didn't have any facilities to dry soaking wet snow boarding boots, gloves etc. There is a room where you can leave your skis/snow boards and space to hang up the boots, but the room was cold and nothing dried in there. I tried to pile all the wet boots, clothes etc on the radiator in our room but that was only lukewarm and nothing dried overnight...

There is no wifi at the guesthouse (not very common in Austria anyway as we found out). You can buy "hotspot" internet connection for 20€ for a week and that's for one device only.

So not too impressed and definitely staying somewhere else if I come to Mayrhofen again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravellersWifeToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

After initial disappointment in finding out that the images on the Neilson website were of the 'Pramstraller Hotel' rather than the 'Garni Pramstraller' (this has now been updated), we were pleasantly surprised with our stay!
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a quaint little balcony. Although stated that the towels would be changed twice, we received fresh towels 6 out of 7 days! There was a safe in the room that could be hired for €10 (plus €20 deposit) and a TV that had British channels as well as local channels and a live webcam of Penken and Ahorn mountains.
The breakfast at the Garni Pramstraller was a lot better than the reviews on trip advisor led us to believe. There were hot and cold drinks, meats and cheeses, cereals, breads and suspicious scrambled egg. Although the breakfast got a little repetitive, it was very enjoyable and perfect for what you needed before a long day up the slopes.
The location of the hotel was perfect, just a 10 minute walk up to the Penken cable car, although this was sometimes a struggle carrying skiing gear. Alternatively, the hotel was also very close to a bus stop which dropped you off outside the cable car stations.
Après ski was a little quieter than we expected but there were plenty of good restaurants and bars to spend the evening in.
Overall, we would highly recommend the Garni Pramstraller and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Mayrhofen.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lorna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews