We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$323
US$261
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apart Central(Mayrhofen)
US$221
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apart Hotel garni Therese(Mayrhofen)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Apart-Garni Alpevita(Mayrhofen)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
39
35
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
35
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ski bus stopproper barthe food was absolutely deliciousswimming pool and saunaevery nightski rooma lovely family run hotelwifi servicefree wifithe main hotelminute walkgreat facilitiesclean hotelnice saunaboot roomother guestsa great week
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I'd like to break this review into 2. The first being the resort and then finally the hotel.
The resort and ski area of Mayrhofen is excellent, A very good retail area and plenty of bars and cafe's. My favourite was the New York nearer the bottom of the street.
The ski area is vast, however it was very busy as we had just hit the start of the half term for Holland. Sadly, we had to wait at times for 10 to 15 minutes to get onto a chair lift. Otherwise a very comprehensive ski area including the notiorious Harikiri which is steep so be warned.
The Hotel Strolz is positioned approximately a 10 minute walk to the main Penken lift, a bit longer if you're carrying ski's. The hotel is not that large,but is clean and modern. The rooms where always kept clean however I did have an unpleasant odour from the pan in my bathroom. Perhaps the bathrooms could have had an update but the cleaning staff did keep them spotless.
However, the food in my opinion was not equal to the previous reviews posted here on TripAdvisor. I am one who will eat and try most dishes, I am not a person who expects english food when away but I do expect food to be of a certain quality and with some taste. Alot of the dishes were bland, over cooked, badly planned and not a representation of Austrian Cuisine. Some of the food produced and in particular what looked like pasta tubes but was solid was not cooked and was served up two days in row. The soup sometimes had no resemblance to the menu, and the less said about the stir fry vegetables from the wok the better.
Would I stay here again, in all my contributions on tripadvisor this my first neagtive review.

Room Tip: ask for a westerly facing room
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Eclipse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Our third visit to Mayrhofen at about five-year intervals, staying in different hotels each time. The main difference this year is the new Penken telecabin, which replaces the notoriously crowded cable-car and has virtually eliminated queues. Hotel Strolz is a good family-run hotel in a quiet area of the town. As in most Austrian resorts, the lifts are best accessed by a free ski-bus - the stop is about 100 metres from the hotel and the service operates every 15 minutes. Strolz bedrooms are typical of mid-range Austrian hotels. Excellent ski-room with heated boot-racks. Good sauna-suite. Swimming pool is probably too large to heat adequately in winter and was too cool for comfort. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff. 4-course dinners, hot and cold breakfasts, all of good quality. Glutin-free meals were available on request. After a hard day's skiing, 3rd-floor guests appreciate the elevator! We enjoyed the company of other guests of various nationalities, though the guests' lounge is somewhat lacking in atmosphere. A disincentive to returning to Hotel Strolz might be the lack of a reliable (and free) WiFi service, a complaint echoed by other guests. Unfortunately, it is essential that we maintain frequent email contact, even whilst on holiday, so it was easier to visit nearby bars where reliable free WiFi was permanently available (WiFi also available in Information Centres, various mountain restaurants and even in the Penken telecabin). We suggested that guests would be more inclined to spend their evenings drinking Hotel Strolz's wine and beer if WiFi were provided, the profit more than covering the meagre cost of providing the service. Other than that, Hotel Strolz will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrianlegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Great choice for a skiing week with 5 friends. Rooms large and clean enough. Food top class and service friendly. Best sized ski room I've seen in a long time, with heated racks for your boots. Good sized pool, with sanua. Only draw backs, not that close to the lifts, but we had a car and no proper, although do serve drinks in the lounge. Would go back.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Hotel is great. Its one of Mayrhoffens first hotels and as such boasts some great original features. It has all the things you would expect - pool, large lounges and restauraunt, spa, sauna, games room, parking etc. Staff were very welcoming. Rooms were a nice size as was the balcony. As a 3 star I'm very impressed. We preferred this over the resorts 4 star options. It sits on the edge of the village but is still strategically a 2 min walk from the shops. Ski lift is a bit more of a walk but courtesy buses are a 60 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: High and a corner room for double balcony space and a good view ;-)
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MadhouseMyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We arrived late, and the hotel owner is used to this. They prepared a plate of cold meat and cheese for us. Fantastic. We had a room in the annexe, which is only a couple of minutes walk to the hotel, so no problem. Food was of good quality although not very Austrian. Breakfast was plentiful and the continental breakfast was fantastic, and there was bacon and scrambled eggs which made some British guests very happy. Room was quite big and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Supershape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews