We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, but....book direct, not through Inghams or Iglu Ski”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Post
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is one of the main hotels in St Anton, very central, but is still family owned.
Service stands up to anything I have experienced around the world. Good bar, spa/pool and food was very good throughout - we held a family dinner for 12 and they gave us a great private room near the bar.

What really hits you is the consistency across all of the staff members and they really co-operate. My wife broke her leg unfortunately, but the staff did everything they could to help and make her stay comfortable, nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are not the largest but very clean and comfortable, Good TV choice - bring your own DVD's.

This then brings me to the travel companies - what a contrast of excellent service vs none!.

I made a real mistake booking through Iglu - they add a margin/ cost to the holiday but add no value or service, passing it straight on to Inghams.

With Inghams this was the second year we have booked through them. Last year the Chalet was oversold (price vs facilities). This year we found out post booking that we were with them again - the real issue was the lack of co-ordination between them and Austrian Airlines on their charter flight. Going out all we wanted was to book an extra bag but it proved an impossible request, as did the desire to take our own ski's.
On the return the Insurere paid for an extra two seats for my wife's broken leg (clearly we had already paid for two), this ended up in a "fawlty towers" type situation on the flight when Austrian chose to ignore all of the booking paperwork.
The inghams rep approach to an injury on a skiing holiday is to pass all responsibility to your insurer ASAP.

This was a £1600 per head one week ski holiday, we were reminded "you have paid for the hotel quality", apparently we should expect poor service on everything else!. We needed no in report assistance given we knew St Anton probably better than the rep, but some level of help with the injury or flight could have been expected!

Room Tip: Back rooms Quieter. If you want a double make sure you confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank shamus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postalber, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your comment. Best regards from the hotel Post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017

This hotel was very nice with a fantastic location in town. We got the half board package, which I highly recommend. The food was incredible and I liked having our own table in the dining room for our whole time there -- although it did make it difficult to eat with friends staying at other locations. Hospitality was excellent and the room was a large, well-kept corner room on the top floor -- which was great for privacy, but the warm water took awhile to reach us when we wanted to take a shower and our room card often did not work properly. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymae9394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postalber, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest! Thank you for your comment. We will check the points mentioned and try to solve this problems for the future. Best regards from the Hotel Post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I loved the space which Hotel Post has a lot; Spa area, lobby/living areas, dining room and room itself. Delicious dinners and breakfasts served with smile! It is great to have live music in lobby area - quiet, sophisticated way. The feeling of hotel is elegant in old timeless style - the service is also better than usually nowdays.

Room Tip: Our rooms were so called "Galzig zimmer" - big ones, very good equipment and style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

What a fantastic trip! We were a group of 16, and we could not have been better looked after. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, and we were always greeted with a friendly smile. We were made incredibly welcome.
Our family room was huge, with an enormous bathroom, and thankfully two basins! It was kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping. Great skiboot room, with heated racks and ski lockers, and easy access to the slopes. Lovely pool and sauna area, great bar with comfy sofas and a live singer.
The food was fabulous, from huge breakfast buffets with something for everyone, to the 7- course Gala Dinner, amazing! We will return!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 16 and had booked with different travel companies. The experience was absolutely fantastic for us. The rooms were excellent and truly five star. The staff were so friendly and looked after us so well. The service in the restaurant was particularly good and we were kept topped up with the 7 double magnums we consumed over the week. The food was fantastic and the highlight for me was the lamb with sprouts and truffle polenta. It was cooked to perfection and delicious.

Well done to all at The Hotel Post you made our stay truly unforgettable. Thank you so so much. We will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postalber, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Mr. Russel, thank you very much for your comment. We always try to serve you and your family as best we can to make your stay as perfect as possible. Thank you for beeing our Guest for so many years. Thank You. We look forward to Welcome you again in the Post. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
208 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
1.3 km away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
296 reviews
0.1 km away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Walter-Schuler-Weg 2, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $251 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream vacation: highest 4 star comfort, directly in the village center of St. Anton and next to all lifts and slopes. Enjoy exciting holidays: from active sports to total relaxation in our Relax Center to excellent culinary delights from the local and international cuisine. Half board includes an extensive warm and cold breakfast buffet, daily afternoon snack as well as a 4 course dinner with 3 choices of main course (special diets catered for) and daily salad,- starter or dessert buffet. Our professional Sommelier offers competent, friendly advice when it comes to picking the right wine from more than 15.000 bottles. Relax in our indoor pool, bio or Finnish Sauna, salt water or aroma steam bath, in the infrared cabin, hot tub, in our meditation room with water beds or in our sund bed or at a massage. To finnish a wonderful day in St. Anton enjoy a drink in our cosy hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Post Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing