We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
28
18
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
18
7
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Nice landscapes in Austria, great opportunities to do nice trips, too bad that exists on planet Earth such rude and unpleasant people like the owners of Aloisia. We paid in advance our trip, but the madam and her idiot husband after 1 and half our after we arrived, on an aggressive manner have told us that if we don't like their marvelous establishment and their outstanding dishes better to leave and search for another place. Not a single word like "wellcome ", even if we speak German from the beginning. I strongly recommend not to visit such a pension. Never come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

We usually ski in France every year but, decided on a change and after reading reviews of this place, thought we were in for a treat...unfortunately, not the case. The crystal ski rep was USELESS, we literally got dumped by the side of the very busy road and made to locate and find our own way to the hotel unaided and without directions other than a pointing finger and a grunt, considering we had our 6 year old boy with us, I found this disgraceful. Arriving at the hotel we were met by a very stern looking woman who, it turned out, was our supposedly 'very friendly hostess' according to reviews. She proceeded to direct us into the hotel and abruptly uttered her directions and instructions and left us to it. The rooms were very warm, very clean and comfortable but, no real storage space so ended up living out of the suitcase. Our room was facing the main road and although i'm a light sleeper, still couldnt hear anything from outside, so peaceful nights followed. You are allocated a table in the dining area for the duration of your stay so you could feel 'isolated' if you're very sociable and like a good natter. The food is NOT suitable for children as it is EXTREMELY spicy (even the kids from mainland Europe struggled to eat it) but still very tasty, if you don't mind that and if you can forgive the parsley (which i don't like) which is scattered over EVERYTHING including some deserts...honestly. The drinks are very expensive so be careful what you order. The breakfasts are far better and there is plenty of variety albeit typically European with lots of cold meats and cheeses and some lush bread rolls, all tasty and filling and a selection of lovely yoghurts, fruits/nuts and cereals. The hostess was very cold and made NO attempt to interact or socialise with guests whatsoever, it sometimes felt more like a Stalag than a hotel. The hotel is perfectly located but, there is an EXTREMELY BUSY road to navigate before walking the additional couple of hundred yards to the lifts. There is some underground lockers for storage of skis just yards from the main gondola, next to the underground garage and toilets, which is ideal and only costs €1 per night. The village is very charming and has nice surrounding walks and a lovely cake shop which, if you take the shortcut through the fence as you exit the hotel to the right, is just at the top of the hill, well worth a visit if you're staying here. All in all, it was a decent skiing holiday and if you book you will have a reasonable experience apart from the hostess, which is why I have only given 3 stars. Frau needs to work on her attitude and hospitality.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

This is our third stay here and hopefully lots more visits to come. Perfect location, the ski lift being a five minute walk away, a walk to the village takes about 10 mins. The rooms are clean, comfortable, cozy and a good size. The rooms at the back are quieter though. Although not a big choice of food, what is served is straight off Master Chef, just delicious. Aloisia is always helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have been skiing in France, but mainly in Austria for the last 24 years. We have mostly researched our accommodation, but decided to use Crystal the last couple of times.
This Pension is situated about 50 yards back from a very busy through road with coaches and trucks. So quiet position and
full of small Austrian village charm it is not.
You have to cross the road or use a low underpass and walk about 10 minutes to the ski lift area.
Previous comments about a friendly host make us feel we went to a very different pension. We were handed our keys and that was it at arrival.
The food was tasty, but the hostess didn't indulge in conversation with anyone for any length of time.
If you are an odd number party - let's hope the third member is a child under 10 years old, or you will be squeezed into a normal sized double room with an extra bed but no place to hang your clothes or ski clothes.
Our Crystal rep was not really helpful, so read all the small print and then take your chances.
I know what we would do in future.

Room Tip: Go as a couple or be disappointed
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kobus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Background
We stayed in Pension Aloisia in Scheffau for a week in February as a base for our snowboarding holiday. We booked this through Crystal ski after spending quite a bit of time looking through different resorts and different accommodation for weeks before settling on this area and this accommodation due to the size of the piste area and the reviews I read on tripadvisor of Pension Aloisia.

Pension Aloisia was fantastic.

Appearance
Outside, the accommodation doesn't look that different from any other chalets/pensions we seen - although my wife particularly liked the "uprooted tree planted upside down" with heart's hanging around it for Valentines day (we assumed) at the start of the week and Easter/Spring things hanging around it for the start of Spring at the end of the week.

Inside, the accommodation was really clean and nicely decorated. The rooms were a decent size, very clean and ample room to cast aside snowgear at the end of a day. There was a tv with a plethora of stations (in German) if that's your thing There was no refrigerator in the rooms, but outside on the balcony was cold enough for keeping the beer and water sufficiently cold. The shower was great with no shortage of hot water at the peak times (in the morning, around 5pm, or at night), and the bathroom was really warm with the radiator in there. The main room was well-heated as well - I think the staff turned the radiator off when they were cleaning during the day, but that was a blessing as it would be sweat-inducing when coming in from traipsing your snowgear otherwise.

The boot room/ski room was kept cleaned and the boot rack was heated too which was a nice touch!

Location
Location was great for proximity to the main gondola to the top of the Scheffau ski area. As someone else noted, it's across quite a busy road (although you can go under the bridge and not have to cross the road), and then through two carparks but this is only a 5 minute walk.

Distance to Scheffau the village was a little further - approximately a 10 minute uphill walk. It's quite a nice walk too - also, on the final day (after the ski pass had expired) we went for a nice walk around Scheffau in the nearby forest (there were some intriguing Austrian relaxation/meditation stops along the walk, but couldn't speak/read German to find out what they were) and up towards a lake.

Amenities nearby
Scheffau the village has about 3 or 4 pubs and a similar (if slightly) higher number of restaurants as well as 2 ski shops and a Spar - but if you're eating at Aloisia you won't need these for much other than alcohol. On the final day, after our walk we ate in the Pizzeria Donatello after checking out the menu's up in Scheffau. It was delicious! If you are waiting around on the final day with no Aloisia food this is definitely a good place to go!

Food
We stayed at Aloisia on a half-board basis and thankfully the food at Aloisia was really great. Breakfast was a buffet style affair with eggs (hidden in a basket), lots of breads (with toasting facilities), lots of spreads (nutella, jams, honey, cheeses, etc.), cold meats, cheeses, cereals, cereal bars, fruit juices, coffee/tea. Standard fare, but that's what you need for breakfast.

Dinner was the stand-out for the both of us. Every evening was a 4 course menu (5 if you include a side salad about half the nights). The menu for the evening was posted up in the morning on the inside of the door to the dining room so that you could ensure you didn't get the same thing for lunch that day. The starter's were usually soup-based, and there was always a dessert. The 2 "main" courses were a variation of delicious Austrian and european meals from weiner schnitzel, roast half chicken, rosti cakes, pizza, pork medallions, etc. Most of the meals were new to me having never been to Austria or Germany before, but they were consistently fantastic!

There was a good draught beer on tap in the dining room, a weizenbier bottled option, and house red and white wines. We didn't taste the house white, but all the rest were really good. There were various non-alcoholic options as well - try Almdudler, Austria's 2nd most popular soft drink - taking the fight to Coke!

Hosts
Aloisia was the main point of contact for us when checking in and out, and during breakfast and dinner. She was a great host! My German is almost non-existent (I did try) but Aloisia seemed more than happy to converse in English when we needed information. The evening we went to Innsbruck for the bobsleigh run, Aloisia kept food late for us and 2 other people no problem. The food that evening was as good as the other evenings!

Some general winter sports related points about the area and accommodation...

Apres Ski - We went to the village pub twice for Crystal events and another I can't remember the name of in Scheffau, and a couple just by the bottom of the piste. Warning for any party animals, these places are better for a quiet drink (except for around 3-6pm by the pistes) than for a big apres ski night out.

Bobsleigh - We went on a crystal ski trip to Innsbruck to do the 1964/76 bobsleigh run - it's shoddily run and expensive but actually well worth a go!

Surprise drink of the holiday - Try the Weizenbier mit Cola/Sprite/Limonade. I was sceptical being a beer aficionado, but it's hard to beat at 1.30pm after your ski lunch. It's probably 95% beer but makes you feel like you're taking it safe nonetheless.

Awesome lunch of the week - On the skiwelt piste map restaurant number 43, near the right 66 red run there was a fantastic outdoor BBQ-style place where we got a chargrilled pork chop in a bap (steaksemmel)! We meant to go back to try other thing's, but I would recommend it on that one steaksemmel alone. It was reasonably priced, and only reasonably busy, rather than crazy like other places at 1.00pm - I think it's due to being beside just that one run than for any other reason. Also, there are only a few seats inside, so go on a warm day where you will happily sit outside like we did!

End of day thigh destroyer - The snow wasn't great when we where in the skiwelt area but the amount of snow cannon's and overnight work of the snowplougher's kept things in good shape, until around 2.30pm or later down to Scheffau. That run was a killer in the afternoon with ice sheets and hefty moguls, but to be fair, when you got down to the end you were glad to be calling it a day, and the weizenbier in Sternbar was all the sweeter!

Holding out for a skier - Snowboarders; Keep your speed up on 65a as there is a horrible flat just near the lake at the start of the run. Otherwise it's walk of shame, or doing your best puppy eyes at passing skiers for a wee push/pull/stick!

Insider information - This should be obvious but keep an eye on where the ski/snowboard instructors queue for lifts. They work there for months and months and know the best runs/pistes/safe off piste areas, but more importantly the quickest way to get through the turnstyles and on to a chairlift.

Technological wonder - Go on http://www.skiline.cc/ticket/skiwelt and enter your lift pass number to see how far you have ski-ed/boarded each day, what runs you have done, how long you've waited on dern queues, etc.

Technique critique - I heartily recommend skischulle Scheffau. We both spent 2 hours/day Mon-Weds and it was well worth it. Great explanations, technique critique and general pearls of wisdom from some jovial snowboard instructors.

Main area's for a good day worth of runs were:
- day over towards Ellmau,
- day around Scheffau, and over towards HochBrixen
- day over towards Soll.

We didn't bother to head over to Westendorf due to the reports not being great, but we did make the trip past Ellmau to Going. It wasn't worth it - especially for boarders. The hellish ice road of 100d is best avoided!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews