We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveller rating
327
610
292
59
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
610
292
59
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room basic hotel rooms are clean ceiling fan within walking distance small fridge front desk staff stayed here for one night shops and restaurants older hotel short stay close to the airport per night air conditioner the big island location is great alii drive
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Top floor room was a dream! Loved the view. Did the “included” breakfast, well worth it!
Didn’t use pool, in fact they had to close and drain because of chemical reactions from the volcano.
Would stay there again next time I’m in Kona

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank altendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Mahalo for your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We spent a night in Kona as part of a week-long vacation. The Kona Seaside Hotel was a great mix of reasonable price, good location, very friendly staff, and clean comfortable rooms. There are several wings of the hotel, we were in the main tower and had a 5th floor room (top floor) with partial ocean view which was lovely. While not a luxurious resort, this hotel offers charm and authenticity. We didn't use the pool - it's fairly small and located near the street, though behind a tall wall. The location is terrific, easy to get to from the highway and mere steps to downtown Kailua-Kona. Easy walk to Hulie'e Palace, the old church, the Kamehameha Heiau, and lots of shops and eateries. The associated restaurant Splashers Grill has a nice open-air dining area, though it has a bit of a sports bar vibe.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floors of the tower with partial ocean views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamiekravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the value and convenience of our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

There are a number of large hotel choices along the bay. We chose this one because it was close to the sea and a few restaurants. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel but its an easy walk to the breakfast restaurant nearby, although the choices (you can choose from 3) in the standard menu got a little monotonous by the end of our stay. Rooms were basic, with a balcony overlooking the sea but well cleaned and everything worked fine. Air-conditioning was available but we preferred the ceiling fan only during our stay. Front staff are friendly (mostly) and the pool was nice. It's not the Ritz but perfectly fine, a clean and tidy hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view and on the higher floors as it can be noisy lower down
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

They keep this motel spotless- I mean, like as clean as your mom’s house, that level of clean. It’s a little bit older building, but they have taken great care of the place. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are clean (did I mention they clean up a lot?), and the staff is helpful. Great location on the corner. I heard the parking is pricey, but I didn’t drive so I don’t know for sure.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing your valuable feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel last
minute when my yoga retreat was cancelled. There is free breakfast and they have bikes for guests to use and they are walking distance to the ocean and restaurants but they are also next door to several parking lots that are cleaned every morning with a leaf-blower that is impossible to get away from - you can hear it in your room, in the lobby, by the pool...and because the guest rooms overlook the pool, it seems that some guests like to have conversations with their family from the 5th floor to the shallow end. Definitely bring ear plugs.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Degan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Kona Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews