We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kona Tiki Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$203
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)
US$150
US$125
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ohi'a Park Estate(Kailua-Kona)
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,139
US$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
228
142
39
9
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
142
39
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea wallconch shellscrashing waveslight sleeperno tv or phonenice continental breakfastcoffee and juiceceiling fanother guestsevery morningno elevatorsmall kitchenettethe big islandair conditioningold hawaiisalt water poolfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We stayed at the Kona Tiki for 5 nights in April and were completely satisfied. Not only did they work with us to rebook our February dates that had to be changed due to illness, but also they recommended great activities including the best Manta Ray snorkel. We left my contact lenses and a swim suit bottom at the hotel and they mailed them to us fee of cost. The views of the ocean and sound of the waves were the highlights of our ground floor room. This is not a fancy place but so close to everything in Kailua-Kona that you can walk. I would highly recommend it as a hotel to use as a base to really see and experience this area.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank deeanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you back at the Kona Tiki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights in April. The hotel property is small and compact. The waves splashing is truly charming but very annoying when your trying to sleep. We had to keep the windows open as there is no A/C and the room smelled a bit musty. Being right next to the ocean, it's going to be damp. I don't think that carpet is the best choice for floor covering given the dampness. Once we got some ear plugs and air fresheners, we were fine. Just a side note, the bathroom must have been remodelled at some point because the toilet has been relocated and sits about 12 inches from the wall. I mention this because if you're tall, like me, you may have to sit on the toilet side-saddle "0)

The breakfast is admirable. They really work hard to make it nice. The Sun Set at the hotel is spectacular! It's located about 8-10 min walk from the action in Kona. We found walking much more convenient as Kona is very congested and parking in town is tough. The hotel parking is tight too but we had no issues with parking at the hotel (we had a mid sized car). Overall, for the price, you can beat the location and view. It is very charming once you get in the mind-set.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Marchi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, Manager at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review ... it is very true that there are pros & cons to being steps away from the ocean and Ali'i Drive! We apologize that your room was a bit musty - our housekeepers work hard to keep the rooms clean and fresh, and we will continue to work on that aspect. Thank you so much for staying with us and experiencing the Kona Tiki mindset - we are so glad you enjoyed the breakfasts, sunsets, and proximity to Kona, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Kona Tiki Hotel. Every room there has a great view. We were able to walk right out our back door on the first floor and right up to the sea wall. We thoroughly enjoyed the views as well as feeding the fish and the eels. The managers were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is older but it added to the ambiance and character. It was nice to have a continental breakfast included.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank KLSkillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, Manager at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Mahalo, KLSkillz, for sharing your experience at the Kona Tiki with other people and for taking the time in doing so. Speaking of eels, lately we have had a baby eel join the morning feeding, and this absolutely beautiful orange, spotted eel, with a fluorescent, green stripe down its tail has wowed the guests. The dolphins have been in our bay almost on a daily basis for the past couple of weeks, as well. All part of the Kona Tiki experience, as is sharing each day with our guests like you. Blessings, from the Kona Tiki Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Had an awesome visit. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay..

Paul and Donna Maria (the managers) work hard to make everything perfect and special. Mary Lei (relief manager) was so friendly too!

The housekeeping department (Tonya and Cynthia) kept our place spotless.

They have almost everything you could imagine needing to borrow to take to the beach.

The place was noisy from the waves, but we knew about that and brought ear plugs. Our lanei was only about 25 or 30 feet from the ocean.

Ignore the parking issues mentioned here, we never had a problem and if the lot was full more parking was nearby.

Even thought there wasn't air conditioning we were always comfortable.

One day the ocean waves were splashing over the sea wall into the pool while I was swimming......it was so cool. Where else are you this close to the ocean :)

The breakfast is basic but very good. Fresh fruits, toast, bagels, coffee and juice, perfect.

I understand why so many people return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonInKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, Manager at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much, Ron, for your warm review and for taking the time to share your experience at the Kona Tiki. Our guests and staff are the heart of the Kona Tiki, so thank you for sharing your heart and journey with us. Blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This apartment was the best of our USA holiday. It was large and comfortable and well stocked by owner. Good under cover parking. The view over the ocean from the 2nd floor was fantastic to wake up to. It was a few miles out of Kona but was not a problem with a car. A lift was available at one end of the building.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank amandyczewsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager m, Manager at Kona Tiki Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We appreciate these kind words and 5-star rating; however, we are confident this review is for a condo complex. We are a hotel with rooms overlooking the ocean, but no apartments, nor under cover parking are part of the property. We are a mere .8 mile from town, as well, but thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews