We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Big Island Retreat(Kailua-Kona)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$154
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1,095
US$949
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf crashingsecond bedroomceiling fanwhalesacrockslanaiunitislandocean
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We have stayed in #301 numerous times. What a wonderful place. The owners are updating it constantly, with new linens and up to date furniture and colors. The locationis fabulous, you couldn't be any closer to the ocean. The whales are great to watch along with the spinner dolphins and sea turtles. The sunsets cannot be beat. I would highly recommend #301 at the Kona Nalu, Kona, Hawaii The lanai is the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youandmeinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in unit 105, managed by Abbey Vacation Rentals.

We loved the location--right on the ocean!--close enough to hear the surf crashing all night long when we slept with our patio doors open. We ate every meal on the lanai to enjoy the ocean view. We could walk to a nearby small beach (a short but tricky walk over some lava), perfect for kids, and one afternoon 4 big turtles swam with us for about 3 hours. They were so close that they occasionally bumped into us while swimming. Wow.

We liked the decorating scheme, and the furniture was all quite comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked, and we really appreciated having sand toys and boogie boards and beach towels included. (One suggestion: it would have been great to have a portable crib--I imagine other families would really appreciate having this as well.)

Our big complaint was the general grunge. The condo had been cleaned as well as possible, and we didn't see any bugs. But either the unit was getting old, or corners were cut in the building process. The 2nd bathroom had lots of mildew; paint was flaking off of the lanai table and chairs (pretty yucky when the kids tracked that into the condo); the keys to the pool were unnecessary because the locks were rusted out; the pool shower had become detached from the fence and was hanging at an angle; etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Julia290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed here in April 2008. All the pics show is the gorgeous view, and a fairly nice living and master. What they don't show is a horribly old and outdated tiny, closed-in kitchen overrun with ants everywhere and god knows what else. Then if you have CHILDREN BEWARE, many unsecured cabinets holding insecticides, toxic paint cans and many other harmful products. Shouldn't all this be stored off site or locked at least? Front bedroom is way far from master which is connected to the lanai. It is right beside the parking area with an easily accessible window . I could not put my child that far from me and moved a bed next to ours. Sunquest was an absolute nightmare to deal with. There was a note upon arrival saying the cabinets had been repainted that day!!! The fumes were unbearable, and I was pregnant besides, and my mother has asthma and Sunquest thought this was fine??!!!! Just awful...I have seen other updated units in this complex that had removed kitchen walls that changed the layout and had everything updated. I wish we would have seen them before...The only nice point was a bit of sand for some beachcombing outfront with our 4 year old was fun and the view was really nice. We saw dolphins one day and whales. I would say any other unit here might be better. Just research!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My wife and I recently returned from a week at Kona nalu unit # 302. The property is about 3 miles south of Kailua Kona, so far enough away to be quiet, but very conventient to downtown shopping, etc.

The complex sits on a small beach, with a reef right out front where turtles could be observed feeding in the mornings. The lights of Kona are visible from the deck, and sunsets are perfect!

The complex is relatively small, with only 15 condos. Each condo is enormous though, with expansive decks, and is very clean and well maintained. Each one is decorated by the owner, so I cannot comment on other units.

Unit 302 was very well furnished, with light fabrics and carpets, and very complete linens and kitchen furnishings. In addition, beach chairs, umbrellas, and a cooler were all available to borrow from the unit.

The rate was comparable to other units in the area, and we both feel that we got a lot more than we paid for. This was our 6th trip to Hawaii, and by far the best condo we've found.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mgershenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia J, Owner at Kona Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews