We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Beach, keep driving”
Review of Magic Sands

Magic Sands
Ranked #19 of 86 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Just before noon, this little in - city beach was packed. Not near enough room to enjoy yourself. We were lucky to find a parking spot across the street, but had to contend with traffic. We moved our party further up the coast, where we could spread out for sun and fun (Hapuna).

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great beach"
in 62 reviews
"body surfing"
in 49 reviews
"boogie boarding"
in 54 reviews
"lifeguard on duty"
in 29 reviews
"white sand"
in 36 reviews
"disappearing sands"
in 14 reviews
"big waves"
in 27 reviews
"close to town"
in 20 reviews
"playing in the waves"
in 9 reviews
"tiny beach"
in 9 reviews
"volleyball court"
in 9 reviews
"volleyball net"
in 9 reviews
"shore break"
in 13 reviews
"popular beach"
in 10 reviews
"wave action"
in 11 reviews
"nice sand"
in 8 reviews
"alii drive"
in 17 reviews
Filter

115 - 119 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

We parked down the road and walked back to the beach. I think the parking lot was closed for some reason. Life guard on duty. The waves were big and fun. Nice sandy beach, but not real big. Was a little crowded, but we found space. I don't think there was anything for sale there, so bring whatever food, drinks, etc. you might need.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Kona is not known for its beaches because of the old lava presence; this beach sports some sand and decent swimming spots. Surf was up while we were there so lots of surfers riding the waves provided us beach dwellers plenty of entertainment.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

If you want to swim, don't come here. It is a place to surf and watch surfers when the surf is up. There is good shade on the beach, but it is very small. Park across the street.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank IslanderOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

I love all beaches but this one has a resident turtle that likes to chill with all the swimmers. it really was magic.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Tyzanabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Sands also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Magic Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing