We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really cool fun activity”

Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel
Ranked #33 of 295 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ali Drive
Transit: Ali'i Drive
Description: Guests of the Island Breeze Luau will be amazed with a display of authentic Polynesian activities, cuisine, and performances. Island Breeze Luau, located in right on the edge of the ocean of the King Kamehameha Hotel is rated the best lu'au on the Big Island by kama'aina (local residents)visitors and travel writers. The luau begins with a lei greeting and picture taking. An open bar, arts and crafts await you. The imu (traditional underground oven) ceremony, is also a part of the exciting beginning to your Island Breeze ohana (family). There are many ways to participate in the luau activities: weave a coconut frond, learn how to open a coconut, learn the art of hula, get a Polynesian tattoo, and take the time to meet and talk to some of the performers.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

they had an open bar, umi with the pig! lots of food and all well labeled. The only complaint about the food is that it was too salty. my feet swelled up from the salt from the food. everything even tasted too salty.

good stuff - they had a guy putting sharpie tattoos, flower bracelet making, pictures being taken, and dance lessons before the big show started.

everyone gets a shell lei and sit facing the ocean. you can watch the sunset right from your seat. it was warm but it's summer! so of course it was warm. the show was fabulous!

Thank krs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect, but we were glad we came. It was a bit commercial and tourist driven, but it was a good sample of Polynesian dance and culture. There was a real pig, cooked underground so that felt authentic. The food was decent, but you had to make sure you got what you wanted early on or lose out. We watched the show and the performers were very good. They performed dance and song from Hawaii, Tahiti, New Zealand and Samoa. Last was the fire dancer, he was captivating too. All in all, we enjoyed the luau!

Thank Queen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Aloha we are so pleased that you enjoyed the lūʻau. Mahalo for your review and feedback on how we can improve in the future. Your comments have been forwarded to our management team so that we can continue to improve and meet the needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We were a family of 4 adults and 3 kids. The guy greeting us with leis was gruff and tried to pressure me into buying $10 leis for my in-laws. When we said no thank you, he tried to make me feel guilty! We showed up 35 mins late and all the kids activities were packed up and gone. As for drinks, the mai tais were horrible. They tasted like syrupy punch and maybe had a drop of cheap alcohol in it so we tried a glass of white wine. I swear they diluted that too. The food was lukewarm and below average. The desert tasted like it came out of a box. The only good thing I can say about the evening are the dancers. They worked hard and were entertaining but the show still could've been more elaborate. we spent $645 plus $35 for two photos. It still hurts to think about all that money wasted when I would've had a much better time strolling along the beach with a hotdog.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janchip24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

I'm so sorry that your experience was unlike the hundreds of others we receive such great comments about. Unfortunately, showing up late to any event will usually alter the overall feeling for the late arrivals. We apologize for your disappointing experience.
Mahalo,
Jak Hu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

It was my second luau. It made us feel like a part of the celebration. Good food and amazing preformers, MC was especially entertaining!

Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

While visiting the big island of Hawaii our family went to the Luau at the King Kamehameha hotel. Their theme was "Ohana" (family) and showed traditions of the the islands of the Pacific. The food was pretty good and we all had a great time.

Thank Nazsnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Mahalo for sharing about your evening at the lu'au. 'Ohana is one of the important treasures we have in Hawai'i and we are so glad you were able to meet and learn about the members of our 'ohana from throughout Polynesia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau at the King Kamehameha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing