We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "new place" to stay on the big island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We rotate around the islands every year, we have gotten to know the owners of the different condos we stay at each year on the different islands. Our Big Island "retreat" we had always rented in the past was sold a few years ago and had gone downhill. We had been looking and talking to owners of different properties ever since (we are kinda picky). We got a good feeling talking with Bev and seeing the picts of the condo and theoverall property. Well we got there and were not disappointed! We have found the place we can come back to year after year on the Big Island. This is a great property and beautiful condo. You can tell the owners have put care into taking care of it. The floorplan worked perfect for our family of 4. Everyone had space, everyone had a view. We were there from June 27 through July 13th and didn't want to leave. The ceiling fans with the windows on both sides brought through the island breezes nicely and was very comfortable inside. The wraparound lania was super. Everything in good working order, comfortable showers (and a great looking jacuzzi tub, although we didn't use it). The seating was very comfortable, I loved sitting in one of the recliners and looking out at the ocean. Kids loved running down to the pool and did so each day. The property upkeep is done very nicely. One thing I did notice while on property, they have condos and townhouses there. We looked through a couple of the townhouses and they felt very small and cramped to us as compared to the condos. We looked through a few of the other condos while we were there and even if it was not a corner unit, or penthouse unit, they all seemed nice.Very nice "pavillon' area outside the pool, it's covered and has great wireless reception. Only good things to say about this condo, it's owners and the overall property. We will be back!

Room Tip: Do your homework and ask questions. Like I said above, I did not like the townhouses (well at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank knickersquatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

hands down, this is the best place to stay in kona. we rented unit 186, it was clean and comfy and had an AWESOME view of the ocean. our breakfast table was about 10 feet from the water. the bed was great, the kitchen was well stocked for cooking, and it was so nice to have a washer/dryer.

we liked walking to the outrigger for sunset and the nearby farmers' markets made cooking very easy (and inexpensive!). we couldn't have been more impressed with our hosts lists of recommendations and all of the snorkel equipment, coolers, etc available to us.

my boyfriend and i stayed here alone but our condo would have been great for a group of friends or family.

our only complaint was that the ocean is super loud at night. now that i'm back in chicago i miss it but i longed for earplugs while trying to sleep one night before an early dive trip. you may want to bring some if you plan on early morning outings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is a well-kept group of condos in a quiet area away from the bustle. There are several historical sites on the property, with plaques of explanation. Our unit was immaculate and comfortable, and the owner and management were very helpful.The pool was perfect. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seniorhiker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Keauhou Surf and Racquet Club, exceeding our already high expectations based on reading the previous reviews. First and foremost the location was right at the surf's edge, as advertised. Second the unit was not just spic and span clean but was built to stay that way for the duration of the visit. Third the level of amenities including extras like snorkel gear and condiments was top notch. Lastly the resort is well situated and managed, we were barely aware of our neighbors. Really no negatives unless a background of surf pounding and bird chirping is not your cup of tea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 2 week Hawaiian vacation. This was our favorite place! We love the ocean view and sunsets plus the sound of the waves against the lava coast line was soooo relaxing. The unit was clean and the property well maintained. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
8.3 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
8.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.4 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,618 reviews
7.1 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $165 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing