We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay in Unit #197”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed in this unit in late June. My wife and our two teenagers found this unit to be very spacious. The ammenities are all very much up to date and with two full baths we never got in each other's way. It is a very private unit with a short backyard that literally borders on the ocean. The resort is in a great location. Not far from downtown but not close enough to realize the town is there. Just up the hill (<1/4 mile) is a modern shopping center with a great grocery store and several good restaurants. Once again, you wouldn't know they are there from the resort. All you see is ocean and shoreline....

If you like to hear the sounds of the surf at night, this is the place for you. The furnishings are quite unique including wall hanging that looks like a volcano erupting when you turn on it's neon light. (see attached photo)

Our hostess, Sandy, was very accomodating and a pleasure to work with. You can book directly from her website at: http://kona101.com/.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our condo, 3-204, was a wonderful 2 bedroom on the end with a wrap around lanai looking out over the ocean. It had all the amenities in the unit for cooking or relaxing on the beach. The master bedroom, with king bed is very comfortable. There are two bathrooms and the unit is very spacious. The units do not have air conditioning, but overhead fans provide a breeze. In addition there is an outdoor pool, bar b que, and as the name says , tennis courts. There is a washer and dryer in the unit, a shopping center nearby and a snorkeling beach with turtles within half a mile. There are other great snorkeling sights on the south end.
It is a short drive into town, about 7 miles.
We have stayed at the Surf and Racquet club before, in a different unit, and returned because we like the surroundings, it is peaceful but close to south coast happenings. For some the downside would be lack of sandy beaches. But those can be reached within a short drive.

Room Tip: Suggest Oceanside to take advantage of the view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lopezbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was our first time staying in Unit 2-203 at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club, and it will not be our last! This unit has to be one of the best in this resort, truly a home away from home. The unit was tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, no mold, moisture or bug issues. The king sized bed was very comfortable and we loved being able to fall asleep to, and wake up to, the sound of the crashing waves each day. The huge private lanai is really right on the water's edge and what an amazing view! We spent hours just enjoying the sunsets and breakfast every morning on the patio was great. Just a short 5 minute walk to the right of the unit is a great little natural beach, while it wasn't an ideal place to swim, it was a great spot to see turtles! We can't wait to book our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Y6560KZbrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This unit is one of the best at the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Resort. The owner, Sandy is so very accommodating to our every needs. The photos on her rental listing does not do justice to what you will find. The patio and lawn area is really right on the water's edge. We spent hours just enjoying the sunsets and breakfast every morning on the patio was great. Just to the right of the unit, is a walking beach. While not a swimming beach, it was a change from the typical lava rock coastline that is Kona and was a great spot to see turtles. We saw turtles every day! A reserved parking spot is assigned to unit 197 and it is just steps from the doorway. When we come back to Kona, this will be the unit of our choice. Thanks Sandy for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The condo is exactly how the pictures show it: very spacious,well maintened, very clean, huge wrap-around lanai, well equipped kitchen, beach stuff provided (towels, umbrellas, snorkeling equipment, chairs). Being on the last floor it has the advantage of having cathedral high ceilings that we loved. Very well positioned: close to one of the best snorkeling beaches, close to stores, restaurants, short drive to Kona, good base to explore all the nice beaches and resorts on the Kona and Kohala Coast.

Easy instructions for check in and check out! The only sugestion: motion sensored light outside the door! For people arriving after dark, like us, it is a little bit challenging entering the mailbox code to retrieve the key to the apartment. Luckily we had a small flashlight that made the job easier.

The whole resort is very nice, quiet, the grounds are well maintened. We loved the view and the songs of the birds.

I would recommended it to all my friends for a stay on the Big Island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7LAE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
8.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
0.8 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
6.7 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $170 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing