We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Looking and Stay Here! Building 1, Unit 101”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 13 January 2017

After countless hours of searching I decided on this property for our family vacation and could not have been happier. We booked through VRBO and C.J. Kimberley Realtors. The rental process was easy and the booking agents very professional.
The moment you arrive at the Surf and Racquet club you feel yourself start to relax as this lush property is so beautifully landscaped. This unit is ground floor, oceanfront and at the end of the building. I was also looking at a townhouse but found this unit so much nicer. The view and privacy is unbeatable! Your parking spot is right out front and the barbecues are there too in a covered patio area with tables and chairs.

We are a family of four - two adults, one 20 yr old and one 18 yr old. This was our first trip to Hawaii from near Toronto, Canada. We arrived Dec. 23rd and stayed through Christmas and New Year's. There was a grocery store only 5 minutes away with everything needed and the condo itself was well stocked with spices, condiments and Kona coffee. Planning to tour the island, the coolers, freezer packs, beach towels and beach umbrella were a welcome addition.

It was warm in Keahou during our stay but with the windows and doors open we were always kept comfortable by the ocean breezes. The King size beds were also very comfortable so everyone slept well.
This location was a great base to tour the island from with easy access to Ali'i drive (the road that runs along the ocean and into Kona) and the belt highway #11 from Ali'i Drive and Kamehameha III Road.

Here's a list of some of the things we did while staying:
- awoke in paradise to the sound of tropical birds
- watched the sunrise and set over the ocean from the lanai
- spotted whales, kayakers, paddlers and boats
- walked the beautiful property and enjoyed the lovely and very private beach
- barbecued steaks while talking to other travellers doing the same
- attended Christmas Eve church service at Mokuaikaua - Hawaii's oldest Christian church
- shopped at the Kona market, downtown Kona, Keauhou shopping centre, and many others outside of Kona
- dined at Sam Choy's, Peaberry and Galette, Splashers Grill, Kona Brewing
- scuba diving trip with Jack's Diving Locker
- manta ray night snorkel with Hang Loose Tours
- snorkelled at Kahaluu Beach and "Two Step"
- toured Pu'uhonua O Honaunau
- luau at Sheraton Kona
- seahorse farm and octopus farm
- volcano/waterfall helicopter tour

We also drove to Waikoloa, Waimea, Hilo, Kilauea and Mauna Kea. Our only regret is not having more time to relax and enjoy this beautiful property. I hope to return and will recommend this vacation rental to everyone I know.
Stayed: December 2016
Recommended for: Family (lots of space and things to do)
Business (wifi, close to highways, easy drive from airport)
Children (lots of space, pool, beach,)
Romantic getaway (beautiful tropical surroundings, private)
Solo (relaxing, wonderful view, private)
Culture (close to several historic sites, art galleries and entertainment in Kona)
Couple (relaxing, wonderful view, private)
Shopping (nearby grocery, markets in Kona, exclusive shops in Waikoloa)
Groups (gathering areas around barbecues, pool, etc..)
Adventure seekers (diving, surfing, helicopter tours, cliff jumping)
Friends (has everything)
Activities (manta ray night snorkel, diving, snorkelling at two step and Kahaluu park, cycling if you rent bikes, shopping at the Kona Market, dinner or luau at Sheraton)
City recommendation: Yes (Beautifully well maintained grounds and location right on the ocean with easy highway access and not too far from Kona for nightlife and restaurants)

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront corner units like #1, 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank AdventureLizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

In invited my sister and her husband to discover Kona for 12 days in early December 2016. They wanted waterfront, I wanted a full kitchen and a quiet comfortable place to relax so we ended up choosing the Surf and Racket Club. The waterfront, lanai and pictures of the inside of the condo made us choose our particular unit. What we found ended up being better than in the photos and the resort worked perfectly for us. We're into food and were pleasantly surprised with kitchen supplies and set up. Also lots of privacy both inside the condo and outside. Rooms are well laid out and the building was the last at the end of the road so noise. Not many people when we were there so we did not run into or were affected by neighbours. It rained a lot during our trip but we had all our meals outside - why go to restaurants when you can eat better, higher quality, cheaper and in a much nicer environment like here?. Our mellow after dinner time was also spent outside, listening to the waves crashing (not cars or party crowds). Very quiet place, clean and with beautiful landscaping, which is what we wanted. We were treated to a 30-min show of whales breaching right in front of the unit on our last morning. Gardening appeared to start very early each day but it did not last long and was easy enough to ignore. The condo was used as home base and we traveled the entire island during our stay. If you're self-sufficient and can generate your own fun and holiday, this place is perfect for you! Would go back there in a snap for this kind of trip.

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite, more space and more quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

RAVC ‐ KEAUHOU‐KONA only maintains buildings 8 and 9 and does not own the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. They told us that they were in the process of updating all the units but that did not help us as we were assigned an old unit. All the glowing Tripadvisor reviews about Keauhou Surf and Racquet Club units do not apply to RAVC, no ocean front units. Ours was a timeshare exchange for our Diamond Resort points, a poor trade for us.

Most telltale sign about this RAVC is the converted broom closet as check-in reception area.
Housekeeping try hard to keep unit clean.
Dated unit with no AC, small bathrooms, no shampoo and conditioner, rust outside of bathtub, no big pots and pans in the kitchen.
Major construction/remodeling began after 8am weekdays from next door in unit 9-105. Very loud sawing and hammering noise forced us to leave our own unit.
Rat droppings, 5-inch long body island rat as uninvited guest. Notified the receptionist who delivered couple of huge rat traps. We set the traps and trapped one big rat that very night.
Microscopic size ants in the kitchen are common on all Hawaiian islands.

Room Tip: RAVC KEAUHOU KONA Building 9-104 unit is old, due for remodeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FW_CVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We just stayed in unit 4 the week for December 26, 2016-January 2, 2017. We had a family of 4 (my husband, 2 young adult children and myself). We loved the location. We felt it was very centrally located for what we wanted to do. The unit is definitely oceanfront. It was 47 steps from the lanai to the water (yes, I counted). The unit is comfortable and has all the amenities needed (beach chairs, towels, snorkel gear, boogie boards and ice chests). The master bedroom has the best view and sounds of the waves. We feel asleep and woke to that wonderful view and sound. We enjoyed our morning Kona coffee on the lanai watching the waves and even saw several whales. It is about a 15 minute drive (depending on traffic) to downtown Kona. There is a shopping center close by. One of the best snorkel beaches in Kona is within walking distance. It is a 2 hr drive to Hilo or to the Volcano National Park.

We would recommend this condo to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is Oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrwife109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We just arrived at the Kona Surf and Racquet club and have been here less than 24 hours. During that time period, we have been scolded by management for simply letting our child use his longboard skateboard to ride from the condo to the beach. He religiously stops for cars and stays out of their way. We were told that there is a rule at the Kona Surf and Racquet club that RECREATION IS NOT ALLOWED. If you have children, unless they prefer to spend their time inside on the IPad, this is probably not the place for you.

I will say that the accomodations were very pretty, but zero air conditioning (and it is hot). As for surf, you will need to drive if you want to get to any surf or bodyboarding - or even swimming for that matter.

We saw a few 6 year olds with their family using new razor scooters they got for Christmas. They were simply going from one end of the property to another with their parents. We asked about this and were told that that was also forbidden and if we see them we should let management know immediately.

We also noticed a location behind the tennis courts with strict signs saying this is a sacred spot - do not enter. Then in the morning we watched the groundskeepers walking around in that space spraying herbicides on the sacred spot. Pretty obvious they just didn't want people on the lava rocks.

This place would be great if they would lighten up. As long as the kids are respectful and stay out of the way, there should be no problem. I completely understand the position the staff is in being required to enforce the rules - perhaps the management making the rules needs to embrace a little bit of "Aloha."

Room Tip: Don't bring your kids here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
8.3 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,258 reviews
8.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.4 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
1,619 reviews
7.1 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: S$165 - S$297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing