We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$216
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$195
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$132
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Four Seasons Resort Hualalai(Kailua-Kona)
US$1,235
US$949
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
320
98
36
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
98
36
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsthe big islandgated communitybeach towelsgrocery storeceiling fans in every roomend unitboogie boardssnorkeling beachesevery eveningkahaluu beachgreat snorkelingsound of the wavesvacation rentalliving roommaintained groundstile floors
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

In invited my sister and her husband to discover Kona for 12 days in early December 2016. They wanted waterfront, I wanted a full kitchen and a quiet comfortable place to relax so we ended up choosing the Surf and Racket Club. The waterfront, lanai and pictures of the inside of the condo made us choose our particular unit. What we found ended up being better than in the photos and the resort worked perfectly for us. We're into food and were pleasantly surprised with kitchen supplies and set up. Also lots of privacy both inside the condo and outside. Rooms are well laid out and the building was the last at the end of the road so noise. Not many people when we were there so we did not run into or were affected by neighbours. It rained a lot during our trip but we had all our meals outside - why go to restaurants when you can eat better, higher quality, cheaper and in a much nicer environment like here?. Our mellow after dinner time was also spent outside, listening to the waves crashing (not cars or party crowds). Very quiet place, clean and with beautiful landscaping, which is what we wanted. We were treated to a 30-min show of whales breaching right in front of the unit on our last morning. Gardening appeared to start very early each day but it did not last long and was easy enough to ignore. The condo was used as home base and we traveled the entire island during our stay. If you're self-sufficient and can generate your own fun and holiday, this place is perfect for you! Would go back there in a snap for this kind of trip.

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite, more space and more quiet
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

RAVC ‐ KEAUHOU‐KONA only maintains buildings 8 and 9 and does not own the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. They told us that they were in the process of updating all the units but that did not help us as we were assigned an old unit. All the glowing Tripadvisor reviews about Keauhou Surf and Racquet Club units do not apply to RAVC, no ocean front units. Ours was a timeshare exchange for our Diamond Resort points, a poor trade for us.

Most telltale sign about this RAVC is the converted broom closet as check-in reception area.
Housekeeping try hard to keep unit clean.
Dated unit with no AC, small bathrooms, no shampoo and conditioner, rust outside of bathtub, no big pots and pans in the kitchen.
Major construction/remodeling began after 8am weekdays from next door in unit 9-105. Very loud sawing and hammering noise forced us to leave our own unit.
Rat droppings, 5-inch long body island rat as uninvited guest. Notified the receptionist who delivered couple of huge rat traps. We set the traps and trapped one big rat that very night.
Microscopic size ants in the kitchen are common on all Hawaiian islands.

Room Tip: RAVC KEAUHOU KONA Building 9-104 unit is old, due for remodeling.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FW_CVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We just stayed in unit 4 the week for December 26, 2016-January 2, 2017. We had a family of 4 (my husband, 2 young adult children and myself). We loved the location. We felt it was very centrally located for what we wanted to do. The unit is definitely oceanfront. It was 47 steps from the lanai to the water (yes, I counted). The unit is comfortable and has all the amenities needed (beach chairs, towels, snorkel gear, boogie boards and ice chests). The master bedroom has the best view and sounds of the waves. We feel asleep and woke to that wonderful view and sound. We enjoyed our morning Kona coffee on the lanai watching the waves and even saw several whales. It is about a 15 minute drive (depending on traffic) to downtown Kona. There is a shopping center close by. One of the best snorkel beaches in Kona is within walking distance. It is a 2 hr drive to Hilo or to the Volcano National Park.

We would recommend this condo to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is Oceanfront
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrwife109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We just arrived at the Kona Surf and Racquet club and have been here less than 24 hours. During that time period, we have been scolded by management for simply letting our child use his longboard skateboard to ride from the condo to the beach. He religiously stops for cars and stays out of their way. We were told that there is a rule at the Kona Surf and Racquet club that RECREATION IS NOT ALLOWED. If you have children, unless they prefer to spend their time inside on the IPad, this is probably not the place for you.

I will say that the accomodations were very pretty, but zero air conditioning (and it is hot). As for surf, you will need to drive if you want to get to any surf or bodyboarding - or even swimming for that matter.

We saw a few 6 year olds with their family using new razor scooters they got for Christmas. They were simply going from one end of the property to another with their parents. We asked about this and were told that that was also forbidden and if we see them we should let management know immediately.

We also noticed a location behind the tennis courts with strict signs saying this is a sacred spot - do not enter. Then in the morning we watched the groundskeepers walking around in that space spraying herbicides on the sacred spot. Pretty obvious they just didn't want people on the lava rocks.

This place would be great if they would lighten up. As long as the kids are respectful and stay out of the way, there should be no problem. I completely understand the position the staff is in being required to enforce the rules - perhaps the management making the rules needs to embrace a little bit of "Aloha."

Room Tip: Don't bring your kids here.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

My family and I have stayed six times at the racquet club in various units. We found them all to be good quality and we always stayed in the oceanfront. The sound of the surf hitting the lava rocks was a good way to fall asleep. Quiet and past the town, and only ten minutes to Kona. It worked very well for our stays.

Room Tip: oceanfront are nice
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews