We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$159
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$187
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Islander Inn(Kailua-Kona)
US$125
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$94
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$839
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$941/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
321
97
36
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
97
36
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsthe big islandbeach towelsgated communityend unitboogie boardsgreat snorkelingsound of the wavesvacation rentalliving roommaintained groundssnorkel gearshort drivealoha condosblack sand beachground floorevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My two adult children and I spent a wonderful week at KKSR. Owner Lauralee's directions to get to the complex and into the condo were very complete and easy to follow.
The condo was very spacious and wonderfully equipped. The kitchen was very roomy and provided all necessary tools, appliances, etc. I appreciated the various spices and condiments left by other renters. We used the snorkel equipment, boogie boards, chairs, noodles and coolers. There was even a collapsible wagon to haul all the beach stuff if needed. The beds were quite comfortable. The lanai was huge and I enjoyed sitting out there with my coffee each morning. It was also nice to have multiple drying racks for our damp towels and swimsuits. Thanks for providing binoculars and a Hawaii Revealed guide book.
The condo is less than half a mile from Kahaluu Beach Park, which has some very nice shore-based snorkeling. There is a KTA supermarket very close by for easy grocery shopping. And the condo is just a few miles from Kailua-Kona for restaurants, etc.
The unit faced the ocean and the reserved parking space was directly in front of the building. The unit was also far enough away from Ali'i Drive that there was no road noise at all, just the sound of the surf.
I would definitely recommend unit 1-202 at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank justme856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

After countless hours of searching I decided on this property for our family vacation and could not have been happier. We booked through VRBO and C.J. Kimberley Realtors. The rental process was easy and the booking agents very professional.
The moment you arrive at the Surf and Racquet club you feel yourself start to relax as this lush property is so beautifully landscaped. This unit is ground floor, oceanfront and at the end of the building. I was also looking at a townhouse but found this unit so much nicer. The view and privacy is unbeatable! Your parking spot is right out front and the barbecues are there too in a covered patio area with tables and chairs.

We are a family of four - two adults, one 20 yr old and one 18 yr old. This was our first trip to Hawaii from near Toronto, Canada. We arrived Dec. 23rd and stayed through Christmas and New Year's. There was a grocery store only 5 minutes away with everything needed and the condo itself was well stocked with spices, condiments and Kona coffee. Planning to tour the island, the coolers, freezer packs, beach towels and beach umbrella were a welcome addition.

It was warm in Keahou during our stay but with the windows and doors open we were always kept comfortable by the ocean breezes. The King size beds were also very comfortable so everyone slept well.
This location was a great base to tour the island from with easy access to Ali'i drive (the road that runs along the ocean and into Kona) and the belt highway #11 from Ali'i Drive and Kamehameha III Road.

Here's a list of some of the things we did while staying:
- awoke in paradise to the sound of tropical birds
- watched the sunrise and set over the ocean from the lanai
- spotted whales, kayakers, paddlers and boats
- walked the beautiful property and enjoyed the lovely and very private beach
- barbecued steaks while talking to other travellers doing the same
- attended Christmas Eve church service at Mokuaikaua - Hawaii's oldest Christian church
- shopped at the Kona market, downtown Kona, Keauhou shopping centre, and many others outside of Kona
- dined at Sam Choy's, Peaberry and Galette, Splashers Grill, Kona Brewing
- scuba diving trip with Jack's Diving Locker
- manta ray night snorkel with Hang Loose Tours
- snorkelled at Kahaluu Beach and "Two Step"
- toured Pu'uhonua O Honaunau
- luau at Sheraton Kona
- seahorse farm and octopus farm
- volcano/waterfall helicopter tour

We also drove to Waikoloa, Waimea, Hilo, Kilauea and Mauna Kea. Our only regret is not having more time to relax and enjoy this beautiful property. I hope to return and will recommend this vacation rental to everyone I know.
Stayed: December 2016
Recommended for: Family (lots of space and things to do)
Business (wifi, close to highways, easy drive from airport)
Children (lots of space, pool, beach,)
Romantic getaway (beautiful tropical surroundings, private)
Solo (relaxing, wonderful view, private)
Culture (close to several historic sites, art galleries and entertainment in Kona)
Couple (relaxing, wonderful view, private)
Shopping (nearby grocery, markets in Kona, exclusive shops in Waikoloa)
Groups (gathering areas around barbecues, pool, etc..)
Adventure seekers (diving, surfing, helicopter tours, cliff jumping)
Friends (has everything)
Activities (manta ray night snorkel, diving, snorkelling at two step and Kahaluu park, cycling if you rent bikes, shopping at the Kona Market, dinner or luau at Sheraton)
City recommendation: Yes (Beautifully well maintained grounds and location right on the ocean with easy highway access and not too far from Kona for nightlife and restaurants)

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront corner units like #1, 101
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank AdventureLizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

In invited my sister and her husband to discover Kona for 12 days in early December 2016. They wanted waterfront, I wanted a full kitchen and a quiet comfortable place to relax so we ended up choosing the Surf and Racket Club. The waterfront, lanai and pictures of the inside of the condo made us choose our particular unit. What we found ended up being better than in the photos and the resort worked perfectly for us. We're into food and were pleasantly surprised with kitchen supplies and set up. Also lots of privacy both inside the condo and outside. Rooms are well laid out and the building was the last at the end of the road so noise. Not many people when we were there so we did not run into or were affected by neighbours. It rained a lot during our trip but we had all our meals outside - why go to restaurants when you can eat better, higher quality, cheaper and in a much nicer environment like here?. Our mellow after dinner time was also spent outside, listening to the waves crashing (not cars or party crowds). Very quiet place, clean and with beautiful landscaping, which is what we wanted. We were treated to a 30-min show of whales breaching right in front of the unit on our last morning. Gardening appeared to start very early each day but it did not last long and was easy enough to ignore. The condo was used as home base and we traveled the entire island during our stay. If you're self-sufficient and can generate your own fun and holiday, this place is perfect for you! Would go back there in a snap for this kind of trip.

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite, more space and more quiet
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

RAVC ‐ KEAUHOU‐KONA only maintains buildings 8 and 9 and does not own the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. They told us that they were in the process of updating all the units but that did not help us as we were assigned an old unit. All the glowing Tripadvisor reviews about Keauhou Surf and Racquet Club units do not apply to RAVC, no ocean front units. Ours was a timeshare exchange for our Diamond Resort points, a poor trade for us.

Most telltale sign about this RAVC is the converted broom closet as check-in reception area.
Housekeeping try hard to keep unit clean.
Dated unit with no AC, small bathrooms, no shampoo and conditioner, rust outside of bathtub, no big pots and pans in the kitchen.
Major construction/remodeling began after 8am weekdays from next door in unit 9-105. Very loud sawing and hammering noise forced us to leave our own unit.
Rat droppings, 5-inch long body island rat as uninvited guest. Notified the receptionist who delivered couple of huge rat traps. We set the traps and trapped one big rat that very night.
Microscopic size ants in the kitchen are common on all Hawaiian islands.

Room Tip: RAVC KEAUHOU KONA Building 9-104 unit is old, due for remodeling.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FW_CVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We just stayed in unit 4 the week for December 26, 2016-January 2, 2017. We had a family of 4 (my husband, 2 young adult children and myself). We loved the location. We felt it was very centrally located for what we wanted to do. The unit is definitely oceanfront. It was 47 steps from the lanai to the water (yes, I counted). The unit is comfortable and has all the amenities needed (beach chairs, towels, snorkel gear, boogie boards and ice chests). The master bedroom has the best view and sounds of the waves. We feel asleep and woke to that wonderful view and sound. We enjoyed our morning Kona coffee on the lanai watching the waves and even saw several whales. It is about a 15 minute drive (depending on traffic) to downtown Kona. There is a shopping center close by. One of the best snorkel beaches in Kona is within walking distance. It is a 2 hr drive to Hilo or to the Volcano National Park.

We would recommend this condo to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is Oceanfront
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrwife109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews