We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in room 9104 and it was unpleasant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 8 July 2017

My wife and I and another couple stayed at this property from June 19-June 26th this year. We were met by roaches the first day and every morning of our stay. Management was unresponsive and it was not very pleasant. Food was kept in the refrigerator, even chips to avoid temptation. The last Sunday we were there we killed over twenty roaches and our friends brought one home in their suitcase. When I spoke to the manager before we left his attitude was clear, he knew about the problem and when I asked why he gave us the unit his response was "are you threatening me?" I said letting the public know how he treats people who rent was not a threat, but a right. Be careful if you stay at this complex!

Room Tip: avoid this complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szfreiberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

This was our base camp for two weeks in the last part of May 2017' There were overhead fans in the bedrooms & the living room. There was a nice kitchen, so we
could eat at home, If we so desired. The condo was clean and comfortable. The lanai looked out on the well kept Gardens. There was no AC, but non was needed, as it cooled off in the evening. a short stroll to the waters edge provided beautiful marmalade
Sunsets. People would gather just to watch. The staff was helpful, and the gardeners
came by daily.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor 2 bdrm. with a spacious Lanai. (no dragging luggsge up stairs.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

If you get a chance to rent or buy a place at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club, I highly recommend it. Beautiful place, well kept and very clean. We had an ocean front condo and loved it. The pool and tennis courts were great and there is a nice local resident named Mike who will give you a decent game of tennis.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank repbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
226
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This is our third stay at Keauhou Surf and Racquet club. The landscaping and grounds are very beautiful. The pool area is very clean and well maintained. The same with the tennis area. There is an onsite tennis pro and lights for night use of courts. The beachfront however is lava rock. You can take a stroll to a little beach next door where we would often see the turtles in the water. Each unit is individually owned and rented out. We rented unit 36 which was a 3 bedroom, 2 bedroom townhouse.
There is a large covered common area by the pool and tennis courts.
There is also a BBQ grilling area.
I recommend the Surf and Racquet club as it is a great family place to vacation.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We have stayed at this property twice over the years, most recently this year. There are both condos and town houses on the property - many more condos than town houses. The property is very well maintained and even though the buildings are on the older side, the facilities are very good and we have been pleased with the specific units in which we have stayed. The community is gated and right on the ocean. Many of the condos and all of the town homes are very close to the ocean (there is a tall breakwater) so you don't actually go down to the water. The units also have access to a pool and tennis courts. The property is close to Kailua but not right in the thick of town (appealing from our perspective). Depending on traffic, it is about 30 to 45 minutes north of the airport. Convenient supermarkets are nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betteskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
8.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
0.8 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
828 reviews
6.7 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $170 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing