We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location! 1-202”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Soquel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location! 1-202”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I was wanted to stay as close to Kahalu'u Beach Park as possible and didn't remember this complex being there when I was in Hawaii in Oct. of 2009. It looks brand new! The friendly cleaning lady crew (we met them upon our last-minute departure) did a wonderful job and the condo looked spotless (except for the fridge, which has water stains or something on it and probably needs to be replaced.) The kitchen was very well-equipped. Lots of extremely soft bath towels (check the closets, too!) and pool towels- no need to pack your own! The lanai was a great spot to enjoy our meals and watch the action across the street. The sofa was also a nice spot to have late night dessert while watching the flat screen. Having wi-fi was a bonus! There are several travel books and maps which were very useful in planning our days. This is definitely not a touristy area... the closest restaurant is probably in the only nearby hotel across the street. Really good pizza (vegan! and traditional) can be found a short drive away in the Keauhou shopping center.

I had the master bedroom with the sliding glass door opening to the lanai and another large window overlooking Kahalu'u beach. I am one that likes to sleep in complete darkness, and the blinds were perfect. Plenty of drawers and a large closet for storing your belongs, too. My dad opted for the other bedroom citing noise concerns, but I slept peacefully (but cute school kids walk down the road around 6:55 am to catch the school bus). We opted for the a/c since our visit was in October, but upon arrival we found the indoor temperature to be very comfortable with the ceiling fans on. I sent an email to the property manager to see if we could have the key picked up since we wouldn't be using it, and it was removed the next day, and my credit card was promptly refunded for the a/c use charges:)

I only went in the black bottom swimming pool once (there's the ocean right across the street!) and the water temperature was pleasant, and there were plenty of lounge chairs around, as well as a barbeque area.

I would most certainly stay here again. Very reasonable rates, free parking, excellent location, so many sea turtles across the street!

Room Tip: Would prefer not to stay on the first floor because guests will be walking by and looking in your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myspanishdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked apartment 1-201 at the Beach Villas for Ironman World Championships 2011 and were very satisfied with overall experience. Very close to Kahalu'u Beach which was always nice for a relaxed morning swim with the turtles. Close to Ali'i Drive but not noisy at all. Nice spacious lanai with excellent ocean views. Close to Keauhou shopping center.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romano981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My family stayed in "Gail's" condo #203. It was luxurious. Beautifully decorated with all the amenities of home. Even the dishes and glassware were gorgeous. Spotlessly clean. I didn't believe that we wouldn't need the air conditioner, but we never used it (first week of October.) Even tho the temps were 86 every day and it was humid, the ceiling fans kept the air flowing and the breeze was magnificient. No bugs, just ocean air. We were there for the Ironman race and it was super convenient as it is just at the run turnaround on Ali'i Drive so it was accessible by car on race day and just a great venue. We snorkeled every day at the beach across the street and felt very fortunate to have chosen this particular condo. Can't wait for the opportunity to go back. Thanks Gail and Phil! Mahalo!

Room Tip: #203 2nd floor is Gail's Condo. Safe to leave all the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigiparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The condos were amazing!!! Modern design (especially the kitchen and showers), with ac and ceiling fans, washer/dryer, and full stocked with utensils/cooking ware. The pool was super nice too, just as warm as the ocean. Plus another added bonus was that the beach was across the street and has tons of sea life, so makes sure to bring your snorkeling gear. One more good thing was that the nearest grocery store was about a mile away, in case you need to stock up the fridge with supplies. Overall, I recommend these condos to everyone and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the big island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strykker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Great location as it is very close to a premier snorkeling beach and is convenient for shopping and only a few miles out of Kailua. Very comfortable, easy parking, and easy access.

Room Tip: Whole condo is comfortable, this isn't really applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
7.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.9 km away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
27.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u

Property: The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Address: 78-6721 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2453
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): $356 - $535
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Villas represent the first new beach front condo constructed on Alii Drive in the last 20 years. These villas are large, luxurious, designer decorated and have all the amenities you desire - infinity pool, spa, gas barbecue, central air conditioning, plasma TV, Bose surround sound, and free long distance telephone service to name a few. If you are looking for access to the beach with all the modern conveniences of home, look no further. You have found the ultimate vacation destination!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Villas At Kahalu`u Hotel Kailua-Kona
The Beach Villas At Kahalu'u Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing