We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honu Kai B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$169
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)
US$150
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ohi'a Park Estate(Kailua-Kona)
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,139
US$999
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
629
7
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskona daveb bsbeach towelsbed and breakfastother gueststhe big islandevery morningmulti courseprivate beachgracious hostsoutdoor kitchenboogie boardsrestaurant recommendationssnorkel gearthe aloha spiritice packsgourmet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Our experience at Honu Kai exceeded our expectations. The B&B is about 10 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Kona--something we truly appreciated. The grounds are very tranquil and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed walking around them, identifying the various fruits that were growing. Wendy and Dave's attention to detail--from fresh flora on our towels to the beautiful flowers that decorated our breakfast plates--added a level of luxury that we did not experience from other B&Bs on the island. We stayed three nights in the Nigori Master Suite which was luxurious and private. It even comes with access to your own koi pond to enjoy during your stay. Breakfast was absolutely amazing each morning and included various dishes, along with coffee, tea, juice, and a variety of fresh fruits, often from their own property. Wendy and Dave were extremely knowledgeable and willing to help plan any excursion or activity that we were interested in. They also had anything you could think of needing at your disposal from bug spray to beach coolers. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Honu Kai and would recommend this place to anyone staying on the Kona area of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hydro231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Mahalo for your review of our island home.
Glad you enjoyed the walk around the property where we do have several fruits growing that are freshly picked and served on your plate for the morning breakfast .

We are here to make your stay on our island the very best possible. Unfortunately the mainland news reports of Kilauea's current eruption are way over fabricated. Kona is over 100 miles from the volcano and has not effected us at all on this side of the island. There is absolutely nothing that you can't do anywhere on our island that you couldn't do before the eruption, with the only exception being visiting Volcano's National Park. With the lowest airfares in years being offered by many airlines, this is actually the very best time to come visit the Big Island.
Call us if you have any questions or concerns,

Wendi & Kona Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Wendi and Dave are the nicest people and wonderful hosts! It was our anniversary and they were so thoughtful and made our stay wonderful and memorable. Hope to return soon! Thank you Wendi and Dave!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thanks Karyn,
We like being a part of and making Anniversaries, Birthdays and Honeymoons special and memorable. We are happy you chose Honu Kai to be the place to celebrate your special time and allowing us the opportunity to help make it even more special.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Wendi and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Not hooty-snooty, just a really great place. Breakfasts are wonderful--fresh Hawaiian fruit, yogurt, bananas w/rum French toast, for example. But what sets this B&B apart from others is the helpfulness of Wendi and Dave. They will give suggestions of where to go and what to do and then provide printed sheets w/ ideas to guide you. There is free use of snorkeling equipment, coolers w/ dry ice, beach towels, and lots more. We loved just talking w/ Wendi and Dave and felt like part of the family. We spent 6 nights there and were quite sad to leave to go to the other side of the island. If you enjoy B&B's and personal service, go there!

Room Tip: Views of the trees and ferns are upper rooms, larger rooms are on ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SraLobo288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

We at Honu Kai understand there are many places to choose from when staying on the Big Island, and it is because of this fact that we appreciate everyone who chooses to stay with us. Each B&B has something different to offer from price, location, amenities or service. You can pay more for a fancier place, but you won't get more than what Honu Kai has to offer. We are proud to be the only B&B on island to offer such an exclusive extra as our private 'Sunset & Star's, candle lit gourmet dinner for two on the beach. In addition to this exclusive, we are also the only B&B to offer a Mauna Lani secondary place to stay with it's Private Beach and Beach Club. We're not fancy, but we are the place to come to and experience old Hawaii in a plantation style home surrounded by tropical vegetation and filled with the Aloha spirit.

Mahalo Nui Loa for your review of our island home and for spending the 6 nights with us allowing us the time to share our island with you.
Wendi and Kona Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We stayed at the Golf Villa in Mauna Lani but we did meet with Dave and Wendy at Honu Kai B&B. They did feel like family. We did tour the B&B, Great place. On our next visit to the island, we would try their B&B.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms to choose from and the lanai is huge
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lppoleschuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Mahalo Team Canada for your review of our Mauna Lani condo.
Since we are in the process of selling this beautiful property and it appears that you are the last guests to enjoy it, we couldn't be happier that it was fellow Canadians from Winnipeg that got to enjoy it for the last 2 months. Above all, thank you for taking the time to visit us at the B&B and seeing what we have to offer here. Maybe next time you visit our island you'll decide to stay with us at Honu Kai.

A Big Island Aloha from Kona Dave & Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Four of us stayed for three nights in two rooms at Honu Kai and the experience was wonderful. Wendi and Dave are incredibly attentive to their guests, warm and friendly, and dedicated to ensuring that the guests are comfortable and happy. Dave was right there when we drove up, offered us wine or beer, gave us an introductory tour, and carried in our bags. The B&B is amazingly well stocked with a full kitchen and beach equipment for the guests to share, and all drawers and cabinets are carefully labeled. The grounds are lush and the buildings are very attractive and very nicely decorated, with thoughtful touches everywhere. The sit-down breakfasts were all generous and delicious, served at our convenience, with provision for dietary requirements that Wendi and Dave checked on in advance. It was a great experience!
We made two good friends in Wendi and Dave and hope we'll see them again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desert_lover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuKaiBnBOwners, Owner at Honu Kai B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Mahalo for your review of Honu Kai.
We really enjoyed your company at the B&B and allowing us to share our island with the 4 of you. It was great to see all of you at home for dinner and taking advantage of our fully stocked out door kitchen. The dinner you cooked outside that evening looked as good as our breakfasts did! in the mornings.
We're happy you took advantage of the many amenities we have to offer here that helped make your stay a "Great Experience".
All of our visitors to Honu Kai arrive as special guests, but many of them as the 4 of you, leave Honu Kai as "Good Friends".

Aloha from your new island friends,
Kona Dave & Wendi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews