We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
122
121
20
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
121
20
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course parking garage time share the big island living room stackable washer dryer quiet location two story large unit less traffic front office kona country club full kitchen south end would stay here again grocery store office staff
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Everything was awesome .Our unit wasn't quite ready when we got there but no biggie, we went and picked a few groceries.. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. Only had to minor issues, the ceiling fan didn't work, but that's no biggie. The hot water died on the next to last day, they a new one in that day.
Just can't say enough about Sean and Katrina they are awesome. Sean got us some really good tours. Will be going back, no doubt about it.

Room tip: First floor, beside the pool
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gartland67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K, General Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your review of your stay at Mauna Loa Village. We apologize for the issues that you had to deal with during your stay with us. If the ceiling fan issue was reported to us I am sure we would have been able to resolve it for you. We were able to resolve the water heater issue. We are glad you were able to experience a few of the tours available here. We look forward to welcoming you as a guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kathy Kaai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed here with my Mom while she was visiting. My Aunt has a time share so my mom used it. We had a great time. Several pools. Clean and comfy townhouse. Peaceful environment. Shawn, the concierge was just the very best at helping my mom and her husband get on a few excursions.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 234teril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K, Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the property as well as your accomodations. We hope you choose to visit us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai
General Manager
Mauna Loa Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This place, and the staff, go out of their way to make you feel at home. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL, the units are clean and so comfortable! We love this place and have been staying here (when we go to Hawaii) for 10 years and we won’t stay anywhere else!
Make sure you check out the concierge to schedule outings, they always take care of you and make sure you get the absolute BEST experience possible!!!

Room tip: We prefer the two-level units because you don’t have to worry about upstairs or downstairs neighbors.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K, General Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Mauna Loa Village.
We appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you
here again in the future.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed here for a week in August and were not disappointed. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo that slept my family of 4 (2 teenage girls) and was a bit worried about my daughters spending a week sleeping on a pull out but they even commented on how comfortable it was. Lots of space for all of us. One main bathroom and also one ensuite off the main living area. Several quite pools around. We ended up with a ground unit but the lanai was nice a big and covered overhead. Unit was very clean, bbq's avaliable very close by and full kitchen facilities made it easy to cook most nights for ourselves. There are even pool toys and beach chairs etc first come first serve (get there early if you are planning on a beach day) as well as boogie boards for free....with the waves in Kona we were happy to have those available to us. Check in/check out was a breeze and quick. There is a nice information session the morning after you arrive. Good to go to that. Nice information and we booked a few of the excursions....highly recommend the night diving with the Manta rays! We did attend a brief offsite timeshare presentation to save big on the luau but it was quick and there was no pressure so worth it for the discount. Would absolutely stay here again!

Room tip: Ask for 2nd floor. It was quiet for most of the week until neighbours moved in. They sounded like a heard of elephants most of the time ;)
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pomegranatemartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K, General Manager at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Aloha,
We appreciate your review of Mauna Loa Village in TripAdvisor. We are happy that you liked your accomodations and the property and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit.

Mahalo,

Kathy Kaai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Moana Loa Village is great but Wyndham Extra Holidays treated us very poorly!

My wife and I stayed at Moana Loa Village two years ago and loved it. We made reservations in January for three units in July; we wanted to take our family there for a reunion. We made many plans to do things near the resort.

Three days before we were to leave we received a call from Wyndham in New York informing us that they had “over booked” the resort and that we were being “relocated” to another location. We were frustrated, angry, and felt helpless that our months of planning could so easily be so easily disrupted.

We were given three condos in another resort and, after much discussion, were compensated for our inconvenience. The new resort was very nice and, in the end, things worked out ok. It would appear that Wyndham owns numerous properties on the Kona Coast, and regularly overbooks and relocates customers to fill empty rooms.

Be aware that a reservation at the Wyndham Moana Loa is no guarantee that you will not be relocated elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G, Owner Care at Wyndham Mauna Loa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hello Pat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry that your vacation wasn't the one that you were expecting. We would appreciate it if you could contact us at wvosocialresponse@wyn.com so that we can look into this for you. We're not aware of any issues that would have caused you to be relocated. Again, I'm sorry for your experience.

Sincerely,

Karen G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews