We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing local food by the sea”
Review of Konoba Mandrac

Konoba Mandrac
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Ston
Price range: US$25 - US$99
Description: Tavern Mandrač is the family seafood restaurant located on the Pelješac peninsula, 2 km from Ston, in the small fishing village of Broce. Tavern Mandrač continued the tradition of family fishing so that all the fish in the tavern's offer was caught by the owner. Tavern Mandrač offers free berths for yachts with available water and electrical energy. We look forward to your visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Tavern Mandrač is the family seafood restaurant located on the Pelješac peninsula, 2 km from Ston, in the small fishing village of Broce. Tavern Mandrač continued the tradition of family fishing so that all the fish in the tavern's offer was caught by the owner. Tavern Mandrač offers free berths for yachts with available water and electrical energy. We look forward to your visit!
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Locale was wonderful, quiet and right next to the sea. For starter we had oysters freshly taken out of the sea, and muscles in amazing sauce. For the main we had red snapper, caught by the owner in the morning, tastes amazing, best fish ever. For desert delicious chocolate cake with ice cream. You have to eat here if you're ever near by! True local cuisine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LiquidNitr0gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful location, fresh and tasty sea food, wine was amazing!!The owner was really friendly and helpful!! They spoiled us, and we're defenitely coming back next year!!

Thank Daria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We were searching for Ston oysters and found so much more. We ordered raw and grilled oysters and my husband ( who is from Charleston SC and knows his oysters) was thrilled by the freshness and brininess. We also ordered a mix of shellfish steamed in a delicious tomato-based, garlicky, winy , and olive oily sauce. This was fabulous- you must forego any desire to limit bread intake and soak up all the delicious sauce. We also shared a delicious, dense piece of chocolate cake. Since we had been tasting wines for hours we limited ourselves to one bottle of wine and the waitress recommended a delightful, dry, light white wine. When my husband commented on the pale color, our waitress exhibited the quick wit we had grown to both expect and love in the Croatian people by joking that she should save the restaurant money by watering the wine and recorking it... I promise she was joking! The wine, food, setting right by the water were all fabulous but what stands out for me about this restaurant was the loveliness and liveliness of the owner and his staff.

Thank lovestotravel4959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

i was at this amazing restaurant several times and each time had wonderful experience ! Food,owner Stephen, ambient,service,chocolate cake... can only say the best words for all.. do not miss this place guys!!!!!

Thank Lidija R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We had dinner at this restaurant, the food was ok, however the service was awful. The owner charged our credit card and we got a confirmation from the bank the the payment went through. He claimed that the payment was not proceeded and started yelling at us, swearing and physically threatening us. We contacted the bank and they confirmed that the payment was processed. The owner did not let us leave until we payed in cash. Apparently this is a pretty common trick to get the tourists to pay double. I would strongly recommend to stay away from this restaurant if you don't want to get yelled at, insulted and charged double. And if you do eat here, you should probably check your bank account twice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daivanevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karuzo B, Owner at Konoba Mandrac, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

I’m sorry to hear you had problems with your payment at my restaurant. We did everything possible but your card was declined several times, that’s why it was asked of you to make payment in cash instead. The restaurant was not aware that your account had been charged. I contacted the bank to refund the charge done to your card – this was the bank’s mistake as the card kept being declined.
By no means this was set up as a trick, or it's a common trick practice in Croatia or my restaurant.
Stijepo Bjelancic Karuzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Mandrac also viewed

Ston, Peljesac Peninsula
Mali Ston, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Ston, Peljesac Peninsula
Kobas, Peljesac Peninsula
 

Been to Konoba Mandrac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing