We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harborview Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$331
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seward(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Exit Glacier Lodge(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$251
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Lake Lodgings B&B(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Swan Nest Inn(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Nauti Otter(Seward)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
21
63
52
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
63
52
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentoffice staff was friendlydecent roomoffice areafirst floorwould stay here againfree shuttlespent one nightcoffee potmini fridgesmall boat harbortwo nightsdowntownalaskacruisemountainssafeway
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stopped in Seward for a day between Homer and Denali, mainly to do the glacier/fjord/whale watching boat tour. The hotel was fine-- not really that nice, but it was clean and functional and located in a decent location to access the main parts of Seward. The name is a total lie, since none of the rooms have a view of the water. But for a one-night stopover, it did the job.

One other note: We had incredibly noisy neighbors and there was early morning construction that meant little to no sleep. There is moveable patio furniture on the wood decks around the property that seems to encourage late night socializing in the midnight sun, so perhaps a top floor room or one closer to the office would prevent the noise. Not much could be done about the construction. Again, it's not great, but it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktlyne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We (two couples) stayed three nights in the 4-bedroom apartment, which could have slept 8 people. At check-in we were told there would be no maid service so as not to disturb the people who live in the other apartments, but how noisy is it to change towels, take out the garbage, and make beds? Upon entering the apartment, we noticed that one of the two toilets lacked a toilet seat. The front desk person seemed a bit put out about having to go to the hardware store to get a toilet seat for us! But she did it anyway.

After this inauspicious start, we settled in to enjoy the large, full kitchen, dining room, and large living room with comfortable but old and dingy-looking furniture. The whole place gives an air of old-fashioned, at-home comfort, but not great cleanliness. We appreciated the free/included washer and dryer to catch up on laundry. The two bathrooms have been somewhat updated, but the fans are very noisy. When I turned on the shower on two different mornings, water came out brown for a few seconds before clearing up. The showerheads are good and we had plenty of hot water. The beds are pretty good, but the springs are a bit squeaky. All four bedrooms are upstairs with one of the bathrooms.

This apartment would be a great deal for a large family or group. Even for two couples we considered it a bargain for the space, kitchen, and washer/dryer. You just have to be willing to put up with an old and somewhat dirty feel. One night we ate at Terry's Fish and Chips at the dock and had good food at a reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Yes, as others have alluded to, this hotel is not on the waterway. It is halfway between the harborfront area of Seward, and the Aquarium, making it possible to walk to both areas. It is an older, dated room, soggy mattresses, but clean with a helpful staff. There are two floors, walkup, outside doors. No continental breakfast. Just a basic stay room. No frills

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Was disappointed upon checking in that there was no view of the harbor at all, just another building. Room was very average and beds older and softer, woke with a back ache both mornings. They are at least updating TV's to flat screen but none in our room yet, no fridge either. Was almost the highest price room we stayed in during the whole trip too. Very average hotel, shop around for a better deal if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARBARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and you could see it from our room if you leaned to the right a lot. Don't bet on a great view--it just doesn't have them.
Comparatively, the same rate as other hotels in Seward, but Alaska is so pricey! Not close enough to walk downtown without having a bit of a trek.
The linens felt AWFUL...to the point that I had to put a t-shirt next to my skin.
We had a maid's closet (or something of the like) on one side of our room and the hot water heater must have been in there because it would fire up like someone was showering next door and go off, and come on, and go off...in regular showering intervals. It was so loud that we had to crank the TV volume way up AND it woke me from a dead sleep after I'd taken Advil PM and put in earplugs. I went to the front desk to complain and they gave us another room in the other building just to sleep in. They said there was no water heater in there and they didn't know what it could be. Being told that nobody else ever heard that surprises us because I'm usually a deep sleeper!
Other than that, a safe place to stay. Basic, no frills, but easy. Ask for the rooms across the street.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY from room 32...the hot water heater is on the other side and it was so noisy, it woke me from an Advil P.M. and earplugs sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gld2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews