We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean & Decent Room”
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborview Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The trend with AK lodging seems to be no frills, which works fine for us as Alaska is not a resort vacation destination. The room was clean and comfortable. It was also a very nice size with a mini fridge, microwave, and small dining area. The hotel had a good location, located only a few blocks from the harbor, and the "downtown" area. Be cautious that the rooms do not face the harbor so there will not be much of a view. It was an good choice for what we were looking for--a budget friendly place to sleep and shower. Checkin process was quick, and friendly. Checkout process simply required you to drop off the keys!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

The hotel is basic but is kept quite clean and they use Alaskan style decor so the room looked small, but fine. The lobby is tiny. Staff was nice. Outside doors. Wifi worked.
While the hotel seemed pretty quiet, the walls seemed a little thin and the sound of the shower from above was loud at 5 a.m. I'd ask for an upstairs room, which I think would be quieter and lighter since stairs block the light in some rooms.
I'd be OK staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathym456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We had room # 26 which was on the first floor and there were several tables outside that we could and did use.
The room was plain,clean,everything worked and the lighting really lit up the room(unlike many fancier hotels
Our room did not have a microwave or fridge
The office was very helpful but it did not open until 8am.
Since we only used the room to sleep it worked for us.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Okvik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

2 night stay. Single queen room was clean and functional...dated with few frills (no usual motel artwork on the walls). Room had a coffee maker, microwave, tv, and small fridge which was nice. Bath/shower had a wall mounted gel dispenser so no bottles of shampoo, conditioner, etc. Front office had to be called about the wifi but they did get it working rather quickly (within 30 min). No laundry room or morning breakfast.

A definite Plus: Seward has a great free shuttle system (little yellow school bus) with about a dozen stops around town, and this is one of the stops. You can also walk to the harbor area in about 10-12 minutes.

My wife and I booked an all day fishing charter and just needed a place to crash so this room did fine. I wouldn't mind staying here again, but my first preference would be to check for a room in the harbor area near shopping and eateries.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was quiet enough. Having come off a cruise, 5 loaded suitcases up and down the stairs was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My wife and I enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendliness of the staff at Harborview Inn. Room is very clean. Mattress needs to be upgraded as it was soft. But everything else was wonderful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tmjm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
1 km away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 13 in Seward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
0.9 km away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 13 in Seward
155 reviews
4.7 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 13 in Seward
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Seward
Price Range: $231 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing