We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
282
375
163
89
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
375
163
89
25
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stayed one night at Aux Vieux Ramparts and wished that we could have stayed longer. The hotel is perfectly situated in the medieval historic district of Provins. The hotel is charming. The rooms are somewhat small but comfortable. We slept very well on a king size bed. The staff is very welcoming. The outdoor patio is delightful. We ate a fine lunch there. Delicious food and friendly wait staff. There are spa facilities with a pool but we did not use them. Parking on site. Right next to the main square of the old city with several restaurants, gift shops and easy walk to other sites.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank rogermT7465UI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile R, Propriétaire at Aux Vieux Remparts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Please accept our sincere thanks for these wonderful words of praise.
The whole team of the hotel Aux Vieux Remparts thanks you for having taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Cécile Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Hotel with charm, character, great service, good breakfast and excellent location, although on the expensive side. I would, however, recommend this hotel. There are many restaurants in the vicinity, and the town is extremely charming.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank Julienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile R, Propriétaire at Aux Vieux Remparts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Madam,

Our team joins me in thanking you for the wonderful words of praise you took the time to post on Trip Advisor further your stay with us at the hotel Aux Vieux Remparts.

We do hope to see you soon in Provins.

Warm Regards,

Cécile Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Comfort and relaxation surrounded by history. Well worth a visit. Read up on your history before you go, and enjoy the trip. Beds were large and comfortable, sauna hot, steam room hot and wet. What more can you ask.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyLyrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile R, Propriétaire at Aux Vieux Remparts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this wonderful 5 stars review for our hotel Aux Vieux Remparts. We are all delighted to learn that your stay with us met your expectation and we will of course share your gracious compliments with the whole team.
We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Cécile Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the medieval town. The family rooms are in an annexe across the courtyard, with the kids' quarters at mezzanine level (so maybe less suitable for very young children). Parking no problem, the gates are locked at night. Food was good too, both breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Tom_the_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile R, Propriétaire at Aux Vieux Remparts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Sir,

Please accept our sincere thanks for these wonderful words of praise.
The whole team of the hotel Aux Vieux Remparts thanks you for having taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Cécile Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This hotel has many charming features and some exasperating ones. One is downright dangerous. One expects transit and parking to be difficult in an ancient town like Provins-that is why we picked this hotel-for secure and presumably safe parking. When it was time to leave, the hotel said we could either go out the way we came in or out behind the hotel. There is an extremely narrow alley with bushes on both sides and stones and the hotel wall on that route. IT IS NOT wide enough or well maintained for a medium to large car to exit. We scraped the side of our car leaving this way. We should have been advised to take the other exit.In fact-this main exit from the larger secondary parking area should be widened-by getting rid of the bushes and stones or closed. If it is not the hotel's property, than they have a duty to warn their guests!

On the whole, the hotel facilities are very pleasant. It is a Relais du Silence, and of course very quiet. The Gourmet restaurant met our expectations. The subterranean bar is enchanting.

Our room was generally comfortable, although small, but the lighting in the bathroom is inadequate mood lighting. Two bulbs, one in the bathroom, and one of the two on the wall sconce had burned out and no one replaced them. Even a second light, in the back of the bathroom would not have provided adequate lighting for shaving and makeup.

The tub with a shower attachment which can't be placed in a broken holder (perhaps purposefully) means you have to rinse; stop; apply soap, and rinse again. The tub enclosure was not designed for a shower head without a shower curtain or a glass enclosure. This jury rigged system means someone didn't care.

The hotel staff are quite pleasant. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to write home about. I can usually gauge the quality by the type of preserves and jellies. These were mid-grade. Juice and coffee were fine. There were the usual array of meats and cheeses.

Would we stay here again? I'm not sure. We certainly would not use the same exit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile R, Propriétaire at Aux Vieux Remparts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Provins.

We apologize for not having lived up to your expectations. Regarding the lack of details for access to our parking, we just put up new signage
However, we hope to welcome you again to bring you satisfaction.

Sincerely.

Cécile Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews