We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLEEPLESS in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 23 March 2012

With an "fresh look" of this hotel chain and "newly renovated rooms", Holiday Inn Seattle did not WOW me at all with my first night of stay here. In fact it didn't even meet my basic needs. Here I am at 5:30am in the morning writing my review. Choppers are flying above the city (traffic report?) and big ventilation fans outside the building are up and running. Ok, I know, I'm in Seattle. But what didn't keep me asleep was the poor quality, horribly cheap beds. I just don't understand why hotels spend big money on granite counter tops and new carpet and latest TV sets, provide different types of pillows to choose from, but would not spend top dollars on updating the most important piece of furniture in their business, THE BEDS!!!!???? Have the hotel managers ever try to spend a few nights in their own hotels to find out how good the product really is? Or simply just send 2 managers up to the rooms, lie down IN THE SAME BED and turn aroud many times as you would if you were asleep. Did the bed move and shake? Did the bed give your back a full support? With my stay here, both of these essential conditions fail. Come on! You are in the business of providing a well rested night! Being successful is not just about a fully booked hotel. You are not anything near successful if your customer like me can not get any sleep because you have cheaped out on your beds!! I have stayed in a Motel 6 for 53 dollars a night in Everett and I woke up happy and smiling. What does that tell you? DON'T CHEAP OUT ON YOU BEDS!! That should be the FIRST item on your renovation list!!

Other points noted on this trip: The noise from outside is definitely noticeble. The floors are not sound proof, it sounds like a hollow wooden structure. We could clearly hear people walking above us. No thermostat/temperature control in the room. There is an old style air condition unit under the window which we didn't use this time. (might be noisy when it's on)

I gave 2 stars for the "renovation", but I would easily give no stars consider the quality of the beds. Will not return. I'd go back to Silver Cloud next time.

Room Tip: Room 508 is not a good room consider the ventilation noise from outside my window ( cheap single pan...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creekside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Creekside,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We’re sorry you received accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 387 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a four night stay. Nice central location a short walk from Seattle Center and downtown. Bus stop is right outside the hotel and can take you almost anywhere you want to go cheaply and easily. Room was very clean and well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay here again when in the Seattle area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedbutlerutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review on TripAdvisor. We apprecaite your feedback .

We are so happy to hear that you enjoy being so close to the local attractions and getting around using our public transportation in Seattle.

We love to hear that you enjoyed your room and help from the hotel staff.

The Holiday Inn Seattle appreciates your business.

Thank you,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel is very close to Seattle Center, which includes the Experience Music Project and the Space Needle. The rooms were very clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. The attached restaurant is only so-so but the staff, as well as the front desk staff, were all very friendly. In all I would recommend this hotel and will likely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Seattle City Center. We appreciate you staying with us during your stay to Seattle. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and hotel. We love our new look in our guest rooms and public space areas. I am also so happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff at the Holiday Inn Seattle City Center and Emerald Grill.

Thank you again for staying with us, we appreciate your business.

Thank you,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now on business. Everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. About 15 walk to central downtown Seattle by foot and 5 - 10 min walk to the Space Needle. The restaurant attached to the hotel is at best average for dinner.

Plus points are big rooms, very friendly staff and free fast wifi.

Negatives - short walk to down (not really an issue for me) and restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review on TripAdvisor regarding your last stay at the Holiday Inn Seattle City Center. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel staff and Wifi in the rooms.

I would love if you could contact me directly to speak regarding your comments regarding our restaurant . We appreciate all feedback that guests can give us to make our hotel location better.

We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The manager at this hotel is not very accommodating to business travelers. Every business traveler knows that plans plans channge and the manager of this hotel charger me for a nights stay even through I had canceled the reservation before 6PM.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd4055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#51 of 102 in Seattle
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $206 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing