We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$140
View deal
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Lol.travel
US$122
View deal
PricelineUS$140
CheapTicketsUS$125
ZenHotels.comUS$142
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
292
341
135
54
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
292
341
135
54
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tubs and saunas northern lights wake up call breakfast buffet the hotel offers waffles golden circle small town nice breakfast both nights the main road comfortable rooms reykjavik south aurora
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

The other two hotels we stayed in in Iceland were 3 star and far nicer and more welcoming than this one which is apparently ‘4 star’

We arrived and were given no local information at the desk - in fact the hotel staff only spoke to us to check us in for the whole 3 nights. The food in the bar was underwhelming. Our room was small and basic. The shower has one of those irritating shower curtains that stick to you and despite that - the bathroom was soaking every time!

The only redeeming feature was the hot tubs that were fun - but defo not worth its 4 star rating

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LauraH6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021

It’s a enjoyable hotel. Have stayed there a few times and it has always been pleasant. Generally, my main concern is related to the service in the bar/bistro where we have had a wait for service for a long time on several occasions.

For my most recent visit, August 2021, however, the experience was less pleasant. With record breaking Covid infections rates in Iceland, there were almost zero concerns for any countermeasures. Very few people wore masks in the bar/bistro and other common areas. Only about half of the staff wore masks, although some wore masks on their chins, not covering their mouths or noses. The experience from the breakfast was very similar. Lot of people using the buffet without masks, gloves of even sanitising their hand first. No interventions by staff.

Overall a nice hotel and good value for money. Really need to step up their game in Covid measures though.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ErikV249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

Hotel was a haven for group tours so there were lots of people. Rooms were fine. Since they were so busy, we went across the street for dinner. (Btw, great food.) I did not try the spas as they were right in front of the dinner and socializing area and I didn’t feel like parading out in front of them in my bathrobe. Breakfast was good. Not fancy, but comfortable. We’d stay again.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sassysorsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021

We love staying at Stracta Hotel, ideally located, comfortable rooms with everything you need, delicious and generous breakfast buffet spread, hot tubs and saunas to ease away the stress of a day's hike - perfect! We've been several times - you can't get much better recommendation than that! Add to this friendly and helpful staff and you just can't fault them!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Avid_Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2021

Modern, new, clean motel. Good food and good services. The staff were very nice and there were lots of amenities; Sauna, bar, walking etc. It is in a good location with options for several different restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karate1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews