We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tindastoll(Saudarkrokur)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puffin Palace Guesthouse(Saudarkrokur)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hofsstadir Guesthouse(Saudarkrokur)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Helluland Guesthouse(Saudarkrokur)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hof i Vatnsdal(Blonduos)
US$109
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Siglo Hotel(Siglufjordur)
US$252
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Microbar & Bed(Saudarkrokur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Mikligardur(Saudarkrokur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
3
22
25
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
22
25
13
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a review for the guesthouse. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this place. Of our 12 day travel, this place was the worst. It was less clean than other guesthouses and the floors creak so loud that when anyone walks outside, you just can't sleep. To make things worst, the walls are super thin. You can hear people talk and snore. Also, the water does not drain! On the 3rd and 2nd floor. Sigh. I guess 1 out of 12 bad guesthouses we stayed in isn't bad, but I don't recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RedondoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We came here around 19:00. We were welcomed by a young receptionist. We were on the second floor, the same one as the breakfast. The room was small, clean and cosy with brown covers on the beds. The receptionist recommended a restaurant called Olaf...-Something. It was a blue house and very affordable.
The next morning we had breakfast around 9. The receptionist took care of it and we had a little chat. Overall a nice experience

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here at the end of August 2012. Arrived about 9:15 p.m. The night was very dark and it was cold and raining. There are two doors to the guesthouse and it was confusing as to which one we should use. Entry was by the side door. The entrance was not well lit and was locked. We had to buzz in to be admitted to the guesthouse. The key to our room was left in an envelope at the unoccupied reception desk. There was a man in the hallway that started talking to us about our journey and the weather. We were surprised to find out that he was the owner as he sounded like a fellow traveler. Shoes were to be removed in the foyer and then stored on a shoe rack outside of our room.

Our room was on the main floor and was very small. First impression of the room was that it was old and well used. The two twin beds were covered in bedspreads that looked unclean but were actually brownish in colour and very well worn with holes in them. Underneath the bedspreads were comforters and sheets that were very clean and white.

The floor was covered in a well worn carpet that looked like it needed a good cleaning or needed replacing. Our bathroom was very tiny but clean.

Breakfast was served on the second floor and was your typical Icelandic style breakfast. There was no cream for our coffee.

Upon exiting the guesthouse, no one was around to give the room key to. We left the key on the reception counter.

This accommodation was very basic and adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Lonely Planet guidebook describes this guesthouse as "absolutely adorable" but it was pretty standard in appearance to the other guesthouses my husband and I visited during two and a half weeks in Iceland. The most significant problem was the lack of cleanliness, which was in contrast to nearly all the other Icelandic guesthouses we visited. There were many dead (mostly) flies in the common kitchen and dining room (surfaces and floors) and the window sill of our room. Fresh fruit and crackers were left out, which probably attracted more flies and were not sanitary to consume. The shower in the bath for the second-floor rooms did not drain, and the bathroom and kitchen were not as clean as other guesthouses. As others have mentioned, the guesthouse appears to be managed out of the Hoel Miklingardur, and we only saw someone appear to prepare breakfast (standard Icelandic guesthouse fare). There are a few surveillance cameras positioned in the guesthouse, however (felt a bit weird). The layout of the second floor is awkward with room opening directly into the dining area. Unfortunately there are not many other options in this town...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very good guesthouse. The reception is at a hotel nearby. I had a room with a shared bathroom. All of the guests were pretty quiet, so that was a plus. I'd recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews